R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-31-2009, 11:55 AM   #4036
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 900
Default

PS - is someone from Tekin going to be at the IIC to help me with speedo settings? I hope so!!
SlowerOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 11:56 AM   #4037
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,187
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default 194

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
There were a few versions of 194.

Please download the latest version and recheck:

www.teamtekin.com/hotwire.html
Is this one the corrected verision with the box gone? With Turbo that you were working on?
__________________
Rick "Blue" Sieboldt - Mooresville, NC
* Associated T5M * Tekin * TQ Wire *
www.tqracing.com/rc_products.htm For all your wire needs
lidebt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 01:43 PM   #4038
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowerOne View Post
I don't think I've ever seen a greater collection of amateurs trying the patience of a single professional!!!
hey! ask anybody. when it comes to trying someone's patience i am no amateur!
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 01:53 PM   #4039
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 175
Default

I am not sure what does the turbo.....an explanation...??
higbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 02:58 PM   #4040
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by higbo View Post
I am not sure what does the turbo.....an explanation...??
it is a new feature that was tested at the reedy race and that's all that was said,i haven't read anything else from randy or any other drivers from the race that have posted here.randy said in a early post that the new version with the fixed green box will be out shortly
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 04:18 PM   #4041
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

The green box is caused by the Hotwire software being updated for use on the "being tested" 199 software.

It causes no problems and is just an annoyance(sorry).

There is ongoing testing for the latest software. Results are looking quite good and we will be working on a public version.

Yes someone will be at the IIC to help out.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 04:26 PM   #4042
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Yes someone will be at the IIC to help out.

Really? You guys send people to events to help out with your products?
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 04:38 PM   #4043
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Yes,

We'd like to make every event but that isn't always possible. The IIC is a large event and it's in Vegas baby! Any excuse is a good excuse to go to Vegas right!?!

Pic of me at the Reedy Race of Champions:
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS ESC sensored-reedy3-14.jpg  
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 05:41 PM   #4044
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,993
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Yes,

We'd like to make every event but that isn't always possible. The IIC is a large event and it's in Vegas baby! Any excuse is a good excuse to go to Vegas right!?!

Pic of me at the Reedy Race of Champions:
I need one of those shirts in North Carolina blue
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 05:51 PM   #4045
Tech Regular
 
cosmo1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide AUSTRALIA (5.754 mins SE of The Parks)
Posts: 371
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
There were a few versions of 194.

Please download the latest version and recheck:

www.teamtekin.com/hotwire.html
Randy,

(1) I uninstalled the current hotwire software from my Windows XP machine, downloaded the latest software from the Tekin website, installed it, updated the ESC with 198 firmware and got the SAME RESULTS.

(2) Just to reiterate ...

(a) In SensoredOnlyMode, the MotorType (on ESC display) shows all 7 LEDs on.

(b) I tried running the car in SensoredOnlyMode and the top 3 LEDs are faintly lit even up to maximum throttle. This indicates that the ESC is using the sensors at all throttle positions (so its not in DualMode, which is encouraging).

(c) I verified the current settings in the ESC, and it is definitely using v198 (I get the extra tick boxes for 1s lipo, etc).

(d) The ESC indicates the following settings:
Drag Brake = 1 (none)
Brake Strength = 13 (max)
Current Limiter = 13 (none)
Neutral Width = LED 4-5
Throttle Profile = LED 1-3 (Linear)
MotorType = ALL LEDs ****should be LED 1 only****
Voltage Cutoff = LED 1-2 (6Volts)

(e) If I change the MotorType at the ESC, the hotwire indicates that the operating mode is now DualMode. NOTE: This might be how it is intended to work, but I don't recall anyone mentioning this before?

What The ????
__________________
"I'm either retired or unemployed, depending on when the money runs out !" > AERCCC_#25 > LargeOutdoorAsphaltTrack > CycloneTC + TekinRS_HWXerun_ESCs + Duo2_17.5 + SMC_Fantom_LiPos + BLS551 + MX3FG + TC1030 + MM >> =======TRACK_VIEW_FROM_SPACE========> http://www.nearmap.com/[email protected],138.560313&ll=-34.857766,138.560313&z=19&t=h&nmd=20100614
cosmo1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 06:09 PM   #4046
Tech Regular
 
cosmo1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide AUSTRALIA (5.754 mins SE of The Parks)
Posts: 371
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gortan View Post
I'm also getting this error... screen shot attached with this post.

I did not have this issue prior the 1s fix.
ie. 3.24 did not generate this error.. but 3.25 is.

thanks.
Randy,

ALSO ...

(1) I get the rather disconcerting yellow pop up window as well (which says in a very authoritative manner):

"Some of the user values are outside the expected range! Your ESC may not be compatible with this version of the HotWire".

Pity it doesn't indicate which value(s) are outside the range.

(2) Just out of curiosity, are their different versions of the ESC Hardware floating around?
__________________
"I'm either retired or unemployed, depending on when the money runs out !" > AERCCC_#25 > LargeOutdoorAsphaltTrack > CycloneTC + TekinRS_HWXerun_ESCs + Duo2_17.5 + SMC_Fantom_LiPos + BLS551 + MX3FG + TC1030 + MM >> =======TRACK_VIEW_FROM_SPACE========> http://www.nearmap.com/[email protected],138.560313&ll=-34.857766,138.560313&z=19&t=h&nmd=20100614
cosmo1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 06:23 PM   #4047
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Cosmo,

I'm going to my workshop to check out this issue. I'll have an answer for you soon.

The yellow/green box has been explained. It's looking for some "values" that simply don't exsist in the 198 software but do exsist in the 199 that I'm testing. We uploaded the latest hotwire but did not give anyone the 199 software. It knows this and is letting you know.

IT also happens if you hook up an esc that has lower software in the PC that is in the esc.

It causes no ill effects though.

You are correct that if the 3 last led's stay cycling throughout that you are indeed in sensored only mode.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 06:25 PM   #4048
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
I need one of those shirts in North Carolina blue
That will never happen...LOL.

Maybe I'll talk to the crew about some pink baby doll shirts for you though....
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 08:05 PM   #4049
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 230
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I'm currently running the RS PRo 17.5 on a medium sized outdoor parking lot track. My FDR is at 4.0, timing on motor = 0, and 30 of boost. I'm also running the 198 software. My temp on the motor was 195 F. I was wondering if I can get some advice on if I should lower the boost to say 20 or gear up 2 teeth on the pinion. THe top end seems decent, maybe a little sluggish on the bottom.
THanks in advance.
home13oy75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 08:47 PM   #4050
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,993
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
That will never happen...LOL.

Maybe I'll talk to the crew about some pink baby doll shirts for you though....
Make sure it matches the new body
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS ESC sensored-pink-body-pic-1.jpg  
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:17 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net