R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-14-2009, 02:23 AM   #6046
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryN View Post
Hey bud, I run Vista 64 on my laptop and I have the new Tekin software on there. I uninstalled the old version and installed the new version. Works like a champ!

Randy, I am having a slight issue with my motor. I run a Tekin Redline 17.5 in my mini car, with a gear ratio of 2.7:1. On version 199, I was maintaining temperatures of 116 - 120. Under this new version, I am now getting weird temperature readings. I did 3 sessions last night. The settings are in that setting thread that someone else posted on. The first session, I got my temperature reading at 120. Second run, 158!!! Third run, 116. It is weird. I have not changed any settings between those runs. It is the same configuration as in the settings thread. Have you experienced this? Do you know of anyone else that has experienced this? These temperatures are from my motor.

RANDY FOR PRESIDENT!!
Just trying to be logical about it, but were the temperature readings taken roughly at the same time after the race had finished and at the same place on the can?

I heard somewhere the readings are also better taken on a flat surface, (as opposed to the ripples we have on the can) this might have something to do with it, maybe?
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 02:55 AM   #6047
Tech Master
 
mikecatts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,274
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default .


Last edited by mikecatts; 09-16-2010 at 06:26 AM.
mikecatts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 02:58 AM   #6048
Tech Elite
 
blade072's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecatts View Post
Hi all....after waiting very patiently for the "v200"........et as per instructions...Im no dummy...And guess what guys...no bakes.....what a joke.......the SPX is heaps better in the brakes...and so is the KO.even the "cheap" 30amp esc out brakes these joke items...so what gives?
I have3 RS Pro's...going cheap..1 still in new-unopened packet..
Pm me..
as you can see..I have given up...
Mike
MAYBE YOU SHOULD GIVE UP.......
__________________
David Randall

AWESOMATIX A800X ★ MUCHMORE ★ R1 WURKS ★
ROCHE RAPIDE F1-16 ★ SANWA M12 ★ SILVERBACK ★
HOBBYWING ★ RCMAKER ★ VOLANTE RC ★
blade072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 03:03 AM   #6049
Tech Master
 
mikecatts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,274
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default .


Last edited by mikecatts; 09-16-2010 at 06:26 AM.
mikecatts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 03:15 AM   #6050
Tech Elite
 
blade072's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecatts View Post
Hi all....after waiting very patiently for the "v200"........set as per instructions...Im no dummy...And guess what guys...no brakes.....what a joke.......the SPX is heaps better in the brakes...and so is the KO.even the "cheap" 30amp esc out brakes these joke items...so what gives?
I have3 RS Pro's...going cheap..1 still in new-unopened packet..
Pm me..
as you can see..I have given up...
Mike ...

sticky key board..so redone..
and why is your keyboard sticky????? LOL
__________________
David Randall

AWESOMATIX A800X ★ MUCHMORE ★ R1 WURKS ★
ROCHE RAPIDE F1-16 ★ SANWA M12 ★ SILVERBACK ★
HOBBYWING ★ RCMAKER ★ VOLANTE RC ★
blade072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 03:21 AM   #6051
Tech Master
 
mikecatts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,274
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default .


Last edited by mikecatts; 09-16-2010 at 06:26 AM.
mikecatts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 06:27 AM   #6052
Tech Elite
 
kewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sneederville, USA
Posts: 3,311
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kewdawg View Post
Same here, guys. My email address: [email protected] Thanks, in advance.
I'm good now, fellas! Thanks, Tag, Komkit and Mandio. Good lookin' out!
__________________
Quinn Moon

Trinity / Epic / Revtech / VBC Racing USA / Mugen Seiki / Hot Race Tyres / SkyRocket Racing / SUPAFAST RC
kewdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 06:30 AM   #6053
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoyle View Post
Guys, I am moving from an SPX to the RS and I am planning to go with the following settings;

Drag - 20
Reverse - 100
Brake - 100
Neutral - 5
Motor - BL-FW
Throttle - 5
Volt Cut - 2
Push - Off
Timing - 0 (and default timing on my LRP motor)
Current - Off
Sensored - Yes
Boost - 20
Turbo - Max delay - 0.5

With my SPX set on profile 8 (max punch) I am running 5.3 FDR - should I keep this the same with the settings above as I have the Throttle Profile at 5 and the Boost and Turbo on?
What motor is that gearing for???? 13.5 or 17.5? It's seems over geared for a 13.5 but I could be wrong. If it is a 13.5 I would drop the gearing to 5.7 or so. I haven't run my throtle at 5 yet. I've run 3 & 4 and they didn't really feel all that different to me. I believe these setting just change the power band/curve in the intial trigger pull. If you're looking for more punch I would gear down just a hair. Randy will be along shortly to offer more help or correct me if I'm wrong with what I said. You will be ready to go by the weekend
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 06:43 AM   #6054
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
Just trying to be logical about it, but were the temperature readings taken roughly at the same time after the race had finished and at the same place on the can?

I heard somewhere the readings are also better taken on a flat surface, (as opposed to the ripples we have on the can) this might have something to do with it, maybe?
I figured out what was wrong, cap is coming off my motor!! I dont know how this is happening, but yesterday after some more practice, my cap was slightly dislodged and making a wierd noise, possibly the armature was rubbing on something. I do not know how this happened. I didn't hit anything at all.

Think my motor is toast?
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 08:32 AM   #6055
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecatts View Post
Hi all....after waiting very patiently for the "v200"........set as per instructions...Im no dummy...And guess what guys...no brakes.....what a joke.......the SPX is heaps better in the brakes...and so is the KO.even the "cheap" 30amp esc out brakes these joke items...so what gives?
I have3 RS Pro's...going cheap..1 still in new-unopened packet..
Pm me..
as you can see..I have given up...
Mike ...

sticky key board..so redone..
PM sent. Cheers
__________________
ARC R11 2017
ARC R10 2013
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 09:33 AM   #6056
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecatts View Post
Hi all....after waiting very patiently for the "v200"........set as per instructions...Im no dummy...And guess what guys...no brakes.....what a joke.......the SPX is heaps better in the brakes...and so is the KO.even the "cheap" 30amp esc out brakes these joke items...so what gives?
I have3 RS Pro's...going cheap..1 still in new-unopened packet..
Pm me..
as you can see..I have given up...
Mike ...

sticky key board..so redone..
I hath the same with my speedpassion motor but now all my problems are solved.
It's probably your settings in your radio.
Set every thing on max on your radio.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 10:36 AM   #6057
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern NSW Australia
Posts: 734
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecatts View Post
Hi all....after waiting very patiently for the "v200"........et as per instructions...Im no dummy...And guess what guys...no bakes.....what a joke.......the SPX is heaps better in the brakes...and so is the KO.even the "cheap" 30amp esc out brakes these joke items...so what gives?
I have3 RS Pro's...going cheap..1 still in new-unopened packet..
Pm me..
as you can see..I have given up...
Mike
Mike
I understand your frustration, but when you re calibrated your transmitter to the speedy did you use a fresh model with default settings.
I had the same problem with my Nomadio React until i used a fresh Model with the default setting and have Fantastic high speed braking so dont blame the Tekin speedy.
Steven
Casino Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 10:36 AM   #6058
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

I agree with Clint, that's a bit tall for 13.5 I believe. The setup is sound though.

What are the track demensions? Got a pic of the layout?

On your motor what is coming off? The plastic cap?

Mike, are you getting all led's flashing on your RS once you've calibrated it? What transmitter?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 10:50 AM   #6059
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
On your motor what is coming off? The plastic cap?
It's the entire rear end with the plastic cap. I almost crapped my pants when I saw it. I do not know how it happened. We don't have any barriers setup on our track yet and all I was doing was going up and down, testing the turbo out. It wasn't until the 4th time down, I heard a wierd sound, sort of the same sound you hear when a pebble gets caught in between the spur and pinion. I pick up the car, look around, and notice the back part of the motor was dislodged!!! It wasn't fully off, but it was dislodged. I pushed it back in and the motor sounded fine. After a few more runs, the sound came back and it was the same issue!!

Is the motor gone? I sure hope not, we have our first major race coming at the end of August. I love this motor to death!!
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 10:52 AM   #6060
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecatts View Post
Hi all....after waiting very patiently for the "v200"........set as per instructions...Im no dummy...And guess what guys...no brakes.....what a joke.......the SPX is heaps better in the brakes...and so is the KO.even the "cheap" 30amp esc out brakes these joke items...so what gives?
I have3 RS Pro's...going cheap..1 still in new-unopened packet..
Pm me..
as you can see..I have given up...
Mike ...

sticky key board..so redone..
Your brake issue is down to the motor i believe, i have run 13.5 duos, nosrams etc that give very limited brakes, then soldered in a Tekin Redline 13.5 and had tons of brakes! Maybe you should try one?
Smartypants is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:08 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net