R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-10-2009, 10:27 AM   #3691
Tech Adept
 
Wall Banger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 166
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfman864 View Post
The voltage cutoff was disabled on mine. But now when I try to apply new settings I get the error codes.
I am not sure about the error codes in the programing. The flashing lites on the esc when powered on means low battery. I do not have the novac booster, so I am not sure how you need to wire it in. My booster is wired in between the battery and the receiver, lipo cutoff is off and the power switch for the esc is off. You might try going back to 189 or earlier, setup the settings then try to run the car. I have seen an rs lockup and we had to go back on the versions and then bring it forward to the current version.
Wall Banger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 10:06 PM   #3692
Tech Fanatic
 
wolfman864's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Salem, Or
Posts: 770
Send a message via AIM to wolfman864 Send a message via Yahoo to wolfman864
Default

I think I got it figured out, I completely zeroed out the speed control, so now I need to wire it back in and give it a shot. for some reason I can only get versions 178 and 180, but not version 198 that was the hot ticket for 1cell lipo
__________________
You can get a lot done with a really big gun
If ya want to race after 9pm, take it to KMart!!!
Team Convoy and proud driver of the Battle Wagon!!!!
Somebody call Amber Lamps!!!
wolfman864 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 08:25 AM   #3693
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfman864 View Post
I think I got it figured out, I completely zeroed out the speed control, so now I need to wire it back in and give it a shot. for some reason I can only get versions 178 and 180, but not version 198 that was the hot ticket for 1cell lipo
uhm... download it from the website? Here, you can get it here:

http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire.html
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 09:55 AM   #3694
Tech Fanatic
 
wolfman864's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Salem, Or
Posts: 770
Send a message via AIM to wolfman864 Send a message via Yahoo to wolfman864
Default

thanks for the link I'll give it a shot. The update feature directly from the hotwire program said differently.
__________________
You can get a lot done with a really big gun
If ya want to race after 9pm, take it to KMart!!!
Team Convoy and proud driver of the Battle Wagon!!!!
Somebody call Amber Lamps!!!
wolfman864 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 02:07 PM   #3695
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Behind my Tx
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Please pardon my ignorance but I'm quite new to brushless tech. I have recently got my RS Pro and I must say its really quite an engineering feat to behold.

As I managed to get a new Speed Passion Comp V1.0 4.5 turn for a steal this was what I ran on my new RS Pro. My FDR is around 8.9 on a touring car. However, I noticed that the Speed Passion motor ran quite a bit hotter than my old Novak 4.5R on a GTB with the same FDR on the same car.

My question is whether different motors of the same turn no. will have very different running temps and whether the ESC used plays a part in this.

Thanks a lot and congrats on an excellent product.
radwerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 02:18 PM   #3696
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,102
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radwerx View Post
Please pardon my ignorance but I'm quite new to brushless tech. I have recently got my RS Pro and I must say its really quite an engineering feat to behold.

As I managed to get a new Speed Passion Comp V1.0 4.5 turn for a steal this was what I ran on my new RS Pro. My FDR is around 8.9 on a touring car. However, I noticed that the Speed Passion motor ran quite a bit hotter than my old Novak 4.5R on a GTB with the same FDR on the same car.

My question is whether different motors of the same turn no. will have very different running temps and whether the ESC used plays a part in this.

Thanks a lot and congrats on an excellent product.
The same turn motors from different manufacturers basically without fail have different torque, rpm, and heat characteristics. My novak motors seemed to have more torque compared to others and I usually ended a tooth or two above similar turn motors. I don't have firsthand experience with the SP motors, but reading peoples findings online they seemed to have more rpm and so using the same gearing form a novak motor would produce more heat. If the motor is running too hot (Over 180 F) then gear down a couple teeth.

Also, do you have a hotwire to allow programming via the computer? If the motor is still running too hot you are able to adjust the timing to bring temps in check that way as well.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 03:11 PM   #3697
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radwerx View Post
Please pardon my ignorance but I'm quite new to brushless tech. I have recently got my RS Pro and I must say its really quite an engineering feat to behold.

As I managed to get a new Speed Passion Comp V1.0 4.5 turn for a steal this was what I ran on my new RS Pro. My FDR is around 8.9 on a touring car. However, I noticed that the Speed Passion motor ran quite a bit hotter than my old Novak 4.5R on a GTB with the same FDR on the same car.

My question is whether different motors of the same turn no. will have very different running temps and whether the ESC used plays a part in this.

Thanks a lot and congrats on an excellent product.
If you didn't already do it, install a fan on the chassis to blow against the posts and install a bigger cap or two original caps. Or the cap will explode and your electronics will get cooked.
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 03:30 PM   #3698
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfman864 View Post
thanks for the link I'll give it a shot. The update feature directly from the hotwire program said differently.
When you are in the hotwire program, attached to your speedo... you then have to update your ESC so it matches... like a firmware. There is a button on the far right that says something like "update ESC" or something... it takes about a minute, and there is 4 steps. Then it will say 198 instead of 180 as the "current version".
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:49 PM   #3699
Tech Elite
 
chris moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Phx AZ
Posts: 3,780
Trader Rating: 88 (99%+)
Default

So any news on the 198 1s issue, fixed or still in the works?
__________________
Sponsered by:

CMDezigns Paint Works
https://www.facebook.com/pages/CM-Dezigns/259989190822177?ref=hl
chris moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 09:07 PM   #3700
Tech Fanatic
 
wolfman864's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Salem, Or
Posts: 770
Send a message via AIM to wolfman864 Send a message via Yahoo to wolfman864
Default

got it fixed!!! I zeroed out the firmware on the ESC and downloaded the new patch and everything is good now!!!
__________________
You can get a lot done with a really big gun
If ya want to race after 9pm, take it to KMart!!!
Team Convoy and proud driver of the Battle Wagon!!!!
Somebody call Amber Lamps!!!
wolfman864 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 09:55 PM   #3701
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

I've got the repaired verison of 198 in my hand. Testing to be completed shortly...
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 09:58 PM   #3702
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
I've got the repaired verison of 198 in my hand. Testing to be completed shortly...
That's like waiving a tri-tip in front of a dog then walking away. Just wrong....
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 12:59 AM   #3703
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Behind my Tx
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2wdrive View Post
If you didn't already do it, install a fan on the chassis to blow against the posts and install a bigger cap or two original caps. Or the cap will explode and your electronics will get cooked.
Hi. It is absolutely necessary to solder in another cap? The ESC is only showing about 3 leds worth of temp. Its the motor that's running hotter. Please advise. Btw I'm running 2S Lipo (4000mAh and 20C)
radwerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 01:05 AM   #3704
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Behind my Tx
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
The same turn motors from different manufacturers basically without fail have different torque, rpm, and heat characteristics. My novak motors seemed to have more torque compared to others and I usually ended a tooth or two above similar turn motors. I don't have firsthand experience with the SP motors, but reading peoples findings online they seemed to have more rpm and so using the same gearing form a novak motor would produce more heat. If the motor is running too hot (Over 180 F) then gear down a couple teeth.

Also, do you have a hotwire to allow programming via the computer? If the motor is still running too hot you are able to adjust the timing to bring temps in check that way as well.
Nope I haven't got the Hotwire interface as my budget didn't allow me to get that together with my esc. That will come eventually though, just now at this point of time. So in your opinion I should gear the system down even more? 'Cos I'm now running a 107T spur and 25T pinion which I feel is rather miniscule already. Haha. Its rather hard to find even smaller pinions.
radwerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 07:27 AM   #3705
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,102
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radwerx View Post
Nope I haven't got the Hotwire interface as my budget didn't allow me to get that together with my esc. That will come eventually though, just now at this point of time. So in your opinion I should gear the system down even more? 'Cos I'm now running a 107T spur and 25T pinion which I feel is rather miniscule already. Haha. Its rather hard to find even smaller pinions.
If you feel you already have some top end you aren't using on the track, then yes I would try to gear down. But my main point is the motor may be running hotter, but still within the acceptable limits. Temp guns are more valuable in electric rc than most imagine.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:00 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net