R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-05-2009, 04:53 PM   #4711
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,087
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
Absolutly zero difference. ... well, there is a MINUTE difference with the Pro... slihglyt higher center of gravity, and slightly more weight.
+1 Just height and motor turn limit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smeltz View Post
Yes, there is a major difference. The pro is better based on resistance. The RS has a resistance down to .0003 ohms while the pro has a .00015 ohms. Less resistance the better.
while .0003 is double of .00015, that amount of resistance in the whole system (battery cells, battery connection, esc, motor wires, and motor) is an incredibly small percentage.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 05:31 PM   #4712
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 1,041
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Thanks, guys. I saved the few extra bucks and picked up an RS this afternoon. Hotwires were out of stock, so I need to wait for that.

Thanks again! Can't wait to see what this speedo can do!
ittjv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 06:08 PM   #4713
Tech Master
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,026
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys,

I'm expecting an RS in a week and I'm hoping you guys can help me with some tips for programing it. I'll running it in a Ta05 with a novak 13.5. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!--Al
big al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 06:45 PM   #4714
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smeltz View Post
Yes, there is a major difference. The pro is better based on resistance. The RS has a resistance down to .0003 ohms while the pro has a .00015 ohms. Less resistance the better.
That is an almost microscopic difference.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 06:45 PM   #4715
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

I have the exact same set-up. I run outdoor asphalt, and have only run on our medium size track, ont the big one yet.
I have zero motor timing, and 12 on the esc, in sensored only mode. Randy has a profile in the off-road RS discussion somewhere that is pretty good.
I have it geared at 4.8 and it's not overheating after a 5 minute run, could probably gear it lower if I wanted, but has good punch where it is.
Have it on throttle profile 3 for a start
JR007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 07:40 PM   #4716
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern NSW Australia
Posts: 734
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EVILGRAFX View Post
You're going to have to be more specific if you really want help.

Do you mean it won't calibrate?
the first time i used the tekin it calibrated fine but at the track no matter what adjustments i made it was still slow (10.5 slower than stock) so sent it back to where i purchased it he tested it and said it was fine. re calibrated it and seemed to work ok. At the track on Sunday turned every thing on and nothing tried to calibrate and still nothing,(hadn't changed any settings)lights no sound.
or could it be the 10.5(Tekin)?????
Steven
Casino Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 08:16 PM   #4717
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 157
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

My RS, 17.5 and hot wire arrived today. I was hoping someone could give me a rough set up. I'm using Xray 008, 17.5 Tekin motor, Foam tires, on a fairly large indoor track. I have moved from brushed to brush less so all help will be appreciated.

pic of track;
http://i40.tinypic.com/2nbhfo9.jpg
l337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 08:58 PM   #4718
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 1,199
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

l337,
I would start with this.
When you install hotwire on your computer check to see what firmware that came with the ESC by clicking on the view versions icon once the Hotwire is loaded. You must connect the Hotwire to your ESC for it to load.
The latest version is 198. If yours does not have this, I recommend going to teamtekin.com to get the 198.
As for settings once all this is done, here is what I would do.

FDR 4.4
Set the check on sensored only mode.
Drag Brake 20
Brake Strength 85
neutral width 15
throttle profile 3
boost 30
no limiter

Your Tekin 17.5 motor came with around 12 degrees of timing. Look at the motor can near the solder posts and you will see roughly what the timing is. With this setup I would run 0 motor timing. Set the motor timing to 0 by unscrewing the 3 screws slightly at the back of the motor(by the solder posts) and turn the black plastic plate clockwise until it stops. This will be roughly zero timing. Tighten the screws back up.

This should be a pretty good starting setup. I'm sure others will have some input as well so if you have any other questions this thread is a great place to go. Enjoy!
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy - JConcepts - KustomRCgraphics
Kingsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 09:06 PM   #4719
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casino Kid View Post
the first time i used the tekin it calibrated fine but at the track no matter what adjustments i made it was still slow (10.5 slower than stock) so sent it back to where i purchased it he tested it and said it was fine. re calibrated it and seemed to work ok. At the track on Sunday turned every thing on and nothing tried to calibrate and still nothing,(hadn't changed any settings)lights no sound.
or could it be the 10.5(Tekin)?????
Steven
Please be more specific when you say it did nothing? Did it light up any led's? If it did which ones were lit? Did it chime? Were the pack(s) charged?

No sound often means that the wrong motor type is chosen. The led tree will display trouble faults on it. What does it show?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 11:24 PM   #4720
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern NSW Australia
Posts: 734
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Please be more specific when you say it did nothing? Did it light up any led's? If it did which ones were lit? Did it chime? Were the pack(s) charged?

No sound often means that the wrong motor type is chosen. The led tree will display trouble faults on it. What does it show?
Randy
Turn it on and DB LM VC flash 3 times then flashes between LM and DB throttle on and lights light up and the setting are as follows
DB 80
Rev off
BS 67
NW 57
Motor BL/FW
TP 5
VC off
PC off
TB 26 motor timing 0
CL off
V198
Thanks Steven
Casino Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 11:30 PM   #4721
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fontana,CA
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Sensor Harness

Can someone tell me the length of the Sensor Harness On the RS?
svines1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 11:44 PM   #4722
Tech Addict
 
MarkBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 712
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by big al View Post
Hey guys,

I'm expecting an RS in a week and I'm hoping you guys can help me with some tips for programing it. I'll running it in a Ta05 with a novak 13.5. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!--Al
Al, reading this post

http://www.rctech.net/forum/5940355-post4315.html

should help you get started.
MarkBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 12:30 AM   #4723
Tech Apprentice
 
MoGGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ramsgate
Posts: 89
Default

Well just got back from a weekend's racing, first one with a Redline motor as I have been running a Novak 13.5 on my RS Pro. The brakes on the Redline are about x3 of the Novak, I could actually stop!!!!

Secondly I had great speed on the infield, staying with the TQ man who runs GM, but was getting beaten up 2nd half of the straight.

Roll on 1.99..........................
MoGGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 05:16 AM   #4724
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 157
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

thanks Kingsbury i updated to 198 and set the settings to what you said, i will most likely only need to play with the brake settings.

What temp am i aim for? (160-180F?)
If i am "cold" should i gear up? More motor timing? More boost? another option?
If i am "hot" should i gear down or turn boost down?
l337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 09:39 AM   #4725
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 1,199
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Your right on with the temp range. I usually run 170-175 for my gearing and configurations on asphalt.

If your hot or cold, I would change your gearing 1 tooth a time and leave the settings alone. If you don't need that much brake then the lower the better as far as motor temp goes, brake's generate a lot of heat. Let me know how it goes. Have fun!
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy - JConcepts - KustomRCgraphics
Kingsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:31 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net