Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored >

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Reply

Old 03-09-2009, 11:24 AM
  #2806  
okayplayer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally Posted by Trips View Post
THe only recommendatiopn I can make to you is to gear for lap times, look at the temperature for safety. What I mean is, if you go up and your lap times improve, go up again, just watch the temp and don't let it get over 180F or so.

I find my lap times stop improving by the time I get to 150F, the car doesn't get any faster. THis is in a 1/12 car with 4 cell NIMH battery. I also notice that even though the lap times are the same at 135F and 160F, at 160F there is a noticeable fade in speed late in the run... I believe it is because I'm using more of the batteries capacity and geting the voltage lower.

So... I gear for best lap times with no fade at the end, and look at temperature just to be sure I'm not hurting anything. For off-road, you'll probably be getting into higher temps than me, so consider 180F to be the upper limit.



When your LiPO was down to 3%, what was the voltage... for a 2 cell LiPO, anything above 6 volts should still be safe. From what I know of LiPO, you can run down to 3V per cell safely.
Hi,

Thanks a LOT for the feedback. I just finish charging the lipo - I assume voltage was to 6V if I remember well. but I just put back 3750 mah average. So the lipo was close to be empty. Got another lipo, went down to 17%

I'm used to rc helis and when you have the cutoff ... you know that you have to land ! just weird I didn't notice anything... or maybe I'm going such slow that even with the cutoff I still manage to find it fast enough (really possible)

CÚdric
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 11:39 AM
  #2807  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by okayplayer View Post
Hi,

Thanks a LOT for the feedback. I just finish charging the lipo - I assume voltage was to 6V if I remember well. but I just put back 3750 mah average. So the lipo was close to be empty. Got another lipo, went down to 17%

I'm used to rc helis and when you have the cutoff ... you know that you have to land ! just weird I didn't notice anything... or maybe I'm going such slow that even with the cutoff I still manage to find it fast enough (really possible)

CÚdric
Assume its labelled a 3800mah lipo? It probably holds more then that. Some people on first charge are putting a lot more then the labeled mah in their packs. Many seem to be labeled conservatively.
or8ital is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 11:56 AM
  #2808  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (42)
 
John Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 8,925
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Just wanted to say Thank You to Jim,Randy and Tekin for the support with RS Speedo. This weekend was second large event new RS in my car. I was able to sucure TQ and win in 17.5 touring in the Carolina Touring Car Series first leg after being wrecked on lap 1 going to 10th and having to POWER thru the feild. Amazing speedo I used to run 3.7 ratio and now run 4.35 it has soo much power!!!
John Tag is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 12:01 PM
  #2809  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
Assume its labelled a 3800mah lipo? It probably holds more then that. Some people on first charge are putting a lot more then the labeled mah in their packs. Many seem to be labeled conservatively.
I agree with or8ital here... it's going to be difficult see what is happening just by looking at a...

I'd buy an inexpensive voltmeter to check the voltage of the pack... if it gets below 6V you have a problem... if it doesn't, you're okay.
Trips is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 12:04 PM
  #2810  
okayplayer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally Posted by Trips View Post
I agree with or8ital here... it's going to be difficult see what is happening just by looking at a...

I'd buy an inexpensive voltmeter to check the voltage of the pack... if it gets below 6V you have a problem... if it doesn't, you're okay.
Thanks a lot, will keep you informed.

I'll just check directly at the club with my Hyperion DUO charger.

CÚdric
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 04:29 PM
  #2811  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (38)
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,704
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
If you position your solder posts towards the outside of the chassis where it can get clean air you'd be surprised what that can do.
I've used the ESC behind the battery / infront of the LR tire on the oval car, and it dropped the temp 15 degrees from inside on the chassis. I really keep the post clean of rubber between runs. But it helps.
Grenade10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 09:04 AM
  #2812  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

I have a question about the rotor.
Witch of the 2 rotors has the most torck and wich one the most rpm?
Or what is the difference between them?

#TT2271 12.3mm (stock legal) BL ROTOR
#TT2272 12.5mm (stock legal) BL ROTOR
mikky32 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 09:36 AM
  #2813  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,772
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

The 12.3 rotor will have more rpm since it's smaller diameter creates more air gap. It also has less magnetic mass.

The 12.5 rotor has less air gap and more mass therefore will have mor torque and less rpms.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 10:05 AM
  #2814  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
The 12.3 rotor will have more rpm since it's smaller diameter creates more air gap. It also has less magnetic mass.

The 12.5 rotor has less air gap and more mass therefore will have mor torque and less rpms.
Thanks
and witch one is faster?
or is the 12,5 better for short tracks and the 12,3 for long tracks?
mikky32 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 10:14 AM
  #2815  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (152)
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,395
Trader Rating: 152 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
Thanks
and witch one is faster?
or is the 12,5 better for short tracks and the 12,3 for long tracks?
It is more about feel and I have found that tighter tracks and lower turn motors are better with larger rotors. High turn motors and large tracks are better with smaller rotors.
Krio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 10:17 AM
  #2816  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 472
Default

I am searching every online store for the RS and it seem no one has them when will they hit the stores?
Ramyuras is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 10:24 AM
  #2817  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ramyuras View Post
I am searching every online store for the RS and it seem no one has them when will they hit the stores?
Tower has the RS in stock, and even has a $15 coupon on their home page.
reenmachine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 11:39 AM
  #2818  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (36)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 653
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

.

Last edited by Josh Keller; 09-26-2009 at 06:53 PM.
Josh Keller is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 10:20 AM
  #2819  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Wow, had to retrieve this thread off page 3.

Had a question. Have a RS Pro. Going to run two classes with the same car and need to switch motors quickly and don't want to solder. So I thought about possibly soldering some 3.5mm plugs on the side of the gold posts. Would that cause temp problems on the ESC? It would just be for 17.5 and 21.5. Thanks.
or8ital is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 10:41 AM
  #2820  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
Wow, had to retrieve this thread off page 3.

Had a question. Have a RS Pro. Going to run two classes with the same car and need to switch motors quickly and don't want to solder. So I thought about possibly soldering some 3.5mm plugs on the side of the gold posts. Would that cause temp problems on the ESC? It would just be for 17.5 and 21.5. Thanks.
I did it to and it works great.
didn't had any problems.
mikky32 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service