R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-24-2009, 09:15 AM   #5131
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Glen Burnout, Maryland
Posts: 1,190
Default

I don't know why so many people are having problems with the RS, I use to run a gtb and imo it sucked! I upgraded the firmware and my car now crazy fast. Oh, I'm using it with a 17.5 DUO in a Sedan.

Best ESC I've bought!
__________________
Joseph D. Jones (DAD) - Best Racing buddy and father ever! Gone but not Forgotten
Team GB Old Skool
xrayzone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:19 AM   #5132
Tech Elite
 
twelvegauge's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: sycamore il
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to twelvegauge Send a message via MSN to twelvegauge
Default

Also if I have my motor all the way advanced I don't need as much timing on the esc? Or should I retard the motor and advance the esc?
twelvegauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:22 AM   #5133
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Glen Burnout, Maryland
Posts: 1,190
Default

For my 17.5 dou, I have the motor timing at 0* and have the timing on the esc all the way up. This setup has given me the most power without creating too much heat.
__________________
Joseph D. Jones (DAD) - Best Racing buddy and father ever! Gone but not Forgotten
Team GB Old Skool
xrayzone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:23 AM   #5134
Tech Elite
 
twelvegauge's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: sycamore il
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to twelvegauge Send a message via MSN to twelvegauge
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayzone View Post
I don't know why so many people are having problems with the RS, I use to run a gtb and imo it sucked! I upgraded the firmware and my car now crazy fast. Oh, I'm using it with a 17.5 DUO in a Sedan.

Best ESC I've bought!
If I can get it dialed in you might be right it does seem nice to be able to play with the settings so easily. I have a 17.5 novak and its in a TC5. I dont know if the motor makes that much of a difference or not?
twelvegauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:27 AM   #5135
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,105
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twelvegauge View Post
Also if I have my motor all the way advanced I don't need as much timing on the esc? Or should I retard the motor and advance the esc?
For spec motors your total timing should not exceed 30 as a baseline setup. Start with 10 on the motor and 20 boost.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:28 AM   #5136
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Glen Burnout, Maryland
Posts: 1,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twelvegauge View Post
If I can get it dialed in you might be right it does seem nice to be able to play with the settings so easily. I have a 17.5 novak and its in a TC5. I dont know if the motor makes that much of a difference or not?
When I made the change from my novak 17.5 to the Duo, I noticed a big difference and I find the DUO easier to clean.
__________________
Joseph D. Jones (DAD) - Best Racing buddy and father ever! Gone but not Forgotten
Team GB Old Skool
xrayzone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:29 AM   #5137
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Glen Burnout, Maryland
Posts: 1,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
For spec motors your total timing should not exceed 30 as a baseline setup. Start with 10 on the motor and 20 boost.
I've heard of the same setup, how has it worked for you?
__________________
Joseph D. Jones (DAD) - Best Racing buddy and father ever! Gone but not Forgotten
Team GB Old Skool
xrayzone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:29 AM   #5138
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twelvegauge View Post
Also if I have my motor all the way advanced I don't need as much timing on the esc? Or should I retard the motor and advance the esc?
Twelvegauge... it doesnt look like you are actually reading the responses you are getting here. Try these steps....

1) Clean out the inside of your motor. Sounds like you might have some debris
2) Download the latest firmware from tekin's website, 1.98
3) Install 198 on your PC (you have to completely uninstall the old version first)
4) Upgrade your ESC using the hotwire
5) RECALIBRATE YOUR ESC TO YOUR RADIO <<<important step
6) drop the timing on the endbell of your motor to something like 10 degrees
7) Now that you are upgraded and recalibrated, go through the settings in the hotwire.... I would start with these

Sensored only check box
Timing boost - 20 (this will give you a total of 30.. 10 on motor, 20 in hotwire)
Throttle profile - 5
Current limit - off
motor type - brushless forward and brake only
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:30 AM   #5139
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heretic View Post
Hello everyone ;

I'm considering buying a used Rs pro from a guy who started recently but wants to stop after only a few months.

It will come with the hotwire.

My questions are the following :

1) about the braking issue. I might run mod on a very large track. Some say the brakes are on the weak side, some say it's fine. So I'm lost here. Is that a Hardware issue or something that can be solved by updating the software ? If that is a Hardware issue, I will buy the ESC new just to be sure, and if it's software-related, I'll buy the used one knowing it can be fixed with the update #200.

2) The reason why I buy this ESC is the performance and the internet updating-thing, that is just the most brilliant idea and your success is well deserved. But as a non-english-speaker and not-yet-Tekin-ESC-owner I sometimes find it a bit hard to understand. Especially the timing/boost features, it gets complex and I honestly don't find myself stupid, I try really hard to understand, and I'm not exactly a newcomer to BL. So what I mean is : since the Tekin drivers themselves say they learn all the time from program update to another, it would be nice to have a "official tekin voice " telling us every month or so , what is the latest and most recent piece of information (according to the latest public update) they have gathered among their drivers, so that the user can know in which direction to go. For instance if I buy a RS tomorrow and use update 198, I'll start to figure out how it works just when #200 comes out, and I'll have to start all over again. I'm tempted to buy the speedo and just run it without any fancy feature, exploiting 80% of its potential, until I'm sure i have a solid program to start to explore with. For example I see comments about tuning the ESC/motor with the update #199 while only the 198 is available and I'm told the 200 comes soon... it makes me feel a bit lost, I have to say.

I hope my english is understandable ! thanx in advance. I'll be back on this thread very soon and very regularly, believe me .
The braking is in the software. Most motors have no problem with it.
That's some ting you don't have to worry about.

The setup is easy.
Witch language do you speak?
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:32 AM   #5140
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,105
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twelvegauge View Post
If I can get it dialed in you might be right it does seem nice to be able to play with the settings so easily. I have a 17.5 novak and its in a TC5. I dont know if the motor makes that much of a difference or not?

The main thing with the novak motors is the lack of marking for timing which makes it hard to accurately set timing and boost.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:35 AM   #5141
Tech Apprentice
 
C5Vette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twelvegauge View Post
I just bought a tekin rs to replace my novak gtb that burned up on me again, I am not impressed so far and i have the hot wire program but I dont know what you guys mean with the boost I dont see anything about that on the screen. When I punch it from a stop it hesitates for a second then goes I still have the novak 17.5 motor in it. when I had the gtb it would roast the tires on take off not now. any suggestions on what I need or need to do?
I had a similar issue using the RS and a Novak motor....Make sure to check that the timing isn't too far out there....I just ended switching to the Tekin motor and my problems went away. The motor wasn't bad, it just seemed like it was searching for rotor position or something on take off with the 4-Cell application. The Novak is the only motor that I had issues with using the RS. That motor still works fine in other applications......
C5Vette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:35 AM   #5142
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tellan View Post
Ran the RS AND 10.5BL this weekend in a 1/12th BMI
Timing set too 0 on motor and boost to 30 ,profile 4 on throttle and the car was a missile only wish the thumbs were as good.
Roll out was set at 61mm yes correct 61mm and temp was under 140 degrees.
When you posted this were you running 189?

The reason I ask is because the feeling of 189 is a lot different than 198. So you may have to rethink your setup a bit. I wish I knew more about 1/12th so I could help you out. I am sure Randy and many others will help you out on this thread. Also there's nothing wrong with going back to 189 until you get your setup straightened out.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tellan View Post
I have 2 RS Escs just loaded the latest software available and not so impressed. If i was honest car handling was better with the 189 setting . A number of cars were been blown away by the LRP SPX in stock 10.5 1/12th carpet racing.
Seriously thinking of purchasing an LRP SPX unless i can get this set to my satisfaction maybe the never ending upgrades will fix the problem roll on profile 200 if it ever hits the street.
This will be my last attempt to get what i want before i decide to part company with the RS . Hope it is solved as i really like the TEKIN products but it seems we are been used as trial bunnies . There have been so many upgrades (some of them duff releases) im a little bit dissalusioned.

RANDY are you listening can you solve my problems.
I wouldn't say we are being "used" as trial bunnies. I have been more than willing to test the different software. Remember some of the releases have been by request only. So I wouldn't say Tekin has been exploiting us. I think allowing us to beta test some software has been a huge help to me, and allows Tekin stay in tune to what drivers want. NO other ESC company allows the average Joe this type of input.
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:45 AM   #5143
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,658
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PitNamedGordie View Post
I wouldn't say we are being "used" as trial bunnies. I have been more than willing to test the different software. Remember some of the releases have been by request only. So I wouldn't say Tekin has been exploiting us. I think allowing us to beta test some software has been a huge help to me, and allows Tekin stay in tune to what drivers want. NO other ESC company allows the average Joe this type of input.
+1 - I'll take having to deal with a few "beta bugs" over having to buy the newest speedo every few months. Once you find the right settings, you'll love this speedo...
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:54 AM   #5144
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twelvegauge View Post
I just bought the rs I hope I didn't make a foolish purches quotes like these scare me. I had the novak gtb spectrum and could keep up with the guys that had the tekin, I will see tommarow at the races if I figure it out.
I still have not been informed where to get v189???????
Here are the steps to upgrade:
-Download Hotwire 3.25 (it comes with all the firmwares you need)
-Install
-Plug esc to hotwire hardware
-Plug USB chord coming from hotwire to PC
-Double click the T on your desktop
-Once its up, click version (lower right)
-a window will slide out
-Hit v198
-move mouse over at the bottom
-you will see a txt called "install"
-Hit it
-wait till its over updating your esc
-recalibrate radio
-tweak your settings

Hope this helps you
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:58 AM   #5145
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Being part of the team, it is expected of me to report of my findings to the team manager of any problems I encounter with the products, but also when things go well too of course!

Communication is a vital part to the team and its future.

Being sponsored, I take the rough with the smooth - and you have to if you want to learn!

Im definately not feeling like a trial bunny. Without learning, you don't get any faster...
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:34 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net