R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-24-2009, 07:40 AM   #5116
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twelvegauge View Post
I just bought a tekin rs to replace my novak gtb that burned up on me again, I am not impressed so far and i have the hot wire program but I dont know what you guys mean with the boost I dont see anything about that on the screen. When I punch it from a stop it hesitates for a second then goes I still have the novak 17.5 motor in it. when I had the gtb it would roast the tires on take off not now. any suggestions on what I need or need to do?
Boost is in sensored mode.
If its hesitating initially you probably in sensoreless mode and experiencing cogging.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 07:46 AM   #5117
Tech Elite
 
twelvegauge's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: sycamore il
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to twelvegauge Send a message via MSN to twelvegauge
Default

I put it in sensored mode and it does not cog it just does not go right away when I hit the throtle it waits a second. My TA car with the gtb spectrum 21.5 is olmost as fast as the tekin w/ 17.5. I think the tekin is all hype.
twelvegauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 07:54 AM   #5118
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twelvegauge View Post
I put it in sensored mode and it does not cog it just does not go right away when I hit the throtle it waits a second. My TA car with the gtb spectrum 21.5 is olmost as fast as the tekin w/ 17.5. I think the tekin is all hype.
My take on this is either there is something not configured properly, or your motor is not in good shape,(dirty/faulty sensor?) also I would look at your endpoints...

Only my 0.02$, I would like to see that you can be proved wrong with the hype,we have some good results to our name.
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 08:00 AM   #5119
Tech Addict
 
hpisims's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Zanesville, OH
Posts: 585
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twelvegauge View Post
I put it in sensored mode and it does not cog it just does not go right away when I hit the throtle it waits a second. My TA car with the gtb spectrum 21.5 is olmost as fast as the tekin w/ 17.5. I think the tekin is all hype.
Hype doesnt win races and Tekin has won alot of races you might want to check you radio and see if you a delay set. As far as speed goes you may have to play around with gearing and timing just play around with the hotwire you will find a setup thats fast. I also have to ask if you burned up the GTB did you possibly get the motor hot as well? Heat is a brushless motors worst enemy causes the magnet to lose strength. If problem persist call Tekin and see what they say to do.
__________________
J.SIMS

Team Associated TC6-Viper R/C Solutions-Sweep Racing-Fullthrottle Motorsports-APH
www.speedybillsrc.com
www.ovrccc.com
hpisims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 08:06 AM   #5120
Tech Fanatic
 
lochness42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 824
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've got Tekin Redline 6.5T motor - anyone have tip how to gear it on small track? (aproximately)
Thanks.
__________________
Pavel Balint
| Schumacher racing-cars.com | RCSGraphicWorx.co.uk | Cat K1 | Cougar SV2 & SVR |
Schumacher cars build videos http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=9780E62C20A0EC4F
lochness42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 08:14 AM   #5121
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,651
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
My take on this is either there is something not configured properly, or your motor is not in good shape,(dirty/faulty sensor?) also I would look at your endpoints...

Only my 0.02$, I would like to see that you can be proved wrong with the hype,we have some good results to our name.
+1 - I'd check to make sure that the motor is clean, check the neutral width setting, and that you're not using too much total timing. Some motors like more timing than others, even those from the same manufacturer. For example, I have two Trinity Duo motors, a 13.5 and a 17.5. I can run 10 deg. of timing on the 17.5 motor, but have to run the 13.5 with 0 deg. of timing using the same speedo setup. Oddly enough, I'm using the EXACT same FDR for both motors on the same track...

Bottom line is every motor is different - you might need to experiment a little until you see the performance you're looking for.
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 08:43 AM   #5122
Tech Elite
 
twelvegauge's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: sycamore il
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to twelvegauge Send a message via MSN to twelvegauge
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oeoeo327 View Post
+1 - I'd check to make sure that the motor is clean, check the neutral width setting, and that you're not using too much total timing. Some motors like more timing than others, even those from the same manufacturer. For example, I have two Trinity Duo motors, a 13.5 and a 17.5. I can run 10 deg. of timing on the 17.5 motor, but have to run the 13.5 with 0 deg. of timing using the same speedo setup. Oddly enough, I'm using the EXACT same FDR for both motors on the same track...

Bottom line is every motor is different - you might need to experiment a little until you see the performance you're looking for.
I have only used the motor for about 14 races it worked fine before it never has been over 155 deg. where can I get the version 198 from I dont see it on tekin web and I dont have the boost option on the hot wire but I am looking on the hot wire site. I dont have work today so I think I will spend the day toying with it in my driveway. I will try all these things and see what happens.

The motor I am using is not the same one that I had in the car when it burned up.
twelvegauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 08:52 AM   #5123
Tech Fanatic
 
swimbikerun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 886
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twelvegauge View Post
I just bought a tekin rs to replace my novak gtb that burned up on me again, I am not impressed so far and i have the hot wire program but I dont know what you guys mean with the boost I dont see anything about that on the screen. When I punch it from a stop it hesitates for a second then goes I still have the novak 17.5 motor in it. when I had the gtb it would roast the tires on take off not now. any suggestions on what I need or need to do?
Make sure you check the sensored box on the hotwire screen otherwise you're have the timing advance on the screen. Also check that you're in BL-FW mode as well. Other things to check is the expo on your transmitter. Also try a throttle 4 or 5 profile but basically the throttle profile is similar to expo setting but on your esc. If you haven't done so update to 198 software. Recalibrate esc with radio after you save your settings. A good starting point for the Novak 17.5 running 198 is least amount of mechanical timing on the motor itself and then use 15 on the timing boost and start off with a FDR of 4.2 if you're running on tracks where the fast guys are at 13s-14s laps. You can tweak the setting from there.
__________________
-Xray T4 '16/Xray X12 '16
-2010 Cincinnati Beer Mile Champion
swimbikerun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 08:54 AM   #5124
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,651
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twelvegauge View Post
I have only used the motor for about 14 races it worked fine before it never has been over 155 deg. where can I get the version 198 from I dont see it on tekin web and I dont have the boost option on the hot wire but I am looking on the hot wire site. I dont have work today so I think I will spend the day toying with it in my driveway. I will try all these things and see what happens.

The motor I am using is not the same one that I had in the car when it burned up.

Here's the link for the latest hotwire software...
http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire.html

The download includes hotwire software v3.25 and speedo software v 1.98. Once you download the software and update the speedo, select sensored only (otherwise you won't see the timing boost function), start with no motor timing and run the timing boost between 20-25 degrees for starters. Use an FDR of roughly 4.1-4.2 to start, and monitor the temperature of the motor after a 3-4 minute run. Try a neutral width setting of 15-20, throttle profile 3, and turn off the current limiter.
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 08:56 AM   #5125
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

all the software versions are listed in a pop out window on the right of the Hotwire interface.
Reset all radio settigs to std and recalibrate esc.
take it from there.
98% of hassles has been with incorrect settings or user error.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 08:56 AM   #5126
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 399
Default Become a little disalusioned with the Tekin RS

I have 2 RS Escs just loaded the latest software available and not so impressed. If i was honest car handling was better with the 189 setting . A number of cars were been blown away by the LRP SPX in stock 10.5 1/12th carpet racing.
Seriously thinking of purchasing an LRP SPX unless i can get this set to my satisfaction maybe the never ending upgrades will fix the problem roll on profile 200 if it ever hits the street.
This will be my last attempt to get what i want before i decide to part company with the RS . Hope it is solved as i really like the TEKIN products but it seems we are been used as trial bunnies . There have been so many upgrades (some of them duff releases) im a little bit dissalusioned.

RANDY are you listening can you solve my problems.
tellan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:01 AM   #5127
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tellan View Post
I have 2 RS Escs just loaded the latest software available and not so impressed. If i was honest car handling was better with the 189 setting . A number of cars were been blown away by the LRP SPX in stock 10.5 1/12th carpet racing.
Seriously thinking of purchasing an LRP SPX unless i can get this set to my satisfaction maybe the never ending upgrades will fix the problem roll on profile 200 if it ever hits the street.
This will be my last attempt to get what i want before i decide to part company with the RS . Hope it is solved as i really like the TEKIN products but it seems we are been used as trial bunnies . There have been so many upgrades (some of them duff releases) im a little bit dissalusioned.

RANDY are you listening can you solve my problems.
Post your setup and teh guys will respond with advice of where you could be wrong.
No way the RS cannot give you the performance you need.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:02 AM   #5128
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Twelvegauge- I am keeping up with Novak 13.5's at my local club with my RS Pro and Redline 13.5, i've been 2/10ths quicker on my fastest lap than them with V189 software.

Stick with it, we are always here to discuss things with you.
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:14 AM   #5129
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

Heretic,

just a quick answer before the people from tekin chime in.

"Timing boost" is similar to what you used to adjust on brushed motors only done by electronic means rather than mechanically changing the position of the poles in the magnetic field (which is what you do when you turn the endbell around). Changing the position of a pole in the magnetic field means that the magnetic force that spins the rotor of your motor is going to come into action sooner (when you advance timing) or later when you retard it. There is more to it, but basically this is what happens.

The reason it is called timing boost is because theoretically it can give you more timing than it is available on your motor (physically). As it has been discussed here, going over 30degrees total timing (mechanical plus boost from hotwire plus the advance in motor sensor reading-this is inherent to sensor construction and I understand it is around 15 degrees) may actually hurt performance rather than help.
Hope this helps.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 09:15 AM   #5130
Tech Elite
 
twelvegauge's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: sycamore il
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to twelvegauge Send a message via MSN to twelvegauge
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tellan View Post
I have 2 RS Escs just loaded the latest software available and not so impressed. If i was honest car handling was better with the 189 setting . A number of cars were been blown away by the LRP SPX in stock 10.5 1/12th carpet racing.
Seriously thinking of purchasing an LRP SPX unless i can get this set to my satisfaction maybe the never ending upgrades will fix the problem roll on profile 200 if it ever hits the street.
This will be my last attempt to get what i want before i decide to part company with the RS . Hope it is solved as i really like the TEKIN products but it seems we are been used as trial bunnies . There have been so many upgrades (some of them duff releases) im a little bit dissalusioned.

RANDY are you listening can you solve my problems.
I just bought the rs I hope I didn't make a foolish purches quotes like these scare me. I had the novak gtb spectrum and could keep up with the guys that had the tekin, I will see tommarow at the races if I figure it out.
I still have not been informed where to get v189???????
twelvegauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:23 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net