R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-05-2009, 10:44 AM   #5641
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I suspect he was either running the 32 bit of the beta or the 64 bit with the XP compatability VM. A native 64bit version of HotWire is going to be the best solution. Im kinda stuck with these options:

- Continue to run 32 bit with Windows 7 which is kind of a waste of a perfectly good 64 bit processor (all my other hardware is fine for 64 bit)

- Install the 64 bit and wait on HotWire or buy a netbook or something. But the netbooks are still a couple hundred dollars. Seems kind of silly for just one application

- Buy a new laptop that will allow me to run the XP compatability VM but that is even more expensive

- Patiently wait and bum hotwire off others at the track. The likely scenario.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 11:06 AM   #5642
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,580
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
I suspect he was either running the 32 bit of the beta or the 64 bit with the XP compatability VM. A native 64bit version of HotWire is going to be the best solution. Im kinda stuck with these options:

- Continue to run 32 bit with Windows 7 which is kind of a waste of a perfectly good 64 bit processor (all my other hardware is fine for 64 bit)

- Install the 64 bit and wait on HotWire or buy a netbook or something. But the netbooks are still a couple hundred dollars. Seems kind of silly for just one application

- Buy a new laptop that will allow me to run the XP compatability VM but that is even more expensive

- Patiently wait and bum hotwire off others at the track. The likely scenario.

Dual boot partitions on a laptop? One tiny one just for Hotwire.
__________________
John Higgins former student of The Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driving School. The "Team Principal".
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 11:09 AM   #5643
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by liljohn1064 View Post
Dual boot partitions on a laptop? One tiny one just for Hotwire.
x2
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 11:44 AM   #5644
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,038
Default

200, 200 where art thou?.......
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 11:56 AM   #5645
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by liljohn1064 View Post
Dual boot partitions on a laptop? One tiny one just for Hotwire.
That might do the trick! Though I would still love to see hotwire come out in 64 bit like all other hardware that is being released these days.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 01:20 PM   #5646
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

check out windows 7 virtual pc (free from microsoft) will let you run an xp VM on a win7 box.
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 02:07 PM   #5647
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Guys we are trying to make the Hotwire software simple and as compatible as we can, promise.

Tekin Racing now on Facebook:

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/pr...55175&ref=name
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 02:47 PM   #5648
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_dono View Post
check out windows 7 virtual pc (free from microsoft) will let you run an xp VM on a win7 box.
As I said that requires 3gb ram for 64 bit and laptop maxes at 2gb.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 02:58 PM   #5649
Tech Master
 
jkirkwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,232
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I run Hotwire within VirtualBox that's running a stripped down (Tiny) version of XP. Total memory usage is ~150mb total.
jkirkwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:06 PM   #5650
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 459
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

From my understanding, the Turbo and Boost settings can only be set via a PC. Can someone please post a screen shot of the parameters that can be adjusted?
billythekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:12 PM   #5651
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkirkwood View Post
I run Hotwire within VirtualBox that's running a stripped down (Tiny) version of XP. Total memory usage is ~150mb total.
That would be a similar route as the dual boot. The XP Compatability in Windows 7 is a VM in the background but you dont have to virtually boot up a VM. The icons are on the host system start menu and things like that. It also comes with an XP license and is free so there are no additional costs for another OS.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:18 PM   #5652
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,850
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

So, the Team drivers have V200 now. When will the rest of us get it emailed out?
__________________
Serpent SRX8 electric
Serpent Cobra 811TE-E
Serpent S120LTR 17.5 1/12th and S100LTR Pro-10
Serpent S411 Eryx 4.0 USGT
Team Serpent America and Desoto Racing
Stealth_RT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 04:22 PM   #5653
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Yes, the team has 200. As long as they don't find any issues with it we'll release it shortly.

Here's a screen shot:
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS ESC sensored-randys-17.5tcsetup.jpg  
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 04:26 PM   #5654
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

I just called everyone. They all said everything is fine.

--pakk
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 04:28 PM   #5655
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Yes, the team has 200. As long as they don't find any issues with it we'll release it shortly.

Here's a screen shot:
You got rid of the turbo delay?

(edit: oh nevermind... i see it was moved over to the right side over there..)

Can you explain exactly how the delay works?
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:00 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net