R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-03-2009, 02:34 AM   #5566
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

I have no doubt v200 is going to be good, but guys...

I've won an A main from 3rd on the grid using v189.

All i'm saying is, dont think 200 is the "be all and and end all" - we still have some good software that IS out there right now

No amount of hounding for it will make it come out any sooner. Maybe i'm just a little more chilled out when it comes to software releases, or more than likely just dread trying to update my software with my limited PC knowledge!
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 02:44 AM   #5567
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
The RX8 will not be affected by this new software. In offroad the turbo function is almost hillarious in spec classes. 17.5 for example is almost like having a 2 speed tranny!

It simply needs to be witnessed to believe.
Got to admit, run the v199 on the weekend, with a 10.5 in an SC10, and it was aweful, I had to turn the turbo off, as it was kicking the back out down the straight

Also tried it in a 6.5 buggy, and it was too much!! Can't wait to try it in the saloon...!!!
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 05:49 AM   #5568
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_dono View Post
Have a look for "windows xp mode" in windows 7. It runs a virtual machine for xp if you want it to.
Not really interested in running a virtual machine. Plus it requires an extra 1GB of memory which my laptop can't take.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 07:51 AM   #5569
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,039
Default

Can someone help me out. I'm struggling to get my RS Pro to work with my car. Here, we drive 11.5T Touring sedans, rubber tires and 7.4v lipo. Our tracks are mid sized with 80 feet or so straights.

My problem is I can't get the same motor to get more speed or punch than if it were hooked on my low cost Xerun 120A. Track time is pretty limited for me so any ideas will really help. I have hotwire, without 199 though... :-(
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 08:30 AM   #5570
Tech Addict
 
Patriiick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: France, Land of the French Fries.
Posts: 587
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

After a super quick initial contact to Tekin regarding returning my RS since last month, i have yet to hear back from them despite my sending them 4 emails since.

Can someome tell me if they have been on vacation or at travelling to major races recently ?

Thanks !
Patriiick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 09:00 AM   #5571
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B18C Turbo View Post
where can i get 1.99 firmware?
199 is a Team Driver, test only version. 200 will be released to the rest of us shortly, and you will be able to get it from the hotwire section on tekin's website.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 09:06 AM   #5572
Con
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brownsville Ont Canada
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriiick View Post
After a super quick initial contact to Tekin regarding returning my RS since last month, i have yet to hear back from them despite my sending them 4 emails since.

Can someome tell me if they have been on vacation or at travelling to major races recently ?

Thanks !
I would try calling.Their number is on the website
Con is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 10:09 AM   #5573
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,102
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyanyde View Post
Can someone help me out. I'm struggling to get my RS Pro to work with my car. Here, we drive 11.5T Touring sedans, rubber tires and 7.4v lipo. Our tracks are mid sized with 80 feet or so straights.

My problem is I can't get the same motor to get more speed or punch than if it were hooked on my low cost Xerun 120A. Track time is pretty limited for me so any ideas will really help. I have hotwire, without 199 though... :-(
For any spec class over 9.5 turns here is what most people are doing. First off, make sure you have the latest firmware from tekins website and upload version 198 into the speedy. Put the timing on the endbell of the motor to 10 degrees and then the rest is in the software. There is a checkbox on the right side in hotwire for "sensored only". Make sure that box is checked and NOT dual mode. Now there should be a slider labeled "boost". Bump that slider up until it reads 20. Make sure to send the settings to the esc and hit ok. Now hit the track and keep gearing up until the motor comes off the track around 150 degrees F or your lap times peak.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 10:11 AM   #5574
Tech Fanatic
 
lochness42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 824
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
199 is a Team Driver, test only version. 200 will be released to the rest of us shortly, and you will be able to get it from the hotwire section on tekin's website.
Firstly it will be distributed via emails so if you want it asap send mail to Randy to email that is on previous page or 2 pages back.
__________________
Pavel Balint
| Schumacher racing-cars.com | RCSGraphicWorx.co.uk | Cat K1 | Cougar SV2 & SVR |
Schumacher cars build videos http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=9780E62C20A0EC4F
lochness42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 10:31 AM   #5575
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lochness42 View Post
Firstly it will be distributed via emails so if you want it asap send mail to Randy to email that is on previous page or 2 pages back.
ooops.. edit. Yes, 200 is coming soon and we might get it emialed to us pretty soon.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 10:54 AM   #5576
Tech Regular
 
Jeff Crosson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Capt: I'd bet you weren't told about the epa adjustment that is needed to make 199 work properly.
And what would that be?
Jeff Crosson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 11:15 AM   #5577
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Crosson View Post
And what would that be?
You must change your EPA settings in your radio before you calibrate the Speedo with the radio.
After that you set it back.

The V200 will be without the problem.
Tekin want's to have the software 100% ok before they give it to everybody.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 11:51 AM   #5578
PaZ
Tech Master
 
PaZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cornwall (England)
Posts: 1,262
Default

Alright guys, im about to get a Tekin system for the touring car but im cut between the rs pro and the normal rs. I wont be doing any nationals etc just local clubs and our south west champs, am i really going to notice a difference in taking the pro over the normal one? Is it worth the extra 30 odd quid, oh and ill be running the 13.5 redline
__________________
Xray T2 0079
Mardave V12 VRX
Team T.J Cells
CT Race Bodies
PaZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 11:56 AM   #5579
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaZ View Post
Alright guys, im about to get a Tekin system for the touring car but im cut between the rs pro and the normal rs. I wont be doing any nationals etc just local clubs and our south west champs, am i really going to notice a difference in taking the pro over the normal one? Is it worth the extra 30 odd quid, oh and ill be running the 13.5 redline
0 difference. Get the RS, and a hotwire instead
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 11:57 AM   #5580
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,102
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaZ View Post
Alright guys, im about to get a Tekin system for the touring car but im cut between the rs pro and the normal rs. I wont be doing any nationals etc just local clubs and our south west champs, am i really going to notice a difference in taking the pro over the normal one? Is it worth the extra 30 odd quid, oh and ill be running the 13.5 redline
The only difference between them is how hot of a motor you can hook to them. If you won't be going hotter than the typical spec classes the regular rs is for you. Save yourself the dough and lower your CG because the rs is lower in profile over the pro.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:46 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net