R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-31-2009, 01:04 AM   #3076
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,652
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Hi all

Recieved the RS today. Also Cannon lent me his hotwire unit to. Many thanks Greg

Now just trying to set it up. Ill be running 17.5. So i assume

-throttle profile i max out
- Motor Type BL-FW
- Do i crank the timing to the max???

So so far settings are:

Drag Brake - off
Reverse Strength - OFF
brake Strength - 80
Neutral Width - 75
Motor Type - BL-FW
Throttle Profile - Custom but doesnt give me any options????
Voltage Cutoff - 2
Push Control - Off
Timing - 100
Current Limit - Off

Any help would be good, switched from the TC Spec so not use to so many features

Thanks

Alex
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*INFINITY * R1 WURKS * PLAIG BEARINGS* SPEEDY RC
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 02:00 AM   #3077
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

The throttle profile says custom because you changed the neutral width. Your Neutral width is too high by the way try something like 10 for neutral width.

If you want to run maxed motor timing then add around 10 boost on the RS to give you 35 total timing other wise run 0 timing on the motor and and max boost on the RS to take advantage of the timing boost in the 1.89 and 1.94 software.

Maybe you should set your throttle profile to 3 and then go more aggressive with it if your temps are in line.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 07:30 AM   #3078
Moderator
 
J.Whiting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: a very small town in wisconsin that is in the middle of absolutely no where
Posts: 4,536
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

i was trying the different throttle profile yesterday. found out #5 setting would raise temp's about 20 deg over the #3 setting. slippery tracks run 1-2 setting med to high bite run #3 setting. setting #4-5 back down boost by 10 deg to get motor cooler. that is what i found out testing yesterday. jeremy
__________________
Jeremy Whiting - serpent america - desoto racing - apicco race engines - RcRenew - jconcepts - Rc Pro Products - ko propo eurus - ko propo servos - VP PowerMaster Fuels - Answer-rc usa - advantage racing products - Parma/pse bodies - serpent 811 2.1 - 811t
J.Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 09:18 AM   #3079
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

I was just reading RedRc (yes I should be working) about the KO speedo software update. And I see that for people who want an upgrade they need to send in their ESC and KO will update it for a small fee. I must say that Tekin has by far exceeded my expectations for an ESC. And when I read about other companies policies I feel good knowing I made the right choice in buying Tekin.

Again good work
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆

Last edited by PitNamedGordie; 03-31-2009 at 09:54 AM. Reason: typo
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 09:25 AM   #3080
Tech Fanatic
 
DHMOTORSPORTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 836
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PitNamedGordie View Post
I was just reading RedRc (yes I should be working) about the KO speedo software update. And I see that for people who want an upgrade they need to send in ther ESC and KO will update it for a small fee. I must say that Tekin has by far exceeded my expectations for an ESC. And when I read about other companies policies I feel good knowing I made the right choice in buying Tekin.

Again good work
Dito.. I agree 100 percent. I love the RS/10.5 combo in 1/12. Now to give it a whirl in 1/10 buggy.. Keep it up guys..
__________________
Trinity / Team Epic / ReVtech Batteries / TRC / F-Bomb Graphix
DHMOTORSPORTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 10:20 PM   #3081
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Rcpoint,

When you click on "current version" does it say 189?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 12:39 AM   #3082
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,652
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitee View Post
The throttle profile says custom because you changed the neutral width. Your Neutral width is too high by the way try something like 10 for neutral width.

If you want to run maxed motor timing then add around 10 boost on the RS to give you 35 total timing other wise run 0 timing on the motor and and max boost on the RS to take advantage of the timing boost in the 1.89 and 1.94 software.

Maybe you should set your throttle profile to 3 and then go more aggressive with it if your temps are in line.
Ok sorta undertanding what your saying but how is it you get the 10 boost and 35 total timing? When on the hotwire unit the punch it goes up to 5, then to 2 custom settings that i can't edit?

Sorry just trying to get my head around this.
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*INFINITY * R1 WURKS * PLAIG BEARINGS* SPEEDY RC
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 01:12 AM   #3083
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Holland
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Rcpoint,

When you click on "current version" does it say 189?
No Randy, it say 194.
__________________
_____________________________________________
Tamiya TRF 417, Fantom Racing
rcpoint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 02:47 AM   #3084
Tech Regular
 
tc4wally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: under your mums bed
Posts: 339
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hi randy.

i sent you a pm the other day with my email address attatched to it about the new 194 software. was just wondering if you got it.

also my hotwire software says version 180, but when trying to update the software it says i have the current version.

any suggestions?
tc4wally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 04:20 AM   #3085
Tech Addict
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kid TT-01 View Post
Ok sorta undertanding what your saying but how is it you get the 10 boost and 35 total timing? When on the hotwire unit the punch it goes up to 5, then to 2 custom settings that i can't edit?

Sorry just trying to get my head around this.
Hi Alex,

I think you may be referring to throttle profile when you say punch "up to 5". "Boost" is timing accessed via a separate slider (2nd from the right), this maxes out at 30 degrees. Total 35 degree timing would be calculated as 10 degrees on the RS + 25 on the motor.

Personally, I would go 30deg on the RS & 0 on the motor for 17.5

Also, just check to see whether you are in "sensored only" mode on the hotwire. If you are in "dual" the boost slider will be replaced with timing (expressed in % with max range 100%).

If you are in "sensored only" and still only get the "timing" slider, then you probably have the old v180 software. You will need to upgrade to v189 or the latest v194 ... only these have the boost

Hope that helps

Cheers
Alan
mazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 04:24 AM   #3086
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,652
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Alan

Your a legend, exactly what i was after. I had the settings in dual mode not sensored. So that's what was confusing me. All good now

Thanks heaps

Alex
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*INFINITY * R1 WURKS * PLAIG BEARINGS* SPEEDY RC
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 04:38 AM   #3087
Tech Addict
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kid TT-01 View Post
Alan

Your a legend, exactly what i was after. I had the settings in dual mode not sensored. So that's what was confusing me. All good now

Thanks heaps

Alex
thats cool

Good luck Sunday
mazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 09:23 AM   #3088
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

TC4, yes you should have email.

Point, I still think something is off just because your motor temps were so cool. If motor temps are down and speed is also that leads me to look at the setup. Your hotwire setup is on the money. My other thought is that you may have a motor sensor issue. If this was the case we would continue to drive it in dual mode which would have far less timing than the setup you have. Use the sensor checker and verify your motors sensors are all checking in...
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 12:27 PM   #3089
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 131
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

may i suggest that we have an uninspiring, old fashioned looking, hotwire interface that is perhaps easier to use and more functional?

i'm sure that the cool looking interface is only more pain to the developer

otherwise very happy

anyone with me here?

thanks!
gortan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 12:34 PM   #3090
Tech Master
 
g12314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 1,282
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to g12314 Send a message via Yahoo to g12314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gortan View Post
may i suggest that we have an uninspiring, old fashioned looking, hotwire interface that is perhaps easier to use and more functional?

i'm sure that the cool looking interface is only more pain to the developer

otherwise very happy

anyone with me here?

thanks!
YES! Or at least have the keyboard able to increment the timing in 1 degree steps. Without a real mouse with the laptop pad, it is a PAIN to set the timing.

Jimmy
__________________
"PREPARE TO QUALIFY"
g12314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:36 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net