R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2009, 09:26 AM   #2611
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkdut View Post
OK so after getting the software up and running on my Linux based laptop all I have to say is someone needs to make a Linux port of the hotwire software.

With that said what settings should I be using for 1/12th scale using a Trinity 13.5 Duo? And should I be running the 189 software? And if so where can i get it?

Thanks for the help.
Holy crap, you got it working on Linux?? What distribution did you use? I run Mandriva 2008.1. I tried using Winex and Cedega, but I could not get Hotwire to work. What did you do? If it is a long process, feel free to PM me.
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 09:37 AM   #2612
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkdut View Post
And should I be running the 189 software? And if so where can i get it?

Thanks for the help.
I don't race 1/12th so I can't help you there, but there is no reason not to have V189, it's the latest and greatest to have...

Also easier to translate on what settings you have for sharing/putting in, as everyone is likely to be on V189, or the latest offering there is around...

Ask Randy (Team Manager) to see if you can snag it up
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 09:39 AM   #2613
Tech Master
 
mkdut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: RC Retired
Posts: 1,961
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryN View Post
Holy crap, you got it working on Linux?? What distribution did you use? I run Mandriva 2008.1. I tried using Winex and Cedega, but I could not get Hotwire to work. What did you do? If it is a long process, feel free to PM me.
When I say running on Linux what I really mean is running in XP via VMWare in Ubuntu 8.04. Could not get it to run with Wine. What took the longest was getting f'ing windows installed and updated.
mkdut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 09:47 AM   #2614
Tech Master
 
mkdut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: RC Retired
Posts: 1,961
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
I don't race 1/12th so I can't help you there, but there is no reason not to have V189, it's the latest and greatest to have...

Also easier to translate on what settings you have for sharing/putting in, as everyone is likely to be on V189, or the latest offering there is around...

Ask Randy (Team Manager) to see if you can snag it up
Got it! I like the interweb, it's amazing how fast you can actually get something when you ask.

Now all I have to do is figure out the profile for 1/12th. I don't think any team drivers are running 1/12th at the upcoming ROAR regionals.
mkdut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 10:32 AM   #2615
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Linux on the desktop is supposed to be hard, that's what makes you guys feel like you're elite.

Porting software written in .NET to Linux sounds like a fate worse than death.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 10:41 AM   #2616
Tech Master
 
mkdut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: RC Retired
Posts: 1,961
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Linux on the desktop is supposed to be hard, that's what makes you guys feel like you're elite.

Porting software written in .NET to Linux sounds like a fate worse than death.
Linux(Ubuntu) is actually far easier to install than Windows. A few years ago I needed to do a fresh install of Windows on my laptop and decided to give Linux a try. I ended up liking it but I still run Windows on all my other computers. It's unavoidable.

I am sure there are a few guys on here that would undertake the task of porting the software to Linux.
mkdut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 10:42 AM   #2617
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

You can get 189 from me. I ask to know where you live/race so I can point out any team drivers.

For 1/12 setups using spec type motors most are happy with 0 motor timing and between 25 to 30 on the boost.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 11:13 AM   #2618
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Linux on the desktop is supposed to be hard, that's what makes you guys feel like you're elite.

Porting software written in .NET to Linux sounds like a fate worse than death.
Linux on the desktop does take some getting used to. However, Linux has evolved quite a bit and the desktop scene is much easier to use NOW than it was only a couple years ago. Distributions like Mandriva make it that much more easier to join your PC to a Windows Domain and using DHCP. Give it a shot.

Porting software written in .Net to Linux is not that hard at all really. As a matter of fact, we have a couple employees here that have scripts made in C shell that can port over .Net coding to Linux with ease.
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 11:28 AM   #2619
Tech Regular
 
Mini_Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkdut View Post
When I say running on Linux what I really mean is running in XP via VMWare in Ubuntu 8.04. Could not get it to run with Wine. What took the longest was getting f'ing windows installed and updated.
Did it take any special settings in VMWare?
__________________
*Have a question on the M18/T line of vehicles? Check the (unofficial) FAQ.
http://forum.teamxray.com/viewtopic.php?t=2524

*Need help finding an Xray supplier? Check the dealer/distributor database.
http://www.teamxray.com/teamxray/other/worldwide.php
Mini_Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 11:33 AM   #2620
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

I'm still waiting on mine speedo. I'm now waiting for 4,5 weeks and it's still not here. I hope it still comes because the post here make thake a maximum of 4 weeks.

It's hard to see all the other drivers with there Tekin and going good and fast, will i'm still waiting till mine returns from TeamTekin.

Hopefully it comes in this week so i can go and try our track out for the first time this year. it's dry this weekend so i want to train and try some setups.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 11:50 AM   #2621
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
You can get 189 from me. I ask to know where you live/race so I can point out any team drivers.

For 1/12 setups using spec type motors most are happy with 0 motor timing and between 25 to 30 on the boost.
Randy, when you say 0 motor timing, is that 0 on the timing marks or fully retarded timing ?
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 11:57 AM   #2622
Tech Master
 
mkdut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: RC Retired
Posts: 1,961
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mini_Me View Post
Did it take any special settings in VMWare?
No special setting in VMWare other than enabling the USB ports. Had to do a couple of different things on install of vmware into Ubuntu because VMware is not fully supported. had to change the mountdevsupfs.sh file to enable USB in vmware though this may be Ubuntu specific. The hardest thing is waiting for windows to update.
mkdut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 12:08 PM   #2623
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geezatec
.

Soldering maybe a job, and more of an art. Tinning the soldering post, and wire. It should take more then a second. 36 -45 watts iron is good enough. If seems to hot for you, use a hemostat as a heat sink, os a alligator clip on the ESC soldering post. Should make it easier for you.
I never start a solder job without good hemostats.

The reason I'm thinking my iron's wattage wasn't up to the task as I wanted it to turn out was because the wire was getting hot enough to discolor the insulation, but I couldn't keep enough heat on the post and wire at the same time to manipulate how the wire laid in the slot. I was also excited to get the car on the track, and thus too lazy to dig out a hotter iron from my box, even though the iron I was using required around 5 min. per post to get a secure joint, which I found very excessive. As it is, I have no feelings of danger that a wire is going to pop loose from a post unless the hit is hard enough to destroy both my RS and the 17.5 motor, it just doesn't look like I think it should. Though it could be the fact that it's 12ga wire being soldered to a 12ga post giving problems as well.

I always pre-tin both items I'm joining, always keep my iron clean, always use silver solder on my RC stuff, and generally am always happy and complimented on my soldered items on my RC stuff.

My job involves soldering everything from 6ga wire all the way down to component level repair. So I'm fairly confident that although my posts are soldered securely, I can do better with a higher watt iron when I get bored enough to pretty it up.

I'd confirm the wattage on the adjustable solder station I was using, but it doesn't seem to be sold anymore. It works great on all my RC stuff except Dean's or similar 12ga wire, which tells me it's not enough wattage. Pretty sure my 65W chisel tip will do what I want though.
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 01:40 PM   #2624
Tech Master
 
chewiefttc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: algonac, mi
Posts: 1,552
Trader Rating: 26 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to chewiefttc4 Send a message via Yahoo to chewiefttc4
Default

Running a benchtest in my 12r5 the esc seems to be powering everything perfectly fine without a rx pack. But then again this is under no load.
chewiefttc4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 02:35 PM   #2625
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

.

Last edited by LOSI123; 03-02-2009 at 11:33 AM.
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:26 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net