R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2009, 06:00 AM   #2866
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kid TT-01 View Post
Decided to go with the RS and not the Pro. Only difference is the motor limit isnt it?

I only race spec classes 17.5 and 10.5 so no real need to fork out the extra $$ for the Pro. Ill be ordering the esc tomorrow. Looking forward to see how it compares against the tc spec.
yes the motor limit but also is the RS a bit lighter and smaller.

You will get extra chicanes on the track. It's not that they changed the layout of the track but that are all the other drivers without a Tekin RS

good luck with it, you will notis that you go faster.
mail randy for the update of the 189 software as you have your Tekin. So don't forget to order also a Hotwire.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 06:04 AM   #2867
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,652
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
yes the motor limit but also is the RS a bit lighter and smaller.

You will get extra chicanes on the track. It's not that they changed the layout of the track but that are all the other drivers without a Tekin RS

good luck with it, you will notis that you go faster.
mail randy for the update of the 189 software as you have your Tekin. So don't forget to order also a Hotwire.
yeah the hot wire is on the list. So far the cars been a weapon with the duo and TC Spec, should be even better with the RS .

Thanks..
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*INFINITY * R1 WURKS * PLAIG BEARINGS* SPEEDY RC
A Ilievski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 07:15 AM   #2868
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

with the 10.5, just keep an eye on temps ok, I know with the Pro it isn't an issue, but not really run the RS in 10.5
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 07:29 AM   #2869
Tech Elite
 
2056dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: michigan
Posts: 2,470
Trader Rating: 126 (100%+)
Default gearing help

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
How were your laptimes when you dropped it 5 teeth?

If the grip came up for the main, maybe the agressive throttle profile, coupled with a different gear ratio didnt help?

I'm guessing you've checked for any binding in the transmission.

Just throwing ideas out there to think over.
lap times were ok when i went down 5 teeth and yes i did check for bind and car is good i was hopeing to get temps around 150* i will go to profile 4 and see if that helps any with thegearing when i hit 160* and should i crank the boost all the way up insted of only 21%
__________________
CRC Gen XL / Xray 09 , t2r pro / CW sprint and CW rocket / Kyosho evolva m3 / Tekin rs / Futaba 4pks / Trinity / Dirtburners thanks Bill / 1/8th racers of Toledo / Trex chassi / Summit Race way / Stateline
LAZER SPEEDWAY where all else IS just a parking lot / Hobby Stop West Raceway
2056dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 07:52 AM   #2870
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2056dennis View Post
lap times were ok when i went down 5 teeth and yes i did check for bind and car is good i was hopeing to get temps around 150* i will go to profile 4 and see if that helps any with thegearing when i hit 160* and should i crank the boost all the way up insted of only 21%
yes boost 30 and motor timing 0
start to gear it light and go lighter after each run.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 08:02 AM   #2871
sg1
Tech Elite
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,067
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2056dennis View Post
yep i have rs pro with 189 and im running rubber tire and need help gearing this here is my esc setup
db 40
rs off
bs 85
nw 10
blfw
tp 5
vc off
pc off
tb 21
cl off
sensored only and no motor timing and im running a 13.5 duo on a track that is 36/80 with 80 foot straight but pretty fast layout first run motor was 166* and i went down 5 teeth and motor was 160* and then in the main i went down 3 more teeth and it was 171 * ,and alot hotter then i like and not to mention esc was 130* in the main really need some help here and i started with 100 spur and 41 pinion then went to a 100/36 and then went to a 110 / 33 still hotter then what i want thanks for help and track was med bite on carpet
Hey Dennis,
Try 0 motor and 15 speedo. Then gear up. Worked well in GT over the weekend, motor temp was 135 with only .2 drop off over 6 minutes.
-Wayne
__________________
**Team Scream**Parma/PSE**TQ Wire**Roche**Pemberton**BSR**Graupner/GM**SXT**
sg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 08:35 AM   #2872
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
yes boost 30 and motor timing 0
start to gear it light and go lighter after each run.
+1, I dont have experience of the duo motor, but know the Tekins can favour a boost setting between 20 and 30 in the right application

Take it out for 3 to 4 minutes and check your temperatures.

For bigger tracks, motor timing can be a better option to factor in.
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 09:49 AM   #2873
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default Dual mode in 189 software

I ran the 189 for the first time this weekend. In sensored mode its takes the timing from the motor and the timing in the esc? When your in dual mode does it take the timing from the esc only? Does it really make a difference what the timing on the motor is if its only taking the timing from the esc??

Thanks for the help
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!

Last edited by nitrobeast; 03-16-2009 at 02:26 PM.
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 10:46 AM   #2874
Tech Elite
 
mtveten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,668
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrobeast View Post
I ran the 189 for the first time this weekend. In sensored mode its takes the timing from the motor and the timing in the esc? When your in dual mode does it take the timing from the esc only? Does it really make a difference what the timing on the motor is if its only taking the timing from the esc??

Thankd for the help
The physical motor timing is used at startup before switching to sensorless with the software timing. I'm not sure exactly at what rev point it switches over but I would say its soon enough for the motor timing to have no practice effect.

Mark
mtveten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 11:14 AM   #2875
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Dual mode uses the sensors only for low speed operation, not for any timing calculation.

IF you droppped 5 teeh and you got motor got hotter that sounds to me like the grip came up. Try a setup where you have 5 on the motor and 25 on the boost as a good balance. If you're just a bit overtimed you will only create more motor heat. Try dropping timing back one or two degrees. Chances are you will not feel any loss of speed but you will have a cooler running motor which will last the entire run.

160 isn't unacceptable at race speeds in my opinion.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 12:04 PM   #2876
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 131
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DA_cookie_monst View Post
it reduces motor power, quite a bit, so it allows you to drive to the pits and not just stop dead on the main straight, lol.

thanks cookie

g
gortan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 12:52 PM   #2877
Tech Elite
 
2056dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: michigan
Posts: 2,470
Trader Rating: 126 (100%+)
Default gearing

ok thanks to all that answered about the gearing issue , and just thought it should be cooler but if 160* is not alot to worry about and i will cut back alittle on timing thanks again
__________________
CRC Gen XL / Xray 09 , t2r pro / CW sprint and CW rocket / Kyosho evolva m3 / Tekin rs / Futaba 4pks / Trinity / Dirtburners thanks Bill / 1/8th racers of Toledo / Trex chassi / Summit Race way / Stateline
LAZER SPEEDWAY where all else IS just a parking lot / Hobby Stop West Raceway
2056dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 02:12 PM   #2878
Tech Regular
 
chrislow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toowoomba
Posts: 341
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

hi, are the rated motor limits for the rs and the rs pro for the speedie as is, or if you add fans and caps? if so what are the limits running as is?

chris
chrislow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 02:23 PM   #2879
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,100
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrislow View Post
hi, are the rated motor limits for the rs and the rs pro for the speedie as is, or if you add fans and caps? if so what are the limits running as is?

chris
It depends on what kind of vehicle you are putting it in. The RS is rated down to a 5.5 and in offroad 2wd and 12th scale should handle that motor with just the included cap but you are pushing it. For any 4wd class I recommend the RS pro as it will handle a 4.5 in any car and with 2 caps and a fan you can strap in a 2.5.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 10:45 PM   #2880
P2
Tech Fanatic
 
P2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oahu, Hi
Posts: 865
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Randy,
I got the Hotwire today and hooked it up to my RS. It came up with an error that a value 992 was too high. I pressed continue and tried to update the RS...which failed. Now the Speedo wont power on and the Hotwire doesn't recognize the RS when I connect it (no red light). I tried resetting to the default settings w/no luck. What do I do now?
Thanks,
Paul
__________________
TopRacingUSA | Team EPIC | Thunder Power | OD Racing
P2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:45 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net