R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-07-2009, 01:58 PM   #4741
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,187
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JR007 View Post
I'd hate to be Randy right now trying to keep it under control. It sounds like there is a lot of pressure out there for people to get their hands on the test version with the SPX out there.
Oh well, I guess that's why he gets paid the big bucks
I spoke to Tekin Tech support yesterday about my RS and from what i understand it will be coming soon.
__________________
Rick "Blue" Sieboldt - Mooresville, NC
* Associated T5M * Tekin * TQ Wire *
www.tqracing.com/rc_products.htm For all your wire needs
lidebt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 02:15 PM   #4742
Tech Elite
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
100% absolutly necessary. If you are running a mod motor, run 2.
The caps keep the speedo cool, if you don't run 2 caps w/ mod you run the risk of popping the one you have.
__________________
www.skyrocketracing.com quality RC gear!
http://www.rctech.net/forum/racing-forum/555071-2011-skyrocket-invitational-blue-diamond-raceway-october-15-16-a.html <- Great race!
YmeBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 03:33 PM   #4743
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

What are the specs on the caps? I may get another one for my standard RS so I can use a 448 in my B44.
JR007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 09:43 PM   #4744
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JR007 View Post
I'd hate to be Randy right now trying to keep it under control. It sounds like there is a lot of pressure out there for people to get their hands on the test version with the SPX out there.
Oh well, I guess that's why he gets paid the big bucks
We will have the public version very soon. It won't be 199 rather 200. There is a known issue with 199 that I don't want to have customers/racers deal with. It can be "worked around" but I would rather make it right.

Right not our drivers have been instructed to not share this software because of the issue. The team WILL be encouraged to share the new 200 version!

It's like a "questionable" photo of your girlfriend or wife, once it get's out you can never get it back...

I don't mean to be harsh but I feel strongly about this issue. I'd rather give you software and some known good setups that I can post with it so EVERYONE can hit the track and be close, close enough to whup some ars with the RS!


Guys run the cap that comes with the RS, it keeps the speedo cool.

The 448 is a bit much on a standard RS but I've done it. Make sure to get a 2nd cap to help and your gearing needs to be correct.

The cap is a 16v 330uf cap. The one we spec out has low ESR. I've had good luck with our G11 caps also which were 16v 1000uf standard caps.
Place them as close to the speedo for best results.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 10:25 PM   #4745
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

Thanks for the cap info. I'd buy a Tekin one, but there is no-one in NZ that stocks Tekin, so I have to buy my gear from the US. Seems a bit excessive to order 1 cap from 10,000km away!
I think the testing and release of track-proven software is fantastic, that's why I bought a Tekin for my other car too. Being able to get tips from the team and their manager on here is gold for someone like me who races in the middle of nowhere with no-one else running Tekin gear
I hear ya on the dodgy photo's of the wife, won't be doing that again in a hurry
JR007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 10:47 PM   #4746
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
We will have the public version very soon. It won't be 199 rather 200. There is a known issue with 199 that I don't want to have customers/racers deal with. It can be "worked around" but I would rather make it right.
Thanks for the update Randy. I get maybe 30-60 min of drive time at my parking lot club racing every week. I'd rather have something that definitely works than something I have to fight with at the track.

Looking forward to using v200 on my RS as well as the RS Pro I'm about to order.
__________________
Ultima RB5-SP2/HB D4 WCE/AE TC5R/AE 18R/Traxxas Blue Eagle
Sponsoring Futaba/Tekin/Thunder Power with my hard earned cash.
BlueEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 10:52 PM   #4747
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern NSW Australia
Posts: 734
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
The flashing while in nuetral is the temp indicator. This is normal.

Have you tried to recalibrate your esc after updating the software? If it's found nuetral it should arm and drive the motor unless something else isn't set properly which it looks like it is.

You don't have a VC set though so I'm assuming you're running round cells?
Randy
every thing is working fine now.
Went to the Tekin website and used one of the guys setups of there.
Bench tested and motor 145 C and speedy 144.5 at the posts is that ok.
Should run cooler on the track???
Thanks Steven.
Casino Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 11:01 PM   #4748
Tech Elite
 
stitchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,794
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
It's like a "questionable" photo of your girlfriend or wife, once it get's out you can never get it back...

I don't mean to be harsh but I feel strongly about this issue. I'd rather give you software and some known good setups that I can post with it so EVERYONE can hit the track and be close, close enough to whup some ars with the RS!
...And this is why Tekin is the shiznit!
__________________
Speedtechhobbies.com
stitchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 11:35 PM   #4749
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,993
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
We will have the public version very soon. It won't be 199 rather 200. There is a known issue with 199 that I don't want to have customers/racers deal with. It can be "worked around" but I would rather make it right.

Right not our drivers have been instructed to not share this software because of the issue. The team WILL be encouraged to share the new 200 version!

It's like a "questionable" photo of your girlfriend or wife, once it get's out you can never get it back...

I don't mean to be harsh but I feel strongly about this issue. I'd rather give you software and some known good setups that I can post with it so EVERYONE can hit the track and be close, close enough to whup some ars with the RS!


Guys run the cap that comes with the RS, it keeps the speedo cool.

The 448 is a bit much on a standard RS but I've done it. Make sure to get a 2nd cap to help and your gearing needs to be correct.

The cap is a 16v 330uf cap. The one we spec out has low ESR. I've had good luck with our G11 caps also which were 16v 1000uf standard caps.
Place them as close to the speedo for best results.

TOASTY!!!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 11:54 PM   #4750
Tech Master
 
hound_dogs_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

So I must have missed somthing, why are people relacing the caps? You guysa are talking about the one that solders onto the + and - tabs for the battery????

Sorry for the lack of knowledge

Alex
hound_dogs_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 11:56 PM   #4751
Tech Master
 
hound_dogs_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Randy Pike you got a PM

Alex
hound_dogs_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 02:03 AM   #4752
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

guys i have 2 questions ,
1- now i am running with 16v 1000uf tekin cap, do you think i should switch back to dual 330uf caps?
2- does the temp sensor shows maximum value on the run or the current value when you look at it. (i couldn't place it correct on the car and not the lights are under the top deck, it's kind of a problem for me.)
halit
khaledome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 06:06 AM   #4753
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fontana,CA
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Wiring the RS

Can someone post a pic of the with the wires attached? I was wondering if it is ok to remove the 5 posts and attach the wires directly to the holes in the board? Or do the posts have a needed or practical purpose. I am not a fan of spiderweb wiring jobs and will be mounting this in an F104 and need to keep the wires inside a tight location on the side of the car.
svines1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 06:11 AM   #4754
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svines1972 View Post
Can someone post a pic of the with the wires attached? I was wondering if it is ok to remove the 5 posts and attach the wires directly to the holes in the board? Or do the posts have a needed or practical purpose. I am not a fan of spiderweb wiring jobs and will be mounting this in an F104 and need to keep the wires inside a tight location on the side of the car.
posts required for cooling down the esc
khaledome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 06:11 AM   #4755
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svines1972 View Post
Can someone post a pic of the with the wires attached? I was wondering if it is ok to remove the 5 posts and attach the wires directly to the holes in the board? Or do the posts have a needed or practical purpose. I am not a fan of spiderweb wiring jobs and will be mounting this in an F104 and need to keep the wires inside a tight location on the side of the car.

Pretty sure if you removed the posts you would void your warranty.

And the posts are the ESC's heatsinks in the Tekin. DO NOT REMOVE THEM
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:38 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net