R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-10-2008, 06:16 AM   #331
Tech Elite
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omoser View Post
well not being connected to team tekin other than having their RS speedo, i cannot tell you that, but i would love the idea to write a linux client for the RS. Would save me from running vmware everytime i want to change a setting :-)
Dammmmit!!! I just spent an entire evening installing vista on my debian laptop because i didn't think linux would pass the usb to vmware properly. I guess i should ave posted first heheh oh well. I'd love a linux client too, i only have vista on my laptop now to run hotwire.
__________________
www.skyrocketracing.com quality RC gear!
http://www.rctech.net/forum/racing-forum/555071-2011-skyrocket-invitational-blue-diamond-raceway-october-15-16-a.html <- Great race!
YmeBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 07:41 AM   #332
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YmeBP View Post
Dammmmit!!! I just spent an entire evening installing vista on my debian laptop because i didn't think linux would pass the usb to vmware properly. I guess i should ave posted first heheh oh well. I'd love a linux client too, i only have vista on my laptop now to run hotwire.
i did not expect it to work either, but gladly vmware is pretty flexible in this regard :-)
omoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 07:45 AM   #333
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I honestly dont understand why hotwire requires a PC unless Im missing something. It seems all the settings could be programmed on the ESC without the use of a laptop similar to what speedpassion is doing. Its doesnt seem nearly as flexible as the Castle software that would require the use of a PC.

Fred_B thanks for the info. Ive emailed them. Waiting for a response. My LHS said there has been trouble contacting Tekin recently to the point that some people were asking if they were still in business (which obviously they appear to be!). Guess they are just busy getting the RS out to market as well as the new lipos.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 09:12 AM   #334
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Depends what USB driver they're using. If it's just something generic (like USB to serial) it would probably be easy to make changes from any OS. I'm guessing the fine folks at Tekin aren't writing any fancy USB drivers, especially since the client is written in, what, .NET? Maybe I'll tinker with the Hotwire when it shows up and see what I can find.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 09:16 AM   #335
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Depends what USB driver they're using. If it's just something generic (like USB to serial) it would probably be easy to make changes from any OS. I'm guessing the fine folks at Tekin aren't writing any fancy USB drivers, especially since the client is written in, what, .NET? Maybe I'll tinker with the Hotwire when it shows up and see what I can find.
Yes its written in .net. Seems more like a product that was fun to develop then really all that useful.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 09:21 AM   #336
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Eh, .net is probably okay. It's cheap & easy to find people to code it. :-)
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 09:33 AM   #337
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

wasnt knocking .net. Just saying the functionality of the hotwire could be put in a programming box like speedpassion. If you are going to force using a pc to program then at least add the feature castle has on theirs.

It seems like hotwire was a fun/interesting project for someone but its usefullness to the user isnt all that great (esp if you could change the timing another way).
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 09:38 AM   #338
Tech Regular
 
Mini_Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omoser View Post
i did not expect it to work either, but gladly vmware is pretty flexible in this regard :-)

I don't suppose wine would work with .net installed (can it install .net as it is?). Would be more direct than vmware.
__________________
*Have a question on the M18/T line of vehicles? Check the (unofficial) FAQ.
http://forum.teamxray.com/viewtopic.php?t=2524

*Need help finding an Xray supplier? Check the dealer/distributor database.
http://www.teamxray.com/teamxray/other/worldwide.php
Mini_Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 10:18 AM   #339
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
wasnt knocking .net. Just saying the functionality of the hotwire could be put in a programming box like speedpassion. If you are going to force using a pc to program then at least add the feature castle has on theirs.

It seems like hotwire was a fun/interesting project for someone but its usefullness to the user isnt all that great (esp if you could change the timing another way).
Can the Speedpassion ESC's have its firmware updated?

I don't know the exact details, but I think the challenge is that if you use USB (probably best for firmware updates), then a handheld box wouldn't work without a USB BUS, which is non-trivial. If you make the ESC just serial (for flipping bits) you could use a box, but might lose the option for firmware updates (Speedpassion?). Perhaps you could add both interfaces? I wonder if that's what Losi did, 'cause their setup appears to allow both a programming box or a full USB setup w/firmware updates. My hardware-fu is a little weak.

Anyway, based on my understanding of USB programming, it would probably be pretty easy to sniff the USB in windows to see what the software is doing, and then implement that in some other OS. The firmware update probably just sends a start bit, dumps the image data, and then a stop bit. Presumably, the ESC would validate the image before flashing. But, that's all guesswork on my part, based on how I've seen other devices work. If my life ever slows down a bit, I may tear into it and try reversing the protocol for fun.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 11:03 AM   #340
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Can the Speedpassion ESC's have its firmware updated?

I don't know the exact details, but I think the challenge is that if you use USB (probably best for firmware updates), then a handheld box wouldn't work without a USB BUS, which is non-trivial. If you make the ESC just serial (for flipping bits) you could use a box, but might lose the option for firmware updates (Speedpassion?). Perhaps you could add both interfaces? I wonder if that's what Losi did, 'cause their setup appears to allow both a programming box or a full USB setup w/firmware updates. My hardware-fu is a little weak.

Anyway, based on my understanding of USB programming, it would probably be pretty easy to sniff the USB in windows to see what the software is doing, and then implement that in some other OS. The firmware update probably just sends a start bit, dumps the image data, and then a stop bit. Presumably, the ESC would validate the image before flashing. But, that's all guesswork on my part, based on how I've seen other devices work. If my life ever slows down a bit, I may tear into it and try reversing the protocol for fun.
The new verson of the speedpassion can but via a computer. I was referring to on-site track adjustments one would make. seems pointless to require a computer to change timing.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 12:21 PM   #341
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Jim wrote back to me Sounds like Im the lucky winner of the first broken RS.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 12:30 PM   #342
Tech Master
 
JCarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dayton,OH
Posts: 1,244
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Did he say what he thought was wrong with it? Mine is still sealed in the box pending what was going on with yours.
__________________
Gorilla Size Racing

R10 USGT, TRF416 USGT, DB10R, TA05R VTA, R40, RS4 3SS, RS4 super, Savage, Hellfire.

Youthful enthusiasm only rules until old age and common sense exert themselves
JCarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 12:36 PM   #343
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCarr View Post
Did he say what he thought was wrong with it? Mine is still sealed in the box pending what was going on with yours.
No, and Im guessing I wont know for a while.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 12:47 PM   #344
Tech Elite
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mini_Me View Post
I don't suppose wine would work with .net installed (can it install .net as it is?). Would be more direct than vmware.
There is always mono, and from what i hear microsoft themselves are helping mono get .net code running on linux. I just want to be able to modify the settings w/ something small like a nokia n800 or n810 internet tablet vs having to lug a laptop around to make changes.

Tekin folks can you release the code to opensource? I'd liek to not have to run windows.

As far as the usefulness, i also have a b1 (plan to get more of them for my micro cars) and i like the fact that the same interface thingy can be used w/ all their controllers.
__________________
www.skyrocketracing.com quality RC gear!
http://www.rctech.net/forum/racing-forum/555071-2011-skyrocket-invitational-blue-diamond-raceway-october-15-16-a.html <- Great race!
YmeBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 12:54 PM   #345
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
Im having an issue with my RS. My local team driver requested an RMA and never got it and I have as well. Is the tech support dept at Tekin staffed?

...the problem Im having is that the ESC is getting extremely hot. I had one motor where the ESC would shut down after 30 seconds. So I tried another motor and ran it around a bit and the motor was at 135 and the ESC was at 160. Im afraid if I got my motor up to 160 then the ESC would meltdown.

You will be the first to have any units that are not working right.... and it had to be MR. Orbital... Lets get some basics and maybe we take it off line in emails. Anything hot in 30 sec is broke or wired bad.

Motor? Sensored only mode or dual mode. ABC right? What were the leds for heat when measuring 160 on speedo? TC? 2s?

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Depends what USB driver they're using. If it's just something generic (like USB to serial) it would probably be easy to make changes from any OS. I'm guessing the fine folks at Tekin aren't writing any fancy USB drivers, especially since the client is written in, what, .NET? Maybe I'll tinker with the Hotwire when it shows up and see what I can find.
We were using USB drivers, but windows makes that a mess like all things. We now use HID... You stay out of there

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
I honestly dont understand why hotwire requires a PC unless Im missing something. It seems all the settings could be programmed on the ESC without the use of a laptop similar to what speedpassion is doing. Its doesnt seem nearly as flexible as the Castle software that would require the use of a PC.

Fred_B thanks for the info. Ive emailed them. Waiting for a response. My LHS said there has been trouble contacting Tekin recently to the point that some people were asking if they were still in business (which obviously they appear to be!). Guess they are just busy getting the RS out to market as well as the new lipos.
Odd we are cranking 7 days a week many hours a day. Support email might get behind at times.

We could make a handlheld programmer, but it would not give us all the nifty abilities of a software package on a PC. SP allows a few setting on each mode not 1 to 100. It is a limited digit display. The hotwire is sexy, extremely flexible and updateable. We will be adding lots of new features to all the products B1, Fx and minirage that we could not do with a dedicated programmer unless it also updated and was not so digit limited.

You can really access most of the track adjustments right on the speedo very quickly as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by trailranger View Post
Any chance of having User Supported Open-Source programming?
Not happening. The software for BL systems is very proprietary and personal.
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:21 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net