R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-06-2009, 04:21 PM   #5701
Tech Addict
 
Timmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Beautiful North Carolina!
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowerOne View Post
Well done. So I'm guessing you don't have a PC, a mobile 'phone, any new car or a PDA. In my experience, all those products have done what you describe above at some time or other, especially the PC. How is your abacus??!!
haha abacus...that made me lol for real
__________________
:: Serpent America ::Desoto Racing :: Track Star Racer Services ::Skyrocket Racing::TOP::
Timmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 05:29 PM   #5702
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
I thought the same but I understand why they don't do it. You wouldn't be able to easily have firmware stored on it (not without hooking it up to a computer as well and updating it). without all the firmware versions stored on it then it would be quite limited. Since each firmware has different settings then it would just kind of be a mess to develop an appliance for it. If they did develop something it would probably cost so much you could just buy a netbook dedicated for hotwire. Plus I suspect Jim owns stock in some netbook company since he is probably driving a lot of their sales.
You could if you publish the interface for Android You could either make it a download from a web site or even publish it to Android Marketplace. Since it is all open source it is less expensive to do then other alternatives.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 05:56 PM   #5703
Tech Adept
 
Bob~H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sullivan, IN
Posts: 136
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
This Sunday Dutch RC Series race 2.
Next week I will race 1 race of the National championship. It's on my home track.
The week after that the 6th club race and the week after that the 3th Dutch RC Series race and it's also on my home track.
So I have a lot of races. I'm happy that I found some good setups for my home track and I think that I have a good setup for the race of this Sunday.
I have new tires, Saturday I start preparing my car for the race of Sunday.
All races are 10,5 5 cell.

I tested yesterday a different setup.
7 Boost
Turbo Max
Motor 12
Gearing 5,8FDR

This gave me a bit more infield speed but a the straight was not 100% jet.
Must play a bit more with the gearing and the Boost.
I think 6,0 to 6,3FDR will be better with a boost of 8 to 10.
I will test this, this Saturday after preparing my car.
Lap times were ok. I started with a 16,2 sec lap and I finished after changing some setups on the Tekin RS pro on 15,7 sec.
My car was not ok but the motor and speedo were doing there work so that's not the problem. Saturday I think that when I'm ready with my car that I will go faster again.

Has somebody experience with lower Boost settings and gearing?
Normally I don't go lower than 15 with the boost and 10 on the motor.

Mikky good luck on your upcoming races. Let us know how you do. I'm sure you will represent Tekin very well.

Bob
Bob~H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 06:17 PM   #5704
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 92
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JR007 View Post
It just cracks me up that all these tossers are going away from Tekin because the SPX is faster, for now. It's excuse making, as far as i'm concerned, for poor driving or poor car set-up. If you are TOP LEVEL driving, yes the difference in software will affect your placing, but I doubt many of the whingers about the current software are top level.
The other thing that pisses me off, is these updates are FREE. When the RS came out, it killed the Sphere, so LRP came out with the SPX, and everyone (not with Tekin) went out and bought it to beat the Tekin. Now a few months later (yes months, not years), Tekin are coming with an update that will kill the SPX. For Free!
I heard the top level driving slider is coming in v3.00...

BNiels707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 06:29 PM   #5705
Tech Elite
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BNiels707 View Post
I heard the top level driving slider is coming in v3.00...


i'm hoping for the "propper breaking point" add on...
__________________
WWW.STORMERHOBBIES.COM helping keep pan cars alive!

Turns out not where, but who your with that really matters... DMB
tallyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 08:18 PM   #5706
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Why not make it simpler and add in a "Driver Skill" slider to add more skill
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 08:19 PM   #5707
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Why not make it simpler and add in a "Driver Skill" slider to add more skill
They don't make sliders or monitors that big yet.

--pakk
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 08:41 PM   #5708
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

I don't know if this was posted before but here is how I fix my braking issue ...

1. reset radio
2. set EPA Brake to 80%
3. Recalibrate the esc with the radio
4. Set EPA Brake back to 100%
5. Enjoy your brakes

I'm using v189 with FDR of 4.8 for 13.5

Hope this helps people with braking issues.
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 09:41 PM   #5709
Tech Adept
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: lawrence ks
Posts: 134
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Can any one help me??? I have a question on a tekin rs pro 135 motor. The question is where should I set the timming on my speed control ? I also have a adjustment on my motor. Can any one please help me with the settings? Thank you.
Mr.crash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 09:52 PM   #5710
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 431
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukil View Post
I don't know if this was posted before but here is how I fix my braking issue ...

1. reset radio
2. set EPA Brake to 80%
3. Recalibrate the esc with the radio
4. Set EPA Brake back to 100%
5. Enjoy your brakes

I'm using v189 with FDR of 4.8 for 13.5

Hope this helps people with braking issues.
Not to doubt you or anything Bukil, but can anyone else confirm that this works? I run 17.5 stock. If that is the case is it possible to have effectively 120% brakes?
bee200sx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 10:02 PM   #5711
Tech Regular
 
MaxSp97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Camarino
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bee200sx View Post
Not to doubt you or anything Bukil, but can anyone else confirm that this works? I run 17.5 stock. If that is the case is it possible to have effectively 120% brakes?
Try it and you will see...
__________________
Calvin. L
JOY IS IMPATIENT...
COTA Home Of The F1 US Grand Prix
MaxSp97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 10:07 PM   #5712
Tech Regular
 
MaxSp97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Camarino
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.crash View Post
Can any one help me??? I have a question on a tekin rs pro 135 motor. The question is where should I set the timming on my speed control ? I also have a adjustment on my motor. Can any one please help me with the settings? Thank you.
Track size?
Do you have Hotwire?
__________________
Calvin. L
JOY IS IMPATIENT...
COTA Home Of The F1 US Grand Prix
MaxSp97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 10:23 PM   #5713
Tech Adept
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: lawrence ks
Posts: 134
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

it is about 160 by 80 and i do have hotwire
Mr.crash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 10:40 PM   #5714
Tech Regular
 
MaxSp97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Camarino
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.crash View Post
it is about 160 by 80 and i do have hotwire
This is setup for 189 with Hotwire:
Motor Timing =10
Timing Boost = 20
Neutral Width = 10
Drag Brake = 0
Throttle Profile = 3 - 5 "refer 3"
FDR: 4.5 to 4.8
The Tekin motor is run a few teeth lower than other brand motors.
Check your motor's temperature.
__________________
Calvin. L
JOY IS IMPATIENT...
COTA Home Of The F1 US Grand Prix
MaxSp97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 11:55 PM   #5715
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bee200sx View Post
Not to doubt you or anything Bukil, but can anyone else confirm that this works? I run 17.5 stock. If that is the case is it possible to have effectively 120% brakes?
I have never tried to set my brakes to 120% using the radio, but I guess.. Logically speaking, setting the brakes to 120% is the same as setting your EPA to 80; calibrate esc then set it back to 100%. This is on a 13.5 motor.

I actually have never tried to set my brakes to 120% so I cant confirm if this method works .... what I do know is what I posted above works for me.

The only way you can find it out is to try it. I read somewhere here in this thread that people with weak brakes have their gearing set incorrectly.

Randy should be able to answer you this.
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:24 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net