R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-06-2009, 09:53 AM   #4726
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoGGo View Post
Well just got back from a weekend's racing, first one with a Redline motor as I have been running a Novak 13.5 on my RS Pro. The brakes on the Redline are about x3 of the Novak, I could actually stop!!!!

Secondly I had great speed on the infield, staying with the TQ man who runs GM, but was getting beaten up 2nd half of the straight.

Roll on 1.99..........................
I have beaten the GM with the 199.
I was faster in the infield and straight. The only problem was the car.
My car was running like it was on ice.
Lost my rear each time and when I solved the problem, I hath to much grip in the back. The track was cooling down.
The day before was better. setup was good for the track temp.
But yesterday the track was hot very hot.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 09:53 AM   #4727
Tech Master
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,026
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Mark, That is awesome! Thank you very much!!--Al
big al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 10:44 AM   #4728
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casino Kid View Post
Randy
Turn it on and DB LM VC flash 3 times then flashes between LM and DB
The flashing while in nuetral is the temp indicator. This is normal.

Have you tried to recalibrate your esc after updating the software? If it's found nuetral it should arm and drive the motor unless something else isn't set properly which it looks like it is.

You don't have a VC set though so I'm assuming you're running round cells?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 07:37 PM   #4729
Tech Regular
 
cosmo1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide AUSTRALIA (5.754 mins SE of The Parks)
Posts: 371
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
One factor that people with lack of brake strength have in common so far is tha the rollouts or FDR's are HUGE compared to us here in the states. Since the gearing is so tall it's harder to slow the car.

We are in working on an adjustment to compensate. Often times the brakes are turned down because they're too strong. I remember the first time I slammed the brakes in testing I stripped a spur!

We are going to make it right...
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmo1974 View Post
Randy,
Thanks for the response.

Do you have any comments about:
-- the type of change you are planning to make
-- when it is likely to occur
-- who will perform the end user beta testing to verify the change
(before full public release)

Cheers
Bump
__________________
"I'm either retired or unemployed, depending on when the money runs out !" > AERCCC_#25 > LargeOutdoorAsphaltTrack > CycloneTC + TekinRS_HWXerun_ESCs + Duo2_17.5 + SMC_Fantom_LiPos + BLS551 + MX3FG + TC1030 + MM >> =======TRACK_VIEW_FROM_SPACE========> http://www.nearmap.com/[email protected],138.560313&ll=-34.857766,138.560313&z=19&t=h&nmd=20100614
cosmo1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 04:37 AM   #4730
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svines1972 View Post
Can someone tell me the length of the Sensor Harness On the RS?
From my understanding, both the rs and pro come with a 200mm sensor harness included, a shorter 100mm version is available as a seperate item

(I got the 200mm included with an rs pro/13.5 combi pack).

TT3810 is the 200mm harness, TT3811 is the 100mm.

hope that helps
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 05:31 AM   #4731
Tech Adept
 
Kingy 07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Western Sydney
Posts: 121
Default

Hi, i up loaded the latest version onto my esc and i had and extra, Turbo, i read up on it and it sounds great i used it and wow made a big difference. I was wondering if anyone else has used the latest version, and if so how much did you come down in gearing? Or has it been cooking motors? Mine came off fine after a 5 min race but i thought that running a lower gearing mght also help.

Kingy
__________________
Bro-Kin Racing Group....Castlehill Raceway
AUSWIDE Hobbies
XRAY
FERAL Batteries

Last edited by Kingy 07; 07-08-2009 at 04:51 AM.
Kingy 07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 08:14 AM   #4732
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 157
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Had my first race tonight, and wow my car was quick. I was racing with 13.5 turns and i was easily matching with most of them down the straight and out of corners. Now if only i could get my car set up a bit better
l337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 10:36 AM   #4733
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,407
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Just got my Tekin RS. Is the capacitor for the battery terminals totally necessary? I have seen some people run without it...
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 10:43 AM   #4734
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,187
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
Just got my Tekin RS. Is the capacitor for the battery terminals totally necessary? I have seen some people run without it...
yes, run with it.
__________________
Rick "Blue" Sieboldt - Mooresville, NC
* Associated T5M * Tekin * TQ Wire *
www.tqracing.com/rc_products.htm For all your wire needs
lidebt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 10:53 AM   #4735
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

do install the capacitor !!
Its supplied for use with the esc so therefor is part of the esc.
In mod class its suggested to add 1 more cap.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 11:31 AM   #4736
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
Just got my Tekin RS. Is the capacitor for the battery terminals totally necessary? I have seen some people run without it...
100% absolutly necessary. If you are running a mod motor, run 2.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 12:12 PM   #4737
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingy 07 View Post
Hi, i up loaded the latest version onto my esc and i had and extra, Turbo, i read up on it and it sounds great i used it and wow made a big difference. I was wondering if anyone else has used the latest version, and if so how much did you come down in gearing? Or has it been cooking motors? Mine came off fine after a 5 min race but i thought that running a lower gearing mght also help.

Kingy
Turbo? So does tha mean 199 is out?
JR007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 12:20 PM   #4738
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JR007 View Post
Turbo? So does tha mean 199 is out?
No, it means that too many team and sponsored drivers are giving out the 199 software a little too freely.
kn7671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 01:03 PM   #4739
Tech Apprentice
 
MoGGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ramsgate
Posts: 89
Default

I wish I had some 'free' drivers nearby!!!!!

MoGGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 01:51 PM   #4740
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

I'd hate to be Randy right now trying to keep it under control. It sounds like there is a lot of pressure out there for people to get their hands on the test version with the SPX out there.
Oh well, I guess that's why he gets paid the big bucks
JR007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:01 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net