R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-23-2009, 09:25 AM   #4456
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
Nice track but were are you using the brakes? (Except the 180 corner)
And why drag brake?
Looks like a smooth track.
i dont use drag brake but with the weak brakes i was trying anything.
I use brakes for the cut in on the back straight and again on the hiarpin in the middle straight.
I like to run deep into the corner and use brakes at the last moment to get on the apex.
Its the 2 places a lot of guys can make mistakes and run too deep so i always keep on the inside to avoid getting tangled with them.
Also mainly if attacking or defending for position.
If not pressured by anyone i carry a wider, flowing line through those corners.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 09:32 AM   #4457
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 114
Default

A lot of the tracks in the UK have hairpins at the end of very fast straights or sweepers and they provide ideal overtaking opportunites. When the guy behind you is no more than a few feet back, you cannot brake early or take a wide line if you want to be in the lead as you exit the corner.

We might not need brakes for 95% of the circuit length, but when you don't have them for the one corner you need them, you're at an instant disadvantage.
THancock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 09:52 AM   #4458
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor View Post
i dont use drag brake but with the weak brakes i was trying anything.
I use brakes for the cut in on the back straight and again on the hiarpin in the middle straight.
I like to run deep into the corner and use brakes at the last moment to get on the apex.
Its the 2 places a lot of guys can make mistakes and run too deep so i always keep on the inside to avoid getting tangled with them.
Also mainly if attacking or defending for position.
If not pressured by anyone i carry a wider, flowing line through those corners.
Ok.
It's a good looking track.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 10:01 AM   #4459
Tech Apprentice
 
MoGGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ramsgate
Posts: 89
Default

Or indeed if you want to make it round the corner at all Tim if the guy behind is gunna brake later than you no matter where you brake!!!!
MoGGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 10:07 AM   #4460
Tech Regular
 
cosmo1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide AUSTRALIA (5.754 mins SE of The Parks)
Posts: 371
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
...
Seems like you would lose a lot of speed
...
Your starting to catch on ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by THancock View Post
A lot of the tracks in the UK have hairpins at the end of very fast straights or sweepers and they provide ideal overtaking opportunites. When the guy behind you is no more than a few feet back, you cannot brake early or take a wide line if you want to be in the lead as you exit the corner.

We might not need brakes for 95% of the circuit length, but when you don't have them for the one corner you need them, you're at an instant disadvantage.
This is a good example where heavy braking is required.

At the local track of interest (here in Australia), I'd say cars are literally MILLI-METERS apart at the very tight "S" corner.
ALL drivers are standing on the brakes.
It's a crawl through the initial part of the "S" corner.

Unfortunately, the TEKIN RS PRO takes about TWICE the stopping space, so the result is a bunch of surprised drivers trying to avoid the rear of my car.
If I brake later, I end up a few feet past the corner.

Cheers
__________________
"I'm either retired or unemployed, depending on when the money runs out !" > AERCCC_#25 > LargeOutdoorAsphaltTrack > CycloneTC + TekinRS_HWXerun_ESCs + Duo2_17.5 + SMC_Fantom_LiPos + BLS551 + MX3FG + TC1030 + MM >> =======TRACK_VIEW_FROM_SPACE========> http://www.nearmap.com/[email protected],138.560313&ll=-34.857766,138.560313&z=19&t=h&nmd=20100614
cosmo1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 10:19 AM   #4461
Tech Regular
 
cosmo1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide AUSTRALIA (5.754 mins SE of The Parks)
Posts: 371
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
...
The 210 Foot is still a small straight out here. MACH is a lot bigger.
And we drive with 5 cell and a 10,5T almost as fast as a 13,5T Lipo.
In Australia, the "rats" are called "kangaroos" - now thats big

But seriously, the 10.5 BL guys are only a little slower than the 4.5T BL guys.
If I set the the FDR at 4.3 (& 30 boost), I'd say the car is very close to the 4.5T BL guys straight line speed.

Cheers
__________________
"I'm either retired or unemployed, depending on when the money runs out !" > AERCCC_#25 > LargeOutdoorAsphaltTrack > CycloneTC + TekinRS_HWXerun_ESCs + Duo2_17.5 + SMC_Fantom_LiPos + BLS551 + MX3FG + TC1030 + MM >> =======TRACK_VIEW_FROM_SPACE========> http://www.nearmap.com/[email protected],138.560313&ll=-34.857766,138.560313&z=19&t=h&nmd=20100614
cosmo1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 10:23 AM   #4462
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmo1974 View Post
In Australia, the "rats" are called "kangaroos" - now thats big

But seriously, the 10.5 BL guys are only a little slower than the 4.5T BL guys.
If I set the the FDR at 4.3 (& 30 boost), I'd say the car is very close to the 4.5T BL guys straight line speed.

Cheers
10.5 is mod in the US. Probably where some of the confusion came from? With a 17.5 motor brakes would almost never be used.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 11:12 AM   #4463
Tech Champion
 
John Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 8,925
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Except me...LOL I run my RS with 17.5 motor 60-70% Drag Brakes and 100% on other brake settings. I did a few weeks ago notice some brake fade..I rebooted speedo and reset radio and all was fixed. Newer softawre is even more aggressive for braking 198 ect.......
__________________
www.express-motorsports.net for all your motor needs
Multi time National Champions,Reedy Champs,Vegas Champs,Birds, Champs,[email protected]

Team Associated-Express Motorsports-Trinity-Reflex Racing-A Main Hobbies-ProtekRC
John Tag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 11:35 AM   #4464
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Tag View Post
Except me...LOL I run my RS with 17.5 motor 60-70% Drag Brakes and 100% on other brake settings. I did a few weeks ago notice some brake fade..I rebooted speedo and reset radio and all was fixed. Newer softawre is even more aggressive for braking 198 ect.......
Wow Tag, you need to dial in some steering! . We got guys that can take a high speed sweeper at the end of a 160' straight and turn back into the boards 180 degrees full speed at about a 6' radius.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 11:47 AM   #4465
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 5,058
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
Wow Tag, you need to dial in some steering! . We got guys that can take a high speed sweeper at the end of a 160' straight and turn back into the boards 180 degrees full speed at about a 6' radius.
Remember it is Tag we are talking about.
__________________
Steve Walter
Sweep Racing USA/ Speed Passion USA/ Karens Famous Cookies (Transporter)
SRW141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 12:01 PM   #4466
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

The RS and RS Pro use the same software. We're looking into the large track issues where brakes seem to be lacking.

Most turn the brakes down in the RS and RS PRo. You should be just fine with your F104.

I would still appreciate everyone having a braking issue to send me a screen shot, your radio being used, gearing, battery power, motor being used(wind and brand). We can fix anything we need to. I just need to make sure I get the same setup as you're running so I can test/verify the concern.

Thanks guys.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 12:21 PM   #4467
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Ok here is my ? I am running vta 21.5 trinty duo what is a good setting and gearing to use 4.2-4.6 please help.
Detroitlion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 01:13 PM   #4468
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmo1974 View Post
In Australia, the "rats" are called "kangaroos" - now thats big

But seriously, the 10.5 BL guys are only a little slower than the 4.5T BL guys.
If I set the the FDR at 4.3 (& 30 boost), I'd say the car is very close to the 4.5T BL guys straight line speed.

Cheers
I now. I drive some times a 10,5T Lipo.
It's on our track just like mod.

The mod lap record is 13,88
the 5 cell 10,5T lap record is 14,07
The fastest lap with a 10,5T Lipo is at the moment 14,12
I think that the Lipo will go a lot faster but the driver that set that time was driving that in teh training and not at race speed. I now he will go as fast as mod as he uses new tires.

Our rats are still small. Than they still fit in the rat traps
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 04:48 PM   #4469
Tech Regular
 
cosmo1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide AUSTRALIA (5.754 mins SE of The Parks)
Posts: 371
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
10.5 is mod in the US. Probably where some of the confusion came from? With a 17.5 motor brakes would almost never be used.
If mod is 10.5, what do you call the 4.0/4.5T (or similar) class?

Cheers
__________________
"I'm either retired or unemployed, depending on when the money runs out !" > AERCCC_#25 > LargeOutdoorAsphaltTrack > CycloneTC + TekinRS_HWXerun_ESCs + Duo2_17.5 + SMC_Fantom_LiPos + BLS551 + MX3FG + TC1030 + MM >> =======TRACK_VIEW_FROM_SPACE========> http://www.nearmap.com/[email protected],138.560313&ll=-34.857766,138.560313&z=19&t=h&nmd=20100614
cosmo1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 05:00 PM   #4470
Tech Regular
 
cosmo1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide AUSTRALIA (5.754 mins SE of The Parks)
Posts: 371
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
The RS and RS Pro use the same software. We're looking into the large track issues where brakes seem to be lacking.

Most turn the brakes down in the RS and RS PRo. You should be just fine with your F104.

I would still appreciate everyone having a braking issue to send me a screen shot, your radio being used, gearing, battery power, motor being used(wind and brand). We can fix anything we need to. I just need to make sure I get the same setup as you're running so I can test/verify the concern.

Thanks guys.
Randy,

Good to hear that its a doable firmware fix.

Apart from the Hi-Speed braking issue, the car with RS PRO + 10.5 Redline is:
-- a bullet off the start line
-- as uncontrollably fast as I could possibly hope for

Cheers
__________________
"I'm either retired or unemployed, depending on when the money runs out !" > AERCCC_#25 > LargeOutdoorAsphaltTrack > CycloneTC + TekinRS_HWXerun_ESCs + Duo2_17.5 + SMC_Fantom_LiPos + BLS551 + MX3FG + TC1030 + MM >> =======TRACK_VIEW_FROM_SPACE========> http://www.nearmap.com/[email protected],138.560313&ll=-34.857766,138.560313&z=19&t=h&nmd=20100614
cosmo1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:16 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net