R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-21-2009, 08:35 AM   #3826
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 398
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default 13.5 Temps

Hey all,
I just got a Tekin 13.5 and I had no idea how to gear it. I think I have it about right now, but how should I tell if I have it geared properly? Is there a temp that you suggest to run it at, or a Temp limit?

Thanks

Josh
JoshM20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 08:37 AM   #3827
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
Hey Randy and pals... I keep hearing people talking about "Binding your ESC to your RX"... what is this? Im an old school guy coming back after a 5 year hiatus, and have never had to do this before. On my new car, my Tekin RS pro and my Futaba 603 receiver seem to work together just fine, and I didn't "bind" anything, to anything. What am I missing?
They probably mean recalibrate the radio to the esc.
rebinding also helps if you have a 2.4ghz radio system.
Recalibrating is important especially if you altered nuetral settings.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 08:44 AM   #3828
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor View Post
They probably mean recalibrate the radio to the esc.
rebinding also helps if you have a 2.4ghz radio system.
Recalibrating is important especially if you altered nuetral settings.
I do have a 2.4 gz system... I don't really see any conflicting settings between the hotwire and my 3pk however. It's not like changing my boost settings will affect my EPA or anything. Can you give me an example of what two things tend to need to be "recalibrated"? appreciated.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 08:48 AM   #3829
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,103
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
Hey Randy and pals... I keep hearing people talking about "Binding your ESC to your RX"... what is this? Im an old school guy coming back after a 5 year hiatus, and have never had to do this before. On my new car, my Tekin RS pro and my Futaba 603 receiver seem to work together just fine, and I didn't "bind" anything, to anything. What am I missing?
Since spektrum became the mainstream 2.4 gig radio and you have to "bind" the transmitter to the receiver many people are now calling the original setup (where you set neutral, full throttle, and reverse) the act of "binding" the esc to the radio.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 09:39 AM   #3830
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
Since spektrum became the mainstream 2.4 gig radio and you have to "bind" the transmitter to the receiver many people are now calling the original setup (where you set neutral, full throttle, and reverse) the act of "binding" the esc to the radio.
Correct and also just to make sure your base setting is what it should be.
I have helped a good few guys with esc issues only to find a rebind sorts the issue out and in some cases resetting the radios to max settings on throttle epa etc..
essentially when in doubt go back to basics and start from scratch.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 11:01 AM   #3831
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 398
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshM20 View Post
Hey all,
I just got a Tekin 13.5 and I had no idea how to gear it. I think I have it about right now, but how should I tell if I have it geared properly? Is there a temp that you suggest to run it at, or a Temp limit?

Thanks

Josh
Anyone know about the temp?

Josh
JoshM20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 11:05 AM   #3832
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,103
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshM20 View Post
Anyone know about the temp?

Josh
After a 5 minute race the motor should not be hotter than 180. I aim to keep mine around from 140 to 160. Also, make sure when you temp the motor to shoot the part of the can with the black sticker on it as the reflective silver surface will provide you with a much lower inaccurate reading.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 03:36 PM   #3833
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

We have tested today a Tekin RS Pro and a GM Genius 120.
We started with a testing the GM and after several tests we got the temp to 170.
Lap times were ok. 15,5sec fastest lap.
Then we build in the same car a Tekin RS Pro.
Because he hath to recharge his racing cells, he tested it with a training pack.
We got the temp also about 170. The time in 5 min. of driving was lower.
Also the fastest lap was lower. 15,2sec.
After that we didn't even test any more.
The Tekin is much faster than the GM Genius 120.
All what we did didn't get the GM faster.
Even not with better cells.
even when we got a temp of the motor above the 180. the car didn't go faster than the Tekin. We used the 198 update.

Also the one that drove the car with the GM and the Tekin found that the Tekin was driving smoother than the GM. The car reacted beter than the GM and that made it better to handle the car.
So now only the Turbo for the long tracks and than the Tekin rules on all tracks.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 04:08 PM   #3834
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
We have tested today a Tekin RS Pro and a GM Genius 120.
We started with a testing the GM and after several tests we got the temp to 170.
Lap times were ok. 15,5sec fastest lap.
Then we build in the same car a Tekin RS Pro.
Because he hath to recharge his racing cells, he tested it with a training pack.
We got the temp also about 170. The time in 5 min. of driving was lower.
Also the fastest lap was lower. 15,2sec.
After that we didn't even test any more.
The Tekin is much faster than the GM Genius 120.
All what we did didn't get the GM faster.
Even not with better cells.
even when we got a temp of the motor above the 180. the car didn't go faster than the Tekin. We used the 198 update.

Also the one that drove the car with the GM and the Tekin found that the Tekin was driving smoother than the GM. The car reacted beter than the GM and that made it better to handle the car.
So now only the Turbo for the long tracks and than the Tekin rules on all tracks.
used the engine 7T delta in de GM ESC
higbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 05:04 PM   #3835
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by higbo View Post
used the engine 7T delta in de GM ESC
Drove with a LRP X11 10,5T
Mode 6 in the GM speedo. and the latest software.
Tried to get it faster bud the fastest lap was still 0,3 Sec slower than the Tekin.
On oer track the Tekin is by far the fastest.

We drive on 5 cell.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R

Last edited by mikky32; 05-22-2009 at 03:28 AM.
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 10:50 AM   #3836
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

i d/l the new updated 198 version from tekin website. Uninstalled the program first etc. Installed the new version and now when i start hotwire i get a message in a green box saying that "some of the user values are outside the expected range, your esc may not be compatible with this version of the hotwire"

After that the program starts and i can change my setup and save them to my hotwire. I didn't drive with it yet but is that message intentionaly or is something wrong with the software?
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 10:57 AM   #3837
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 5,058
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2wdrive View Post
i d/l the new updated 198 version from tekin website. Uninstalled the program first etc. Installed the new version and now when i start hotwire i get a message in a green box saying that "some of the user values are outside the expected range, your esc may not be compatible with this version of the hotwire"

After that the program starts and i can change my setup and save them to my hotwire. I didn't drive with it yet but is that message intentionaly or is something wrong with the software?
Mind did the same thing. I put a battery in it and it seemed to be alright on the bench. I guess I will find out tomorrow. I'm still using 194.
__________________
Steve Walter
Sweep Racing USA/ Speed Passion USA/ Karens Famous Cookies (Transporter)
SRW141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 11:02 AM   #3838
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,187
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default problem????

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2wdrive View Post
i d/l the new updated 198 version from tekin website. Uninstalled the program first etc. Installed the new version and now when i start hotwire i get a message in a green box saying that "some of the user values are outside the expected range, your esc may not be compatible with this version of the hotwire"

After that the program starts and i can change my setup and save them to my hotwire. I didn't drive with it yet but is that message intentionaly or is something wrong with the software?
You 2 are having the same problem as: http://www.rctech.net/forum/5845774-post146.html

There might be a issue with it.
__________________
Rick "Blue" Sieboldt - Mooresville, NC
* Associated T5M * Tekin * TQ Wire *
www.tqracing.com/rc_products.htm For all your wire needs
lidebt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 11:07 AM   #3839
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

how is that possible? With the other versions i had no problems? Only with this new version i got this message? I didn't check 1S or anything. When i d/l it and installed it i imediatly got that message.

Must be a glitch of some kind as more people have the same message
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 01:19 PM   #3840
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2wdrive View Post
how is that possible? With the other versions i had no problems? Only with this new version i got this message? I didn't check 1S or anything. When i d/l it and installed it i imediatly got that message.

Must be a glitch of some kind as more people have the same message
No problems here
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:31 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net