Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored >

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Reply

Old 02-28-2009, 06:38 PM
  #2656  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
Gone Racin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 614
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default RS esc

Hello, My son runs outdoors rubber tire TC open mod. 4.5LRP X12 big open track, can someone help with good setup for this RS Pro speed control for this motor. Stock settings no HOTWIRE yet. Any HELP. Thanks Ron H,
Gone Racin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 06:55 PM
  #2657  
Tech Master
iTrader: (60)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Tacoma, Wa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

thanks for thhe quick reply.. mission accomplished...gotta love this tekin stuff
todb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 08:05 PM
  #2658  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
xtrememadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: new jersey
Posts: 967
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Sure,

Try running the 7.5 in dual mode, Timing advance at 50, Nuetral width at 10, TP 3. Motor timing set at default(12).
thanx randy
xtrememadness is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 11:39 PM
  #2659  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,207
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

The RS works great with zero physical timing and 100% boost. I bought a second one for my TAwesome05 project.
syndr0me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 02:25 AM
  #2660  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
Posts: 278
Default RS Pro ESC

I like the RS ESC so much that I bought the 3rd RS ESC 2 weeks ago. It went really well in my 1/10 pan car but this morning, the light appeared dim and there is no sound once I switched on the ESC.

The steering works but I cannot move my BL motor. Has anyone else experience this problem?
azmio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 04:14 AM
  #2661  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
miller tyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,881
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by azmio View Post
I like the RS ESC so much that I bought the 3rd RS ESC 2 weeks ago. It went really well in my 1/10 pan car but this morning, the light appeared dim and there is no sound once I switched on the ESC.

The steering works but I cannot move my BL motor. Has anyone else experience this problem?
Sounds like low main battery voltage, priority to the Rx nothing to the motor.
miller tyme is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 04:23 AM
  #2662  
sg1
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,186
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by miller tyme View Post
Sounds like low main battery voltage, priority to the Rx nothing to the motor.
Agree, I had a binding problem once that did the same thing. I rebound the radio and it was fine then.
sg1 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 06:02 AM
  #2663  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 39
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Currently the only version that is available to the public from me is 2.9/ 189

The team is using another version that has some 4 cell improvements.

Once we're satisified that it's as solid as 189 we will let you ALL know and post it on the site.
Good news for the 12th drivers.
Ahmed Aman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 07:40 AM
  #2664  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
Posts: 278
Default

Originally Posted by miller tyme View Post
Sounds like low main battery voltage, priority to the Rx nothing to the motor.
the light is still dim even when fully charged battery is connected to it. Even the hotwire connection wont be able to light up the ESC
azmio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 08:51 AM
  #2665  
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,461
Default

Originally Posted by azmio View Post
I like the RS ESC so much that I bought the 3rd RS ESC 2 weeks ago. It went really well in my 1/10 pan car but this morning, the light appeared dim and there is no sound once I switched on the ESC.

The steering works but I cannot move my BL motor. Has anyone else experience this problem?
Check batteries NiMh or lipos, lipo cut-off, BL or Brushed. ESC soldering & motor solder, may come loose. If soldering connection came loose, Temp problem. Type of motor may have change, Check motor type on onboard(ESC) or on hotwire.
Geezatec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 09:32 AM
  #2666  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (152)
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,459
Trader Rating: 152 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by azmio View Post
the light is still dim even when fully charged battery is connected to it. Even the hotwire connection wont be able to light up the ESC
You need to downgrade and then upgrade the esc software, eg put 180 on and then back to 189. I see this happen on occasion and after refreshing the software you should be good to go.
Krio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 02:34 PM
  #2667  
okayplayer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi,

1/ When I go through the firmware and plug my Tekin RS PRO in the hotwire; after an update check it says that no update is available... but the version displayed is 180...

Is there a problem?

2/ I'm using a Tekin 6.5T on asphalt (rubber & foam) with my 1/10 only sensored mode... any recommended settings to start with ?

Cédric
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 02:46 PM
  #2668  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (64)
 
SpraydbySprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conducting aggressive board meetings at my local track
Posts: 3,301
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by okayplayer View Post
Hi,

1/ When I go through the firmware and plug my Tekin RS PRO in the hotwire; after an update check it says that no update is available... but the version displayed is 180...

Is there a problem?

2/ I'm using a Tekin 6.5T on asphalt (rubber & foam) with my 1/10 only sensored mode... any recommended settings to start with ?

Cédric
I'm guessing you have Windows Vista and tried to re install the 1.89 version into your computer after uninstalling the old version on your computer. If so check this out.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...ml#post5231294

Read post #1867. This should help.
SpraydbySprague is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 02:50 PM
  #2669  
okayplayer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for the reply but... I'm running Windows XP

I uninstalled Tekin Hotwire, then downloaded the "latest" from here :
http://teamtekin.com/hotwire.html

After launching the program, I click Yes to check for updates... it says no updates found for your ESC.

After that I go to the tekin hotwire program and current version is displayed : 180.

2/ Any ideas on the 6.5T recommended settings?

Cédric

Last edited by okayplayer; 03-01-2009 at 03:10 PM.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 03:10 PM
  #2670  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

You can't download the 189 update yet but if you send me you e-mail in a pm i will send it to you.
mikky32 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service