R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-29-2009, 12:37 PM   #4576
Tech Champion
 
John Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 8,925
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
I didn't mean to rustle any feathers. Im just trying to work through a frustrating race day for me.

Since my post, I have seen people saying 4.7 is geared WAY too low. I have seen people say that 4.7 is geared WAY too high, and I have seen people blame motor temps on driving too agressive in the infield (which i dont think is true). Our latest track layout is just massive...(rubber, outside parking lot) we have a like a 60 foot side straight, and a 100 foot back straight (somebody from FW correct me if those numbers seem way off), and the 90 degree turn seperating the two straights you can take at full speed, so in reality, it's one massive straight.

Id LOVE to gear up, and during practice I did gear up to 4.3 or so, and I was MUCH faster, but my car was coming off the track at 180 degrees, and it was still a pretty cold morning. The motor always gets 20-30 degree hotter by the middle of the day, which is why I had to gear back down.

I am NOT running a fan however... is this the key? Fan the motor, gear up?
Yes run a fan on motor..I look for race temps at 180* range for opt racing speeds. I run my fan direct thru speedo with a second switch to run fan. A track that size Im running 4.11 range.
__________________
www.express-motorsports.net for all your motor needs
Multi time National Champions,Reedy Champs,Vegas Champs,Birds, Champs,[email protected]

Team Associated-Express Motorsports-Trinity-Reflex Racing-A Main Hobbies-ProtekRC
John Tag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 12:45 PM   #4577
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Tag View Post
Yes run a fan on motor..I look for race temps at 180* range for opt racing speeds. I run my fan direct thru speedo with a second switch to run fan. A track that size Im running 4.11 range.
How's the blue LRP heatsink+fan? I can only find two... the LRP and the ones Integy makes. Anybody recommend me a nice heatsink/fan combo to fit onto a redline in a 009?
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 12:48 PM   #4578
Tech Champion
 
John Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 8,925
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
How's the blue LRP heatsink+fan? I can only find two... the LRP and the ones Integy makes. Anybody recommend me a nice heatsink/fan combo to fit onto a redline in a 009?
Not sure on fit about heatsink, but the LRP fans do work great. I tested both LRP and Novak fan wired to speedo and both work the same.....
__________________
www.express-motorsports.net for all your motor needs
Multi time National Champions,Reedy Champs,Vegas Champs,Birds, Champs,[email protected]

Team Associated-Express Motorsports-Trinity-Reflex Racing-A Main Hobbies-ProtekRC
John Tag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 12:52 PM   #4579
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Tag View Post
Not sure on fit about heatsink, but the LRP fans do work great. I tested both LRP and Novak fan wired to speedo and both work the same.....
I use the LRP on my Redline 10,5T. It works great.
The best there is.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 01:14 PM   #4580
Tech Regular
 
Micro-E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 329
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

mikky32, do you use the LRP heat sink and the fan, or just the fan?
__________________
- Erik
Micro-E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 01:16 PM   #4581
Tech Regular
 
Rockpyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver,WA
Posts: 333
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
How's the blue LRP heatsink+fan? I can only find two... the LRP and the ones Integy makes. Anybody recommend me a nice heatsink/fan combo to fit onto a redline in a 009?

I use an Integy heatsink http://www.integy.com/st_prod.html?p...350&p_catid=28and a novak fan. It helped a lot in keeping the motor temps down. The screws just thread between the fins. Integy has others that include a fan.
Rockpyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 01:40 PM   #4582
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

LRP heat sink and fan is the best available !!!
I am using the Nosram version in my mod.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 02:06 PM   #4583
Tech Elite
 
corallyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edmonds, Wash
Posts: 4,564
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Default

Cap't America,

I sent you a PM.

Steve
__________________
Team ORCA / ORCA USA / Pro Spec
Serpent America / Team Serpent S411 ERYX / On Point Racing OP12C, S120 / Xceed Products
Hangar 30 / Seattle RC Racers
Fasttrax Racing Series / NORA On Road Series
corallyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 02:17 PM   #4584
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Micro-E View Post
mikky32, do you use the LRP heat sink and the fan, or just the fan?
I use only the heat sink because the fan is broken.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 03:20 PM   #4585
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 14
Default

on the topic of heatsinks, has anyone had measurable success with using a heatsink paste b/w the motor and heatsink? I tried it once, but didn't check temps.
scottlong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 03:44 PM   #4586
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Cpt A: Your esc/radio issue sounds a bit off. Wierd for sure. The 3 led's are telling you that your nuetral has wandered away from the original set point you programmed the RS with in the first place. If you reset your model you MUST recalibrate your esc. If your radio is out of tune or the throttle pot is allowed to move this will cause this exact issue. I fixed an M11 over the weekend wit this exacti issue. You could even see the throttle move on the radio's display! Took it apart and found the throttle channel pot moving in it's housing. A little crip of the pliers and a drop of ca for good measure and he was fixed. This may be your case. Try a different radio if you can and see what happens.

The 199 software public version is being worked on. It adds a turbo function for the straights that is more than competitive with the other esc's being used right now.

We don't like letting out software that has an issue that we know about. This is why it's not out yet. We're aware of an issue and want it fixed before we let it out. Once we let out software we can't just recall it back and say oops.

I'm still working on the brake issues. I've seen some posts here but have only gotten one screen shot to look at. Please if you can send me your full setups and screen shots that would be great. The more info the better.

RP
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 04:10 PM   #4587
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Cpt A: Your esc/radio issue sounds a bit off. Wierd for sure. The 3 led's are telling you that your nuetral has wandered away from the original set point you programmed the RS with in the first place.
ok

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
If you reset your model you MUST recalibrate your esc. If your radio is out of tune or the throttle pot is allowed to move this will cause this exact issue.
RP
Must recalibrate the esc? What do you mean? Can you outline the basic steps? I really don't know what that means. All I have done is hotwire it up... set my settings how I want them, and load the settings into the esc, and vuala.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -

Last edited by Cpt.America; 06-29-2009 at 05:55 PM.
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 04:18 PM   #4588
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

IN the manual there is a part that talks about a master reset,that might be what randy is talking about and the re program it to the tx and redo the hotwire setups so wright them down
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 04:20 PM   #4589
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
hhmm.. the manual says something different. It says, that the signal is too high (which means what exactly?)



Must recalibrate the esc? What do you mean? Can you outline the basic steps? I really don't know what that means. All I have done is hotwire it up... set my settings how I want them, and load the settings into the esc, and vuala.
As you updated the speedo with new software, than you need to reset the speedo.
After that you recalibrate the speedo and you set your settings how you like it and your done.


Randy I will email you a screenshot tomorrow.
And with which motor it has no brakes.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 04:39 PM   #4590
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,630
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
I had to get a fan to get my setup where I wanted it. I run full boost and won't have it any other way. My fan and heatsink combo cool my setup a good 25degrees. I have plenty of room now for hot days.

--pakk
+1 - The fan and heatsink are required if you're looking to gear up and add boost, end of story...
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:54 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net