R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2009, 12:40 AM   #3571
Tech Master
 
over gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,096
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

just installed 198. I notice that highest Throttle Profile is "CST". what is that?

also, there is a "reverse motor" check box on the right. what is that?
over gear is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 12:57 AM   #3572
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

If you put the cursor over the function, it will tell you what it means. Reverse motor will make the motor run backwards. Kinda like wiring a brushed motor backwards. Its for cars that mount the motor in an opposite way.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 06:06 AM   #3573
Tech Fanatic
 
lutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kearny, NJ
Posts: 806
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
194 and 198 have the same "drive" properties. Boost settings and other settings can be matched up with 194.

The defaults have been changed though and this is why your recoil is faster now. The timing advance was brought up to a higher default.
Sounds good Randy, I really like how it woke up my little 4 pole motor. What surprised me the most is how smooth it is now on start ups. Before the update, it would stutter a little and then go, now it doesn't do it anymore.
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BikJALhTd8s
http://www.rc-monster.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8651
http://www.cnn.com/2008/HEALTH/conditions/04/01/autism.ireports/index.html (My daughter's video is the last one)
lutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 08:09 AM   #3574
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
Well updated my Tekin RS Pro to 198. No issues here. I uninstalled my Tekin Hotwire off of my Acer One netbook from the Control Panel. Then I installed the new software. Then hooked up my esc to the USB, started up the program. Then applied the new 198 to my 194. No issues.
I tried it and still I am getting the same error message....
NUCRPTRACER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 08:43 AM   #3575
Tech Elite
 
chris moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Phx AZ
Posts: 3,780
Trader Rating: 88 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wall Banger View Post
I have the same problem with 198, the 1s box does not stay checked.
I have checked the install of the software. loaded and reload 198 to the esc and still the same problem. Also with 198 how is the booster wired in?
Bump to solve this issue; Randy inay ideas?
__________________
Sponsered by:

CMDezigns Paint Works
https://www.facebook.com/pages/CM-Dezigns/259989190822177?ref=hl
chris moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 10:18 AM   #3576
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

Looks like we messed up on the 1S checkbox in the final rev. It is setting 1S in the controller even thought it is not showing it when plugged back in to the hotwire. Unfortunatly that means you cannot uncheck the 1S and get back to normal.

If you select 1S and save settings you have to do a factory reset on the unit to get it back to normal operation.

Chris (hotwire engineer) is gone climbing mountains in Canada this week so we might have to pull this new version off the web until he returns and it can be fixed. It appears fully functional in all other areas. Sorry for the mistake

Tekin Prez
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com

Last edited by Tekin Prez; 05-03-2009 at 10:48 AM.
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 10:21 AM   #3577
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 131
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i cant say anything about 1s functionality... otherwise 198 worked well for me.

May I suggest however (again ) to drop the nice looking graphics in the UI to a more functional one that easy to see what you have selected and easier to control.

Is it just me that when i put the mouse on the slider it's extremely difficult to move more than a couple of points at a time? you have to point to it again and click and drag again to move a futher couple of points...

granted u can use the up down arrows, etc...

g
gortan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 10:24 AM   #3578
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
Looks like we messed up on the 1S checkbox in the final rev. It is setting 1S in the controller even thought it is not showing it when plugged back in to the hotwire. Unfortunatly that means you cannot uncheck the 1S and get back to normal.

If you select 1S and save settings you have to do a factory reset on the unit to get it back to normal operation.

Chris (hotwire engineer) is gone climbing mountains in Canada this week so we might have to pull this new version off the web until he returns and it can be fixed. It appears fully functional in all other areas. Sorry for the mistake

Tekin Prez
If this were mission impossible you would fly a chopper out to him where he's climbing and get the update done on the side of the mountain.... Keep up the good work and re structure Randy's contract that states he MUST run touring car with us 1-2 times a month
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 10:49 AM   #3579
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
Keep up the good work and re structure Randy's contract that states he MUST run touring car with us 1-2 times a month
HA!
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 11:06 AM   #3580
Tech Adept
 
C van der Hagen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JL View Post
Over the last week I've installed my new RS Pro and Redline 10.5, installed the 194 software (Thanks Randy) and read ALL 235 pages of this thread!

This is my first brushless system and I'd like some advice please. Any advice for boost/timing set up and gearing for my home track would be very much appreciated.

It's 160 x 90ft asphalt in a TC with lipo. With a brushed 19t motor I'm generally geared between 4.8 - 5.0 if that helps.

Same question (same combo, RS + Redline 10.5) for 5 cell racing.
__________________
http://www.facebook.com/SepesRacingProducts
C van der Hagen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 11:13 AM   #3581
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Similiar answer:

I'd go out with 10 on the motor and 20 on the boost to start out. Keep your current FDR and run it at race speeds for half a run. Pull it off and check motor temps making sure they're in line. If they are quickly finish the run and temp the motor again. Make a gearing adjustment or timing adjustment based off of that.

If the motor comes off super cool, go up a pinion. If the it's close compare speeds with others and make a call there. If you decide to add more timing make sure to drop a pinion for every 3-5 on the timing.

Always check motor temps after a change.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 12:26 PM   #3582
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gortan View Post
i cant say anything about 1s functionality... otherwise 198 worked well for me.

May I suggest however (again ) to drop the nice looking graphics in the UI to a more functional one that easy to see what you have selected and easier to control.

Is it just me that when i put the mouse on the slider it's extremely difficult to move more than a couple of points at a time? you have to point to it again and click and drag again to move a futher couple of points...

granted u can use the up down arrows, etc...

g
Good point on the graphics. I would also rather would want to have simpler and functional graphics.
(even though it looks good)
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 12:47 PM   #3583
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NUCRPTRACER View Post
Any of you guys ever get a message that reads"cannot connect to database" thats all I get when I click on the hotwire ICON....XP
Any other suggestions on how or what I can do to fix this? xp,Acer netbook

Just figured it out if anyone else has this issuie go to windows help and download .netframework update....fixed immediately...

Last edited by NUCRPTRACER; 05-03-2009 at 12:59 PM.
NUCRPTRACER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 02:09 PM   #3584
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
If this were mission impossible you would fly a chopper out to him where he's climbing and get the update done on the side of the mountain....
And all because the Lady loves 'Milk Tray' or could it be 'Milk Tekin'
CCFM
__________________
ARC 2013 model ZEN Racing, MM-UK, HW 3.1, Rich Paints, MM UK Rug Racers win13.5 2007/8
2nd in 2008/9/10 Win Ansman GP 2010 Schumacher GP. 17.5 blinky Winner of STCC 2009/10 13.5 WLRC 2010 Summer series. Winner of EWS Winter. 17.5 Blinky Winner of 2012/13/14 Rug Racers. 17.5 Blinky 2013 WLRC summer series. Newbury RCC GP 2014 17.5 Blinky 2015 3rd in 17.5 Rug Racers
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 02:26 PM   #3585
JL
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 116
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
JL, keep your rollout and go with 5 on the motor and 20 on the boost to start out. Check motor temps and make a gearing adjustment based off that.

Most guys on the team are landing with 5-10 on the motor and 20-30 on the boost. Total timing between the two is going to land around 30-35.

Also,

New software posted on the website:

http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire.html
Thanks for the tip Randy,

A few hours at the track today had my car pretty much up to speed with the quickest guys at my track.

I kept boost on 20 and ended up with 10 on the motor.

At the same gearing, would 25 on boost and 5 on the motor give me a little more zip out of corners and a little more rpm on the straight?
JL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:56 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net