R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-10-2009, 10:11 PM   #4216
Tech Addict
 
MarkBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 712
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor View Post
7v is very high for the LVC and can be your problem.
reduce it to 6.2v for stock classes and 6.4v for mod.
I'm curious: Why set a higher voltage cutoff for mod than for stock? Seems like it might work better the other way around. What am I missing?
MarkBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 06:14 AM   #4217
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

We'll be back at Speedworld this weekend to test the new software. Last weekend was on a small track with a very tight layout so the testing (IMO) had limits. The regular LRP TC Sphere could keep up on the layout. Look for better results this weekend as many of you race on larger tracks and could benefit better from test results done at Speedworld. They say it's was an improvement even on the little track but I have never run the RS there before and had nothing to compare it to. The local hotshot was fast with the regular 189 software there so it's scary to think that he might be even faster
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 06:24 AM   #4218
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
We'll be back at Speedworld this weekend to test the new software. Last weekend was on a small track with a very tight layout so the testing (IMO) had limits. The regular LRP TC Sphere could keep up on the layout. Look for better results this weekend as many of you race on larger tracks and could benefit better from test results done at Speedworld. They say it's was an improvement even on the little track but I have never run the RS there before and had nothing to compare it to. The local hotshot was fast with the regular 189 software there so it's scary to think that he might be even faster
Did you test the Turbo software?
Because I think that you don't need the Turbo on the smaller tracks.
The top speed is a lot lower than on the bigger tracks.
For the infield the regular software is great.
Gear it lighter and the TC will not follow you.
Only the guys that now the track very well will bead you than with a TC.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 06:56 AM   #4219
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkBrown View Post
I'm curious: Why set a higher voltage cutoff for mod than for stock? Seems like it might work better the other way around. What am I missing?
Just for mod class the motors draw so much more power causing voltage drops that are worse than stock classes that i rather feel safe not dropping my batts below 3v.
Run time is not a issue though.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 07:02 AM   #4220
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

For those of you interested, we have group set up on Facebook for Tekin.


Within Facebook, in your search box type "Team Tekin Appreciation Society" and you'll find us
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 07:31 AM   #4221
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,103
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor View Post
Just for mod class the motors draw so much more power causing voltage drops that are worse than stock classes that i rather feel safe not dropping my batts below 3v.
Run time is not a issue though.
The tekin voltage cutoff is more of a "hard" cutoff and does not let the pack get below the set cutoff even under acceleration. The Mamba systems have a "soft" cutoff that would allow the pack to dip under on acceleration as long as it bounced back within a second or two. I've had a Mamba max and Monster and I had the voltage cutoffs at 3.2 volts per cell and the pack would come off the track around 13 volts on 4s and 6.5 on 2s. Now running completely tekin I have the voltage cutoffs at the standard 3 volts per cell and see voltages of 6.6 or so and 13.3.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 10:21 AM   #4222
Tech Elite
 
stitchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,794
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Just got the RS yesterday and am really liking it so far, especially the small size, especially compared to my old GTB!

Noob question time:

What software does it come with?
I know I don't *need* to upgrade the software right away, but what will I get if I do?
How does ESC timing get adjusted and how does it work?
What is this "turbo" function I keep hearing about?
If using in a TC, should I gear down to start? (Don't wanna blow motors up on my first run!)

Thanks for any help!
__________________
Speedtechhobbies.com
stitchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 10:48 AM   #4223
Tech Regular
 
Team Pink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 456
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
We'll be back at Speedworld this weekend to test the new software. Last weekend was on a small track with a very tight layout so the testing (IMO) had limits. The regular LRP TC Sphere could keep up on the layout. Look for better results this weekend as many of you race on larger tracks and could benefit better from test results done at Speedworld. They say it's was an improvement even on the little track but I have never run the RS there before and had nothing to compare it to. The local hotshot was fast with the regular 189 software there so it's scary to think that he might be even faster
Good luck with the testing Clint at Speed World. LMK how it goes.

As far as the smaller track we were running on last weekend, I would say it was another success. In the beginning of the season I was running 189 and had it pretty good. Running the new "turbo feature" i have noticed quite a diferrence. Last weekend it was a one-eighty going on to the back straight and once again we were as fast as the SPX or even faster.
__________________
Team Losi Racing/ Spektrum/ Horizon Hobby/ JConcepts/ Hobby Star/ Schelle Racing
Team Pink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 11:37 AM   #4224
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stitchy View Post
Just got the RS yesterday and am really liking it so far, especially the small size, especially compared to my old GTB!

Noob question time:

What software does it come with?
I know I don't *need* to upgrade the software right away, but what will I get if I do?
How does ESC timing get adjusted and how does it work?
What is this "turbo" function I keep hearing about?
If using in a TC, should I gear down to start? (Don't wanna blow motors up on my first run!)

Thanks for any help!
Do you have the Hotwire?
You need it to change the timing and setting it in sensord only mode.
Witch motor are you using?
Best setup is motor timing 0 and boost on 30
start to gear lighter than normal and go heavier till you have a good infield speed and top speed. Watch the temps of the motor.

The Turbo option is coming. Tekin is working at it and it will ad some extra timing on the straight when extra power is needed to get a good top speed.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 11:47 AM   #4225
Tech Elite
 
stitchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,794
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Mikky!

I don't have the hotwire yet but plan on getting it! I'm using Novak 17.5 motors (for now).

I'm using the default dual mode. Does it have to be on sensored mode to change the ESC timing?
__________________
Speedtechhobbies.com
stitchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 11:59 AM   #4226
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

in sensord mode you have more power.
What is the minimum timing of a Novak motor?
Can you set it to 0?
If it's standing on 12 timing on the motor put than your boost on 18.
Than you have 18 boost + 12 on the motor and 15 build in timing is total of 45 timing.
I try to keep the motor timing lower because the motor gets faster hot with motor timing than with boost.

Get the hotwire and update your Tekin to The 198. You will get more power than you have now.
Also you get some extra options.

When you have updated your speedo, reset it and reconnect it to your transmitter. after that change your settings on your speedo. set in dual mode the timing on 100%
than set it to sensord only mode and set the boost and other settings.

than apply the settings and you are ready to race.
start low and gear heavier each time and check your temps of the motor.

As you don't have the hotwire you can ask if someone els has it and can update it for you.

As you get your hotwire. download the software of the website of Tekin. install that. Than you always have the latest version.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 12:13 PM   #4227
Tech Elite
 
stitchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,794
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I think the Novaks come in at zero timing. Does that mean I should set ESC timing at 30? It sounds like your recommendation is to set combined timing at 30 whether it be esc or motor (added together). Is that right?
__________________
Speedtechhobbies.com
stitchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 12:17 PM   #4228
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stitchy View Post
I think the Novaks come in at zero timing. Does that mean I should set ESC timing at 30? It sounds like your recommendation is to set combined timing at 30 whether it be esc or motor (added together). Is that right?
Yes. when you ad the motor timing and the boost, it will come to 30.
That's the best.
on larger tracks you can ad 5 extra but than mind the temp.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 01:01 PM   #4229
Tech Elite
 
stitchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,794
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

ok last question (for now)...what gearing to start at? Track is fairly large.
__________________
Speedtechhobbies.com
stitchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 01:10 PM   #4230
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,103
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

The velociti novak motors do not come at 0 timing! This has been the cause of many overheated motors where people assume that no timing marks/non-adjustable means 0 and then boost the heck out of them. The motors come with approximately 15 degrees, but I have been told anywhere from 12 to 20. Give novak a call to find out what your motor is most likely at. When I was still running novak motors with my RSpro I would use 15 boost on small/med tracks and 20 on very large tracks.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:44 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net