R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-13-2008, 07:08 PM   #541
Tech Fanatic
 
trailranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
i tried the RS Pro today with the SP3.5 and with 1% timing and it was ok, need it more gear , I just went back to the 12% timing it seems to work alot better.
Crazy Fast..

I just downgraded my 3.5 to a 6.5, I'm too worried about another blown rotor or cooked ESC
trailranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 07:12 PM   #542
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,184
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trailranger View Post
Crazy Fast..

I just downgraded my 3.5 to a 6.5, I'm too worried about another blown rotor or cooked ESC
After a 5 minute run with the 3.5 the esc is not that hot i put a little fan blowing across the solder posts to help with the cooling.
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 08:39 PM   #543
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 275
Default

has tekin started shipping the esc-motor combo packs yet.

I WANT MY BOX OF FAST!!!!

and tell great planes and horizon hobby to get off their butts and start annoying tekin with us by spamming them with a bunch of RABBLE RABBLE RABBLE GIMME GIMME GIMME RABBLE RABBLE!!!





on a serious note, what is the status of the combo packs if anyone knows?
and why does tekin not list the combo packs in their products pages? i am starting to worry they are not being produced. oh dear i feel another rant approaching.
benben10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 10:48 PM   #544
Tech Fanatic
 
trailranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 946
Default

My RSPRO have been on backorder for a long long time

I can't wait! But my replacement Tekin should be comming any day.
trailranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 09:15 AM   #545
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Anyone know where I can get a replacement capacitor for my RS?
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 09:19 AM   #546
Tech Master
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

https://www.ssl-stormerhobbies.com/c...s&pn=TEKTT3520
__________________
Team Tekin, Ko Propo America
Kenny L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 10:00 AM   #547
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny L View Post
Ahh I should have checked. Thanks.
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 10:02 AM   #548
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,184
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PitNamedGordie View Post
Ahh I should have checked. Thanks.
you can use any power cap, I use the Speedpassion power cap along with the stock one.
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 10:31 AM   #549
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,184
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sf85 View Post
is anyone having troubles with the RS thermaling using 4.5 and 3.5 mod motors?
Hey Skip thats a "NO" in both
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 11:58 AM   #550
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 156
Default

Last weekend i had the chance to test my rspro again. This time, with a 30x30mm fan and the case mod described above, i had no TSD. Actually, with 30C ambient and 60C track temp, I only made it to four LEDs after pushing real hard for 5:30 :-) The case mod really helped a lot.

My setup: 5-cell, SP 3.5T, geared 8.22, large track; throttle profile 5, brake 80 Percent, fwd bl only, neutral 10 percent, timing 20 percent.

here are some pics of my layout:

rspro1.jpg
rspro2.jpg
rspro3.jpg

note the three holes on the "inside" of the esc case.

the stock caps are not enough imho, i used a straight V8 cap.
omoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 12:18 PM   #551
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,184
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omoser View Post
Last weekend i had the chance to test my rspro again. This time, with a 30x30mm fan and the case mod described above, i had no TSD. Actually, with 30C ambient and 60C track temp, I only made it to four LEDs after pushing real hard for 5:30 :-) The case mod really helped a lot.

My setup: 5-cell, SP 3.5T, geared 8.22, large track; throttle profile 5, brake 80 Percent, fwd bl only, neutral 10 percent, timing 20 percent.

here are some pics of my layout:

rspro1.jpg
rspro2.jpg
rspro3.jpg

note the three holes on the "inside" of the esc case.

the stock caps are not enough imho, i used a straight V8 cap.
you are a brave man drilling on the esc
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 03:52 PM   #552
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
you are a brave man drilling on the esc
not being brave, onyl being pragmatic
omoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 03:28 AM   #553
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 92
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Next Batch?

Can someone from Tekin confirm when the next production batch of RS/RS Pro's will be made?
I am very suprised that there has only been one batch of these released.
reynard55 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 04:59 PM   #554
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas,Tx
Posts: 3,666
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TexRacer
Default

BenBen10- Since the Sensored motor's have even been totally released yet I would say the COMBO packs are a month or so out. This is not a SET time just stating the obvious.


Reynard55-There actually has been more than 1 batch. Guys please remeber these things were back ordered by alot of RETAILERS for like 6 months or longer.That means Hobbyshops,and mail order houses have had these backordered for quite some time. Those backorders have to be filled before you see alot of them hit the open market. I know of 3 or more batches so far.
TexRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 09:23 AM   #555
Tech Adept
 
hi-tech-redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: hanford ca.
Posts: 136
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Talking just maybe!

hey guys you think this waiting thing for us is kinda like the nitro fuel thing? where china is having the olimpics and is trying to clean the air up a little by closing down or limiting manufacturing of products to keep the athletes from comming home with black lung or turburclosis!
__________________
tularecountyrc.com/the chicken ranch/exeter hobbies/nor-cal hobbies,ripon raceway/hara tcx/losi 22/top photon vta/tekin/reedy/hpi racing/3racing/AT&T/much more/upgrade rc
hi-tech-redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:15 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net