R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-30-2009, 08:13 AM   #4606
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,187
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
You've got it right.

Gearing lighter means gearing down and making the load on the motor "lighter"

Gearing heavier means gearing up for more top speed, thus putting a "heavier" load on the motor.
Thanks.
__________________
Rick "Blue" Sieboldt - Mooresville, NC
* Associated T5M * Tekin * TQ Wire *
www.tqracing.com/rc_products.htm For all your wire needs
lidebt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:24 AM   #4607
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny L View Post
Been running the turbo software in single cell 17.5 12th blows away the spx at our track . Have'm in the infield and down straight too in 75 x 45 carpet track
Would you mind posting your motor, gearing, and esc settings? Thanks
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:43 AM   #4608
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lidebt2 View Post
Now I'm confused.

lighter = smaller pinion and bigger spur?

heavy = larger pinion and smaller spur?
exactly !!
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:51 AM   #4609
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fontana,CA
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Tekin Hotwire

I have purchased an RS/17.5 combo. I will be installing it into a Tamiya F104.

1) Tekin Hotwire - Is this something needed to program the esc by itself or does it require a PC/Laptop to use it at the track.

2) Does anyone know a good programing setup for this como and car to start with. I need to get the Tamiya gears ordered if they are available. I understand they are different than the normal 48/64 pitch we use in TC.
svines1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:19 AM   #4610
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svines1972 View Post
Tekin Hotwire - Is this something needed to program the esc by itself or does it require a PC/Laptop to use it at the track.
Tekin Hotwire
__________________
Ultima RB5-SP2/HB D4 WCE/AE TC5R/AE 18R/Traxxas Blue Eagle
Sponsoring Futaba/Tekin/Thunder Power with my hard earned cash.
BlueEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:20 AM   #4611
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svines1972 View Post
1) Tekin Hotwire - Is this something needed to program the esc by itself or does it require a PC/Laptop to use it at the track.
The hotwire is simply the interface between the RS, and a PC. You can do it on your desktop PC at home and take it to the track pre-programmed.... you can take a laptop with you TO the track and be able to make hotwire changes throughout the day, or you can program the esc using the buttons on the top of the esc itself.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:23 AM   #4612
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 140
Default

I'd like to make a request to everyone on this thread:
Please stop asking when the new version is coming out!

It'll be ready when it's ready. There are 100s if not 1000s of people that read this thread. 100 posts that say "Randy, You have a PM", "When is it coming?", or "Where did you get it?" just clutters up the thread for everyone else. With RCTech's currently broken search, it makes it harder to find good info. That leads to people asking the same questions again, and it's a never ending cycle.

Randy will take care of us.

Thanks.
__________________
Ultima RB5-SP2/HB D4 WCE/AE TC5R/AE 18R/Traxxas Blue Eagle
Sponsoring Futaba/Tekin/Thunder Power with my hard earned cash.
BlueEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:36 AM   #4613
Tech Master
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
Would you mind posting your motor, gearing, and esc settings? Thanks
motor express 17.5 duo 0 timing
pinion 48
spur 74
tire 1.625
settings on rs
drag 20
rev0
brake 60
blfw
profile 5
cutoff 0
turbo 20
boost 15
delay 20
__________________
Team Tekin, Ko Propo America
Kenny L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:40 AM   #4614
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fontana,CA
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Cpt.America - so you mean the Hotwire is not really necessary, all of the settings I am reading on here can be done manually like boost/timing and everything else?
svines1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:44 AM   #4615
Tech Elite
 
stitchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,794
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

You don't *have* to have it to use the speed control.

However, it is required to make minute adjustments to settings and also adjust boost and the upcoming turbo features.
__________________
Speedtechhobbies.com
stitchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:45 AM   #4616
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svines1972 View Post
Cpt.America - so you mean the Hotwire is not really necessary, all of the settings I am reading on here can be done manually like boost/timing and everything else?
No but with the Hotwire you can change the Timing and sensord only or dual mode.
Than you also can update your tekin with the latest software.
You get with the Hotwire some extra settings that you can change.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 12:07 PM   #4617
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny L View Post
motor express 17.5 duo 0 timing
pinion 48
spur 74
tire 1.625
settings on rs
drag 20
rev0
brake 60
blfw
profile 5
cutoff 0
turbo 20
boost 15
delay 20
Thanks.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 01:28 PM   #4618
Tech Elite
 
chris moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Phx AZ
Posts: 3,780
Trader Rating: 88 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny L View Post
motor express 17.5 duo 0 timing
pinion 48
spur 74
tire 1.625
settings on rs
drag 20
rev0
brake 60
blfw
profile 5
cutoff 0
turbo 20
boost 15
delay 20
I have'nt been keeping up with this thread all that much, is the turbo feature now avalible to all?
__________________
Sponsered by:

CMDezigns Paint Works
https://www.facebook.com/pages/CM-Dezigns/259989190822177?ref=hl
chris moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 01:41 PM   #4619
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris moore View Post
I have'nt been keeping up with this thread all that much, is the turbo feature now avalible to all?




I don't know if you're being serious, or antagonistic, either way .

BTW - No, it is not available to the public.
kn7671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 01:42 PM   #4620
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svines1972 View Post
Cpt.America - so you mean the Hotwire is not really necessary, all of the settings I am reading on here can be done manually like boost/timing and everything else?
Most changes can be made on the top of the ESC, but there are some that require the hotwire to take advantage of. Which exactly are not available from the ESC itself, I don't know, as I bought my hotwire the same day as I got my first RS pro. I have never programed from the case, and have always made all my changes through the hotwire, so I'm ignorant as to which features are limited through the hotwire. For me personally.... it's worth the money.


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris moore View Post
I have'nt been keeping up with this thread all that much, is the turbo feature now avalible to all?
No, not yet. And for BlueEagle's sake, stop asking!
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:12 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net