R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-07-2009, 11:13 AM   #3631
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RKP3.3 View Post
Hey, I just purchased a new RS speed control and need to reverse my throttle, which is fine but when I power it off and power it back up I have to reverse the thottle back to standard then back to reverse. Is this normal? Also when on it has a high pitch whine to it? I'm using a DX3s for a radio with a SR 300 reciever. Any ideas or is this just normal

Kelly
Usually you have to reverse the throttle with Futaba radios -- haven't heard much about that with Spektrum. Once you switch it you shouldn't have to do it again like you are.

It should also be stone silent when just sitting there. I would guess that you have your neutral width set really narrow or your throttle out of trim. If there's a little bit of throttle signal going through it'll make a little whine like that.

If you open up your neutral width a bit and check your throttle trim I would wager both your problems will go away.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 11:31 AM   #3632
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RKP3.3 View Post
Hey, I just purchased a new RS speed control and need to reverse my throttle, which is fine but when I power it off and power it back up I have to reverse the thottle back to standard then back to reverse. Is this normal? Also when on it has a high pitch whine to it? I'm using a DX3s for a radio with a SR 300 reciever. Any ideas or is this just normal

Kelly
Kelly,

I'm not very familiar with the DX3S, but I have a DX3R which I think is somewhat similar. On my DX3R the throttle was a little jumpy when I first got it. THere was a menu in the DX3R where you could recalibrate the wheel and trigger,it was called "reset" and if the DX3S has a similar function you might want to look in the manual and go through the process. IT calmed my trigger down with the DX3R.

If the throttle output from the transmitter is a little jumpy, the RS may not see a neutral signal when you power it up. That may be why you need to keep reversing and re-reversing the throttle channel to get it to initialize.

A wider neutral width can help, but if you DO have a jumpy throttle output, the best thing to do is calm that down first.

That high pitched whine you're hearing when it's powered on is the speed control applying a tiny bit of power to the motor, enough to make the sound, but not enough to make it spin. That is not a normal condition. When the trigger is in neutral, the RS and motor should be silent.
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 02:22 PM   #3633
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 26
Send a message via MSN to nelarozi
Default

How much timing boost would you recommend on a SpeedPassion 3.5T v2.0 motor with timing option set to 2.
nelarozi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 02:26 PM   #3634
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,102
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nelarozi View Post
How much timing boost would you recommend on a SpeedPassion 3.5T v2.0 motor with timing option set to 2.
For mod motors it is not suggested to use sensored only and boost. For a 3.5 set it in dual (hybrid) mode and put the timing slider at 30 or 40.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 02:32 PM   #3635
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 26
Send a message via MSN to nelarozi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
For mod motors it is not suggested to use sensored only and boost. For a 3.5 set it in dual (hybrid) mode and put the timing slider at 30 or 40.
As i understand the sensored motor workes better if it is in sensored mode only. Many guys wrote that they lack speed on the straight when using the dual mode.

I was thinking i could use the nr. 2 timing option and about 5-10 boost (out of 30)
nelarozi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 02:34 PM   #3636
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
For mod motors it is not suggested to use sensored only and boost. For a 3.5 set it in dual (hybrid) mode and put the timing slider at 30 or 40.
uhm.. isn't 30 the max?
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 03:00 PM   #3637
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

When the RS is in dual mode the "timing advance" setting is a percentage value 0% to 100% (100% = 30 degrees), in sensored only the "timing advance" option changes to "timing boost" which you then set in actual degrees of timing between 0 and 30.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 03:12 PM   #3638
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitee View Post
When the RS is in dual mode the "timing advance" setting is a percentage value 0% to 100% (100% = 30 degrees), in sensored only the "timing advance" option changes to "timing boost" which you then set in actual degrees of timing between 0 and 30.
ahh yes.. im still learning all the features. thanks for the clarification.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 03:51 PM   #3639
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
ahh yes.. im still learning all the features. thanks for the clarification.
the timing advance can get a little confusing when you first look at it until you now what it is,just remember to divide the number by 3.33 and you get your timing deg.
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 05:51 PM   #3640
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,102
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nelarozi View Post
As i understand the sensored motor workes better if it is in sensored mode only. Many guys wrote that they lack speed on the straight when using the dual mode.

I was thinking i could use the nr. 2 timing option and about 5-10 boost (out of 30)
I have never heard of anyone lacking speed when using dual mode and a "mod" motor. It is definitely recommended to use sensored only and boost with higher turn "spec" motors like a 10.5, 13.5, or 17.5. If 30-40 on dual mode isn't fast enough and your temps are in check you can keep cranking up the timing.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 07:42 PM   #3641
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Listen to the group, they're all right.

IN dual mode max timing is 30 degrees. When dual mode is selected the bar will read "Timing Advance."

When in sensored only mode the timing is what is set in the motor AND what is set in the speedo boost. When sensored only mode is selected the timing bar will read "Timing Boost."

For a 3.5 run dual mode and timing at 40-60 to start. There should not be a lack of speed in mod.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 08:17 PM   #3642
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
I have never heard of anyone lacking speed when using dual mode and a "mod" motor. It is definitely recommended to use sensored only and boost with higher turn "spec" motors like a 10.5, 13.5, or 17.5. If 30-40 on dual mode isn't fast enough and your temps are in check you can keep cranking up the timing.
I have to agree i've been playing with the timing slide since i still have a novak 6.5 in my buggy and found less than 60 on the timing it lost a tone of overall power but up near 70 has a tone of bottom with lots of top and its geared low but still pulls hard down straight like a 5.5
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 06:27 AM   #3643
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

i run my pro10 with a 4.5t novak and i tinkerd with the dual mode a lot. I had a laptop on the track. With every setting i found it was lacking speed on the strait when it was going over on sensorless. Beginning was wicked fast when it was sensord but once in sensorless there really wasn't any speed left. I began timing very low and had timing till 80 or 90. Tempetures were ok. After i put it even higher it began to stutter in sensorless mode.

Could be that i didn't find the sweet spot yet but after 3 days of trying out on the circuit i put it on sensord and now it is working how it should be. A little less rollout then i normaly run and i have speed from the start and it keeps going building up speed till the end. So probably i still have to test the dual mode a lot to find the right spot but for now i will just run it in sensord during the races. It really is much simpler and less frustration :-).

I run now rollout of around 29.5mm on quite big 1/8 tracks with timing on 9. Any higher timing and the motor will stutter like mad. I think the novak motors have a standard timing of 12.

I did find that the esc ran a lot hotter in sensord mode then in dual mode. Probably the esc needs to do a lot more work? A fan is really needed if you don't want to get backed electronics.

Last edited by 2wdrive; 05-08-2009 at 07:10 AM.
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 06:58 AM   #3644
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
10v caps will work as long as you stick to 2s. The RS is rated up to 3s so it comes with the appropriate cap.
i only run 2s lipo so that will work ok then thanks!!!
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 08:44 AM   #3645
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Will there be any future plans to develop and release hotwire software for windows 7?

I only ask as i'm looking at getting a new laptop in a few months, and windows 7 is due out in the latter part of 2009 (And we all know how slow Vista is )....
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:12 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net