R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2009, 08:21 PM   #4771
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Victoria B.C Canada
Posts: 390
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Otis View Post
Can anyone tell me if they have tried a hobby king brand booster on their RS for single cell lipo 1/12 scale? If so how did you like it?

Thanks
I used it in my 1/12, it work fine I hooked it up to the +\- post on the esc the just plugged it into the receiver.

light
__________________
Gorden
light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 09:39 PM   #4772
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by espresso1967 View Post
Thanks for the info, now I am really not running single cell lipos. Will be running world gt mod 2 cell. Just wanted options for single cell in case I wanted to possibly run that class. That single cell thing is just turning some people off, well at least it has of for me. Anyways no single cell in my car.
Why? because you have to wire up a 30$ booster? It's painfully easy, you are 95% as fast as the 4cell crew, and it takes a bit of headache away from racing not having to worry about battery maintenance. It's a win/win no matter how you slice it.

Anyway, the 1s check box works fine in the RS, and I set my custom cutoff to 3.1 volts.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 11:12 PM   #4773
Tech Master
 
espresso1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,102
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
Why? because you have to wire up a 30$ booster?

Yes, just not the best way of going about this and adding additional components to an already limited real estate on pan cars to setup your electronics.

It's painfully easy, you are 95% as fast as the 4cell crew, and it takes a bit of headache away from racing not having to worry about battery maintenance. It's a win/win no matter how you slice it.

It's not that I can't do it, just not worth it again we are being allowed to run mod in world gt and that is good enough for me. Been running 2 cell for over a year and to back track, no thanks.


..
__________________
www.cityofangelstshirts.com
espresso1967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 01:57 AM   #4774
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Anyone here who is kind enough to share their 13.5 RS setup for TC using v198?
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 03:21 AM   #4775
Tech Apprentice
 
MoGGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ramsgate
Posts: 89
Default

Give it full boost, zero or very little motor timing then the rest is up to you really. I turn reverse off and have full brakes, no drag brake and as I use LIPO, set a 6.5 V cutoff. Profile is a personal thing and run sensored only. I found quite a bit of extra pace by adding a little motor timing as well as boost but that heats motor up a lot more than boost, and was very limited before pace fell off again with too much timing.
MoGGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 03:22 AM   #4776
Tech Apprentice
 
MoGGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ramsgate
Posts: 89
Default

Brakes seem very dependant on which brand of motor you use, my Tekin gives a great deal more than my Novak.
MoGGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 03:24 AM   #4777
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

I found out my problem that I hat this sunday with the race.
My C Hub was broken and my spool was broken.
Fikst it and I'm using now a one way.

Tested the Tekin 10,5T motor with lipo.
The Tekin was accelerating faster than a SPX with a Orion 9,5T.
The Tekin hath the same top speed as the other car.
He was also running lipo.

The other driver was surprised to see that it was a 10,5T.
Both motors temp were 55 C.
So no temperature problems.

This Saturday I hope that I can barrow a lipo to race the Saturday evening race.
This is on a big track were I can test the Turbo again.
It's a high speed track and I belief that the Tekin motor will go great there.
I tested it already with 5 cell there and it was fast.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 07:38 AM   #4778
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
We will have the public version very soon. It won't be 199 rather 200. There is a known issue with 199 that I don't want to have customers/racers deal with. It can be "worked around" but I would rather make it right.

Right not our drivers have been instructed to not share this software because of the issue. The team WILL be encouraged to share the new 200 version!

It's like a "questionable" photo of your girlfriend or wife, once it get's out you can never get it back...

I don't mean to be harsh but I feel strongly about this issue. I'd rather give you software and some known good setups that I can post with it so EVERYONE can hit the track and be close, close enough to whup some ars with the RS!


Guys run the cap that comes with the RS, it keeps the speedo cool.

The 448 is a bit much on a standard RS but I've done it. Make sure to get a 2nd cap to help and your gearing needs to be correct.

The cap is a 16v 330uf cap. The one we spec out has low ESR. I've had good luck with our G11 caps also which were 16v 1000uf standard caps.
Place them as close to the speedo for best results.
Although I do agree in not releasing a product till it is fully complete, I hate to break it to you, but your wifes photos are out. I guess the most frustrating thing is that there seems to be so many people(online and at the local tracks) that have it. While I, and others, sit here patiently watching people with 199 and the spx fly by us. I see there is a problem with it. What's the problem? Others seem to work around it, I'm pretty sure I could work around it as well. Maybe it could have been released as a beta with a strict caution. I guess I am just bitching and crying, but it just seems unfair. I think a lot more people have this 199 software than you think. And unless you are in the "loop" with them, you don't get it.



Quote:
Originally Posted by svines1972 View Post
Can someone post a pic of the with the wires attached? I was wondering if it is ok to remove the 5 posts and attach the wires directly to the holes in the board? Or do the posts have a needed or practical purpose. I am not a fan of spiderweb wiring jobs and will be mounting this in an F104 and need to keep the wires inside a tight location on the side of the car.
I have an RS with two battery post's removed. I did not remove them, it was sold to me like this. I have ZERO heat issues. I have contacted tekin on this, and although they do not recommend it and as long as it is not over heating, it will and has been fine. It is really going to depend on what motor you are running. I have only hooked 17.5s to both my RS's and have yet to see more than 1 led blink temp wise.

--pakk
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 09:20 AM   #4779
Tech Elite
 
Senna Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,035
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

just got myself a tekin speedi and was woundering if any one has run it with a lrp 11x 17.5 and what a goo gear ratio would be
__________________
Feral Batteries for all your on road needs
TRF 416, Fantom Batteries, Sorex, Tekin
Senna Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 10:12 AM   #4780
Tech Regular
 
BagofSkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Buckingham, UK
Posts: 344
Default

I'm running 1/10 TC with Li-Po and the RS with v198 and a 13.5 indoors on a 60'x30' (20mx10m) carpet track.
If I run max boost like everyone seems to recomend, I have to gear down which is fine because my top speed is still good, but I have NO punch out of the corners. It makes the car smooth to drive but I'm giving away lap time I'm sure.
I haven't found the right combo yet but I'm looking at gearing up by 5 teeth (48p) and droping the boost back to zero (at first).

The question is- is this right? Everyone seems to be pushing the boost pretty hard but is that defo the wrong way to go in this application? Am I doing the right thing by dropping the boost?

Cheers, Chris.
BagofSkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 10:21 AM   #4781
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 5,058
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BagofSkill View Post
I'm running 1/10 TC with Li-Po and the RS with v198 and a 13.5 indoors on a 60'x30' (20mx10m) carpet track.
If I run max boost like everyone seems to recomend, I have to gear down which is fine because my top speed is still good, but I have NO punch out of the corners. It makes the car smooth to drive but I'm giving away lap time I'm sure.
I haven't found the right combo yet but I'm looking at gearing up by 5 teeth (48p) and droping the boost back to zero (at first).

The question is- is this right? Everyone seems to be pushing the boost pretty hard but is that defo the wrong way to go in this application? Am I doing the right thing by dropping the boost?

Cheers, Chris.
What 13.5 motor are you running?
__________________
Steve Walter
Sweep Racing USA/ Speed Passion USA/ Karens Famous Cookies (Transporter)
SRW141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 10:35 AM   #4782
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Here more and more racers want a Tekin Redline 10,5T motor.
When they see it, they want it. LOL
A member of an other club told me that I wasn't lying about the speed of the Tekin motor. Now he want's one to and a Tekin RS Pro.
Tekin is growing out here
GM is loosing a lot of drivers

Fastest speedo is the Tekin at the moment.
GM can run the same top speed but than only for 5 laps and the motor is gone.
The Tekin runs all 5 or 6 mints and the motor temp is about 70C.

Tekin is going faster and faster.
The speedo is going better and better and that for that price.
Normally you must buy a new speedo. Tekin just updates it and that even for free.
I can't wait till the next update comes.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 10:39 AM   #4783
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by espresso1967 View Post
Yes, just not the best way of going about this and adding additional components to an already limited real estate on pan cars to setup your electronics.
Actually, a voltage booster is a GREAT way of doing it. Zero maintenance, Zero setup, and they don't weigh a thing. Also... no room on a WGT chassis for electronics? There is ALL KINDS of room... I have 10x the amount of free space on my WGT than I do my sedan. I literally have room for 4 or 5 more boosters

Either way.. in the future, when you change your mind and eventually run it, you will see the RS' 1s checkbox is a nice feature to have on the speedo.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 10:43 AM   #4784
Tech Apprentice
 
MoGGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ramsgate
Posts: 89
Default

Bag O Skill, I am improving all my PB's at tracks this year with the RS Pro. I have gone from 3.6 to 4.8 at my home track just to give you an idea. That is full boost, no turbo
MoGGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 10:54 AM   #4785
Tech Regular
 
Official's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Singapore
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi,
i've recently switch from nitro to electric and gotten myself a RSPro and Hotwire.
Just wondering whats boost and turbo???
Can't seem to find it in the interface panels???
__________________
Chassis :4WD = CEFX Photon,TA-05|2WD = Xevo, M05PRO, FF-03Pro, Kysho Evola M3, Kyosho V-One RRR Shimo, Team C TC02
ESC :Brushless - Tekin RS-Pro, Keyence Tachyon|Brushed - Tekin FX-Pro
www.hiro-seiko.com ; www.cefx.net
e-mail: [email protected]
Official is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:01 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net