R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2009, 09:30 AM   #5911
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post

Set your epa's as you normally would. On my Dx3r I run 150 and 150. On my M8 I ran 140 and 140 to keep 'em even.
Question the the epa's? Why do you set them at 150%? Is that so you guarantee that you are getting full range? I also have a DX3r...this is something I have to look at.
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 09:39 AM   #5912
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PitNamedGordie View Post
Question the the epa's? Why do you set them at 150%? Is that so you guarantee that you are getting full range? I also have a DX3r...this is something I have to look at.
Probably to get better braking and more power on throttle. I do the same thing when I adjust my ESC via Hotwire. Any new adjustments made, I recalibrate my radio with the ESC and I use the higher settings on the EPA. Then I scale them down to 100% and then adjust accordingly to my driving style and the track setup.
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 10:10 AM   #5913
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PitNamedGordie View Post
Question the the epa's? Why do you set them at 150%? Is that so you guarantee that you are getting full range? I also have a DX3r...this is something I have to look at.
Keep it the same.
When you have the brake lower, you can have problems with braking and calibrating the radio with the speedo.
Also keep the EXP on 0
When you set exp, you can get power problems with calibrating and the power.
One driver changed his exp.
I changed it back to 0.
When he drove again he hath more power.
EXP for throttle is not necessary. You can change the curve on the speedo with the Throttle.

hlpressley
that's the service of Tekin. It's the best service there is.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 10:21 AM   #5914
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

If you use the entire range of your epa's you will get better resolution on the trigger travel.

NO, once set to 150 I leave the throttle, I will adjust the Low/Brake down to my preffered brake setting.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 10:31 AM   #5915
Tech Elite
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicksy1 View Post
Could i please get 200 off someone done

ThanksGuys
Same here

[email protected]

Thanks
__________________
www.skyrocketracing.com quality RC gear!
http://www.rctech.net/forum/racing-forum/555071-2011-skyrocket-invitational-blue-diamond-raceway-october-15-16-a.html <- Great race!
YmeBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 10:49 AM   #5916
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
If you use the entire range of your epa's you will get better resolution on the trigger travel.

NO, once set to 150 I leave the throttle, I will adjust the Low/Brake down to my preffered brake setting.
Interesting, does setting the EPA at 150 allow more current to the motor?? I do not see how 150 and 100 differ in terms of current going to the motor, when setting your ESC.

Unless I am missing something here. I completely understand the brake portion.
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 10:52 AM   #5917
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 223
Trader Rating: 1 (60%+)
Default

download link;

uploaded(dot)to/file/wffwy8


v200 uploaded
cico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 10:54 AM   #5918
Tech Addict
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

It doesn't allow more current to the motor, It gives a higher resolution to the trigger. If you're a "grip it and rip it" type of driver, you won't notice a difference, but, other drivers evidently can "feel" the difference. I ain't one of those drivers, but I also don't treat the throttle as an on off switch either.
Mac The Knife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 11:15 AM   #5919
Tech Master
 
RC-ProSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,066
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Jost got a RS Pro, and I have no clue on how to set it up for my TC
Does anyone can share a good starting point for the RS Pro, I'll be runing a TC in asphalt/rubber tires, small-medium/fast track (if it matters average is 12.7 sec/lap) 8.5 BL motor.

Any advice will be appreciated, since I have no clue on terms like timing boost, motor timing etc...
Thanks in advance

Guillermo
__________________
RCRNV (www.rcrnv.com) / *Keep On-Road alive!*
- Nitro Touring - Kyosho EVO 2 WC
- Electric - TC6 (Out of the Box! No upgrades needed)
- F1 - F103RM (Out of the Box! No upgrades needed)
RC-ProSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 11:17 AM   #5920
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac The Knife View Post
It doesn't allow more current to the motor, It gives a higher resolution to the trigger. If you're a "grip it and rip it" type of driver, you won't notice a difference, but, other drivers evidently can "feel" the difference. I ain't one of those drivers, but I also don't treat the throttle as an on off switch either.
This is true but there are very few drivers who would benefit from that. I believe the problem is tuning the speedy to the radio. Sometimes even when following the manual a speedy dosen't always get 100% throttle or brake correct. Once you tune your speedy you should use your radio to verify that you are getting full throttle and brake. If you are not then you need to adjust your epa to correct the problem.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 11:27 AM   #5921
Tech Addict
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

In that case you describe, You would, for example, calibrate the esc at 100%, and after calibration, turn your endpoints up, say, 125%. Others are maxxing out their EPA's for finer throttle control. Besides, with the RS, when you pull full throttle, you get all of the leds flashing at you, indicating full throttle. Interesting when racing at night, I might add.
Mac The Knife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 11:28 AM   #5922
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 267
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Talking

deleted!
__________________
"Slow is fast." I drove slow but why am I still slow?

Last edited by javacrazy; 08-11-2009 at 12:12 PM.
javacrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 12:11 PM   #5923
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 267
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

delete, please.
__________________
"Slow is fast." I drove slow but why am I still slow?
javacrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 12:33 PM   #5924
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Cico
You really should remove that uploaded file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
We like to get one on one with customers that get this software so we can go over it's use and proper setup.
Tekin are doing the right thing by us in getting out the latest and greatest software. If they wanted it publicly available they would do it through their own website. I believe one of the other reasons why they have held off making it public is the ability of people who do not understand the software to destroy their motors/speedies.

It's not that hard for people who want the software to contact Randy as he has requested....
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 12:51 PM   #5925
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
Tekin are doing the right thing by us in getting out the latest and greatest software. If they wanted it publicly available they would do it through their own website. I believe one of the other reasons why they have held off making it public is the ability of people who do not understand the software to destroy their motors/speedies.

It's not that hard for people who want the software to contact Randy as he has requested....
Here, here! Randy and Team Tekin deserve major Kudos for going above and beyond with their customer service. That is why I will remain a loyal customer to Tekin products.
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:47 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net