R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-03-2009, 01:35 AM   #3121
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
I got a weird request. Anyone wanna sell me one solder post?

--pakk
Not sure why you'd need one solder post, but you'd be a lot better off having Tekin install it than if you tried to do it yourself.
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 02:05 AM   #3122
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

I picked up a used one and the previous owner took the two batter solder posts off. He included one, but either forgot or lost the other post. I soldered one back in with no problem.

--pakk
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 02:11 AM   #3123
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
I picked up a used one and the previous owner took the two batter solder posts off. He included one, but either forgot or lost the other post. I soldered one back in with no problem.

--pakk
+1 with whats already been said, I would get that sent into Tekin for new solder post(s), as the factory solder is a very high melting point, so I suspect the solder you've used won't cut it, and will melt under high electrical load.
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 02:19 AM   #3124
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

I'm sorry, but that just doesn't make sense. The factory solder may be a higher melting solder, but I am still going to do my own solder at the post. So if you are saying my solder from post to board is going to melt, why wouldn't the solder from post to wire melt? Am I missing something?

I have already emailed tekin requesting one post, if they send me one, great. If I have to send it in, I might just do that or I'll just leave it the way it is with the wires directly to the board.

The reason I made a request here was because I got an instant reply back saying they were out racing.
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 03:12 AM   #3125
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Hi pakk, yes it doesn't sound logical but I will let Randy or someone from engineering to confirm my thoughts, but i'll try explaining it myself.

If the solder used on the base of the posts was the same type that you use to solder the wires on, then the posts would come dis-jointed with the same heat you're using for that process.

Hopefully that explains it
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 03:28 AM   #3126
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
If the solder used on the base of the posts was the same type that you use to solder the wires on, then the posts would come dis-jointed with the same heat you're using for that process.

Hopefully that explains it
That makes perfect sense, but this does not.


Quote:
so I suspect the solder you've used won't cut it, and will melt under high electrical load.
AFAIK, the post are there for a convenience. They make soldering wires to a lot easier than soldering to a PCB. I have also read that they serve as a heat sink. I don't know how much heat they actually dissipate, just what I read. So if your saying that me soldering the post back in will melt, so will every other solder I do on this esc. PCB to post, post to wire, wire to motor, etc...

Unless the post dissipate a large amount of heat(or they server another function) they are just a convenience and theoretically can be removed if desired.

It seems team tekin is away racing right now, so we won't get a response from them for a few days unless they carry their laptops around checking the forums between heats.

but yeah, if someone removed their posts and don't need it. I'll take it from ya.

--pakk
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 03:41 AM   #3127
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
That makes perfect sense, but this does not.




AFAIK, the post are there for a convenience. They make soldering wires to a lot easier than soldering to a PCB. I have also read that they serve as a heat sink. I don't know how much heat they actually dissipate, just what I read. So if your saying that me soldering the post back in will melt, so will every other solder I do on this esc. PCB to post, post to wire, wire to motor, etc...

Unless the post dissipate a large amount of heat(or they server another function) they are just a convenience and theoretically can be removed if desired.

It seems team tekin is away racing right now, so we won't get a response from them for a few days unless they carry their laptops around checking the forums between heats.

but yeah, if someone removed their posts and don't need it. I'll take it from ya.

--pakk
In a way, you're confirming what's already on the table.

Yes, the posts act as a heat sink. So, when you heat up the post, naturally, the lower temperature solder melts first

Unless you hold the iron on the post for too long that is....

Then you could (and yes, it can happen) be dis-jointing the solder on the PCB end of the ESC.

Only even speaking as a team driver, I can tell you for sure you NEED the solder posts in situ, or you risk melting the ESC internals. (And this is the primary reason for having them, they filter the heat away from the ESC).

There are some very small components on those PCB's...
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 03:54 AM   #3128
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

It is kinda hard for me to believe that these post get rid of enough heat to keep this esc from damage and I really hope you're wrong, but I am not going to find out for myself. I'll wait patiently for a definite answer.

Thanks for your help.

--pakk
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 03:58 AM   #3129
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
It is kinda hard for me to believe that these post get rid of enough heat to keep this esc from damage and I really hope you're wrong, but I am not going to find out for myself. I'll wait patiently for a definite answer.

Thanks for your help.

--pakk
Think of it more as a heat "barrier" than a way of possibly ruining the ESC by not using the posts and soldering directly onto the PCB.

I'll let engineering or Randy fine tune the specifics of the solder post question though.

You're welcome
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 04:30 AM   #3130
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 538
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Not sure if this is a silly question or not but here goes.
Will the receiver plug wear out/become loose with the plugging in and out of receiver/hotwire?
stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 04:42 AM   #3131
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stocker View Post
Not sure if this is a silly question or not but here goes.
Will the receiver plug wear out/become loose with the plugging in and out of receiver/hotwire?
I havn't heard of any issues concerning this as of yet, so I would say the chances are very rare.

Being heavy handed and pulling with the wires is a big no no, as you'd stretch the insulation. Or even worse break / weaken the tiny guage 3 core wire.

The sockets that the reciever pins go into are pretty robust when enclosed in the black plug housing
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 05:17 AM   #3132
Tech Master
 
miller tyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,712
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stocker View Post
Not sure if this is a silly question or not but here goes.
Will the receiver plug wear out/become loose with the plugging in and out of receiver/hotwire?
I have Receivers and Servos 20 plus years old, and believe me they have been and are still bounced from car to car regularly, no issue at all with repetative plugging and unplugging receiver leads.
__________________
Ken Miller
RCTarget - Capricorn - Pro Level RC - MAX Power - Maxima Fuel - EA Motorsorts - TQ Wire

LONG LIVE OPEN MODIFIED
miller tyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 07:40 AM   #3133
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reenmachine View Post
What FDR? I'm guessing 4.2+.
Actually running an FDR of 4.9 since the local track was reconfigured and there's a ton of on-off throttle now.
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 09:41 AM   #3134
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryLeach View Post
Actually running an FDR of 4.9 since the local track was reconfigured and there's a ton of on-off throttle now.
Wow...I knew it would be 4.2+ but not that +++++! That explains your tire-squealing rip and low temps though.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 10:04 AM   #3135
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reenmachine View Post
Wow...I knew it would be 4.2+ but not that +++++! That explains your tire-squealing rip and low temps though.
Running the 189 software at the same FDR, temps were around 170 and not as much tire spin.

I was surprised that I ended up at a such a high FDR, but it's what the motor wants, and I'm not giving up any top speed to anyone else, so I'll just roll with it.
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:20 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net