R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-02-2009, 04:00 PM   #5551
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Thanks Randy.


Yesterday raced on a large track.
4 Tekin Redline 10,5 motors.
some GM motors and the most of the drivers used the LRP motor.
That's because the LRP motor is the Belgium national championship stock motor.

SPX, GM and Tekin speedo's drove with a Tekin motor.
On all the speedo's the Tekin motor was fast.
I hath the same speed as the GM and SPX drivers.
Also as they were using a GM motor or LRP motor. The field was very close.
The Tekin with the Turbo is incredible fast.
I tried a lower boost and a heavier gearing and the acceleration was great. even faster than I hath before. Only negative thing was the lower top speed.
Next week I use this setup at the Dutch RC Series.
The next track is a little bit shorter so it will work better.

I can tell you all that the gap between the other speedo's that there was without the Turbo on the big track is closed.
Great work Tekin.
October will be indoor racing again. 10,5 Lipo.
I can't wait. want to see how it goes this year.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 04:39 PM   #5552
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,993
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Advil View Post
Awww man...you went and made him famous! Now his head will never fit in the car!
Remind me to do something evil to you later
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 06:36 PM   #5553
Tech Regular
 
RC Professor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Guys,

Any help on this is appreciated. A fellow racer has an issue with an RS Pro ESC. When everything is connected, and the switch is turned on, all the LED's glow very dim. Steering is normal, fully charged battery, etc. Tried to go through the typical setup procedure, but all the LED's continue to glow dim. Changed settings on the radio (Futaba 3PK radio, reversed throttle), but still the same result. Connected it to Hotwire, and can't get the ESC to respond to any setting changes.

Anyone have any idea what is going on and how to fix it? Not sure if it's a software/hardware issue where the ESC needs to be sent in for repair, or if it's something simple we are overlooking.

Thanks.
RC Professor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 06:52 PM   #5554
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Randy, What is the status of the 64 bit version of hotwire? With Windows 7 coming out soon was going to go ahead and go to 64 bit. Need to figure out of if I need to get a second PC just for hotwire. Thanks.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 07:06 PM   #5555
Tech Regular
 
Steveagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney, Team SMA
Posts: 486
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Professor View Post
Guys,

Any help on this is appreciated. A fellow racer has an issue with an RS Pro ESC. When everything is connected, and the switch is turned on, all the LED's glow very dim. Steering is normal, fully charged battery, etc. Tried to go through the typical setup procedure, but all the LED's continue to glow dim. Changed settings on the radio (Futaba 3PK radio, reversed throttle), but still the same result. Connected it to Hotwire, and can't get the ESC to respond to any setting changes.

Anyone have any idea what is going on and how to fix it? Not sure if it's a software/hardware issue where the ESC needs to be sent in for repair, or if it's something simple we are overlooking.

Thanks.
When i first installed the Tekin i had the plug in the receiver the wrong way around and the LEDs where dim.

Ran the Tekin RS in 17.5 over the weekend and was definitely faster than what i am normally with my LRP Sphere. Very happy convert
__________________
Tamiya | Spektrum | Tekin | Intellect | ACE

Sydney Model Autosports | www.smaracing.org

Team Awesome: Are you awesome? I am.
Steveagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 08:29 PM   #5556
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8
Default

Just inquiring after racing last week at out club mine and a mate have basically the same setup we ahve same sepedie and motor combo now and he has been running his longer then me.

We both running the same settings on the speedie using hotwire but his motor seems to be getting alot hotter then mine. Could this be a problem with the speedie as the the motors are the same age.
__________________
Tamiya - Hobbywing - Futaba
ozatomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 09:30 PM   #5557
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

If you also have the same car and batteries, i'd say driving style. Brakes make a motor hot, as much as full-noise does. If one of you is smoother than the other, you motor would almost definitely be cooler.
JR007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 09:56 PM   #5558
Tech Champion
 
C_O_jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wa.
Posts: 9,055
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Nobody has 200 yet, sorry.

I'm letting the rest of the "testers" get me their info prior to release. I've already stated that we have to make the software right.

It's easy to just throw something out there,but if it's wrong or there is a glitch it's exponentially harder go get it back!

It's like carpentry: Measure twice, cut once.

I'm taking emails now and adding them to a list. Anyone that has contacted me thus far is on the list and you will all get it at the same time, literally.

Sorry to hear that you went to KO, after seeing 200 I'm sure you'll be back.
Randy, ya gotta quit thinking like a carpenter, were talking race cars here.
Measure once and if ya gotta cut twice, well that's what welding rod is for
__________________
Bacon is Meat Candy
C_O_jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 10:07 PM   #5559
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,087
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Professor View Post
Guys,

Any help on this is appreciated. A fellow racer has an issue with an RS Pro ESC. When everything is connected, and the switch is turned on, all the LED's glow very dim. Steering is normal, fully charged battery, etc. Tried to go through the typical setup procedure, but all the LED's continue to glow dim. Changed settings on the radio (Futaba 3PK radio, reversed throttle), but still the same result. Connected it to Hotwire, and can't get the ESC to respond to any setting changes.

Anyone have any idea what is going on and how to fix it? Not sure if it's a software/hardware issue where the ESC needs to be sent in for repair, or if it's something simple we are overlooking.

Thanks.
If it is not plugged in backwards, you prolly need to re-update the esc. I have seen this happen several times and you need to "down grade" the esc using hotwire and then re upload the latest firmware.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 10:08 PM   #5560
Tech Master
 
hound_dogs_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Nobody has 200 yet, sorry.

I'm letting the rest of the "testers" get me their info prior to release. I've already stated that we have to make the software right.

It's easy to just throw something out there,but if it's wrong or there is a glitch it's exponentially harder go get it back!

It's like carpentry: Measure twice, cut once.

I'm taking emails now and adding them to a list. Anyone that has contacted me thus far is on the list and you will all get it at the same time, literally.

Sorry to hear that you went to KO, after seeing 200 I'm sure you'll be back.
I may me I loved the tekin... I just like to try out new stuff every so often...

the tekin could NOT baloon the tires on the bench no where close to what the KO did... i was impressed so i got an offer and got a KO... I loved my tekin ALOT and i have no hard feeling stowards them... just wanna run somthing different...

in fact i got a tekin redline 21.5 motor today to try out...


Alex
hound_dogs_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 10:16 PM   #5561
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

So i got to play with the 199 today, and I gotta say, I didn't notice much of a difference. I certainly didnt' see any kind of "two speed" kick in, down the back straight. Perhaps my settings were off or something, or maybe thats what I get for playing with 199 before 200 comes out Fyi, here were my settings

RSpro
Duo 17.5
10 timing on motor
20 timing on boost
20 (max) on turbo
1 on turbo delay (i assume thats 1 ms?)
large outdoor asphault
4 : 1
~160 degrees.


Anyway, I hope we see 200 soon.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 10:25 PM   #5562
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Capt: I'd bet you weren't told about the epa adjustment that is needed to make 199 work properly. That is the reason why 199 was never released to the public.

Orbital: I'll have a better answer for you monday.

Dim lights can be software not installed properly and or install issues.

First do a factory reset, if that doens't cure it. Re install older software, then upgrade it once it's working properly.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 10:28 PM   #5563
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Capt: I'd bet you weren't told about the epa adjustment that is needed to make 199 work properly. That is the reason why 199 was never released to the public.
.
Oh no doubt.... I knew damn well I was missing some trick-of-the-trade to get 199 to work properly. But I was hoping I could get it working withOUT seeing the 199 bug

Oh well... 200 will be here soon enough!

Cpt.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 12:55 AM   #5564
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
Randy, What is the status of the 64 bit version of hotwire? With Windows 7 coming out soon was going to go ahead and go to 64 bit. Need to figure out of if I need to get a second PC just for hotwire. Thanks.
Have a look for "windows xp mode" in windows 7. It runs a virtual machine for xp if you want it to.
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 02:16 AM   #5565
Tech Elite
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

where can i get 1.99 firmware?
__________________
Hotbodies USA
SweepRacing USA
SammyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:37 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net