R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-24-2009, 10:01 AM   #2581
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 766
Trader Rating: 115 (100%+)
Default

thanks guys
Breeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 10:34 AM   #2582
Tech Apprentice
 
C5Vette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 57
Default

I've got a question about the redline motor. I've been running a 13.5 redline now for a couple of months. Today, I noticed that there is an aluminum ring at the back of the motor near the endbell that is coming loose. I took the enbell off and it was tight. It seems that the only thing holding the back of the motor on is the Tekin label. I know that can't be right so something has got to have come loose. Can anyone with experience here help me? The thing seems to run fine but I know this has to be trouble brewing.


Thanks,

Ray
C5Vette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 10:51 AM   #2583
okayplayer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi,

I have received my Tekin Combo (RS PRO + Redline 6.5 + Hotwire)

Just wondering if something special has to be configured (or recommended setup) or would the default specific settings (except the lipo cutoff) fit ?

This is the track were I'm gonna use my tekin combo on my Xray T2 009 with 2S 35C lipos

http://picasaweb.google.fr/okayplaye...99672272382034
http://picasaweb.google.fr/okayplaye...99693832107954
http://picasaweb.google.fr/okayplaye...99749433590162

Do you all solder wires to the motor ?

Btw, what a top quality from Tekin products... Really impressed.

Take care,

CÚdric
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 11:06 AM   #2584
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by okayplayer View Post
Hi,

I have received my Tekin Combo (RS PRO + Redline 6.5 + Hotwire)

Just wondering if something special has to be configured (or recommended setup) or would the default specific settings (except the lipo cutoff) fit ?

This is the track were I'm gonna use my tekin combo on my Xray T2 009 with 2S 35C lipos

http://picasaweb.google.fr/okayplaye...99672272382034
http://picasaweb.google.fr/okayplaye...99693832107954
http://picasaweb.google.fr/okayplaye...99749433590162

Do you all solder wires to the motor ?

Btw, what a top quality from Tekin products... Really impressed.

Take care,

CÚdric
I've never played with low turn motors, but I do know that when you hook up your hotwire to your ESC, make sure your LiPo cutoff is set to 2 (6v). When I practice, I like to use all the juice my car has and this setting has saved me a few times.

As far as soldering is concerned, I solder my wires directly to my motor and use a little solder as possible to minimize resistance. Some people use pole connectors to make it eaiser to swap out motors. If you have a good soldering iron, soldering should not take too long when swapping out motors.

Hope this helps!
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 11:07 AM   #2585
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C5Vette View Post
I've got a question about the redline motor. I've been running a 13.5 redline now for a couple of months. Today, I noticed that there is an aluminum ring at the back of the motor near the endbell that is coming loose. I took the enbell off and it was tight. It seems that the only thing holding the back of the motor on is the Tekin label. I know that can't be right so something has got to have come loose. Can anyone with experience here help me? The thing seems to run fine but I know this has to be trouble brewing.


Thanks,

Ray
Did you check the screws on the output shaft side?
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 11:12 AM   #2586
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C5Vette View Post
I've got a question about the redline motor. I've been running a 13.5 redline now for a couple of months. Today, I noticed that there is an aluminum ring at the back of the motor near the endbell that is coming loose. I took the enbell off and it was tight. It seems that the only thing holding the back of the motor on is the Tekin label. I know that can't be right so something has got to have come loose. Can anyone with experience here help me? The thing seems to run fine but I know this has to be trouble brewing.


Thanks,

Ray
I've seen a couple of these locally where the can came loose from the stator. See if you can push the motor back together by hand.

If it slides back together contact Tekin and they'll hook you up. A little JB weld would fix it up but it's probably better to talk to Tekin.
Fred_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 11:18 AM   #2587
okayplayer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

thanks for the help Harry,

does it worth to put some heat shrink on the power capacitor ?

CÚdric
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 11:33 AM   #2588
Tech Apprentice
 
C5Vette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred_B View Post
I've seen a couple of these locally where the can came loose from the stator. See if you can push the motor back together by hand.

If it slides back together contact Tekin and they'll hook you up. A little JB weld would fix it up but it's probably better to talk to Tekin.
Yes it pushes back together by hand....but it's still loose. (The output screws are short....not like on a novak...they do NOT hold the back together)

Fred, do you know what originally holds that together? Is it just glue?

Ray
C5Vette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 11:40 AM   #2589
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

C5,

Please email me about the motor. From the sounds of it you have a seperation on the motor. It can be repaired easily.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 01:34 PM   #2590
Tech Elite
 
2056dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: michigan
Posts: 2,470
Trader Rating: 126 (100%+)
Default wow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
C5,

Please email me about the motor. From the sounds of it you have a seperation on the motor. It can be repaired easily.
c5 now you cant beat that , now that is service way to go TEKIN and nice job Randy thats why i run TEKIN now, tried the rest and now im with the BEST
__________________
CRC Gen XL / Xray 09 , t2r pro / CW sprint and CW rocket / Kyosho evolva m3 / Tekin rs / Futaba 4pks / Trinity / Dirtburners thanks Bill / 1/8th racers of Toledo / Trex chassi / Summit Race way / Stateline
LAZER SPEEDWAY where all else IS just a parking lot / Hobby Stop West Raceway
2056dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 03:09 PM   #2591
Tech Elite
 
tomdav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Coo.. whip
Posts: 3,103
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Anyone seen this before? I threaded the motor screws on first to install in a B44 and noticed my screw holes are not tapped straight. All six are like this.

I used longer screws for the visual.
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS ESC sensored-tekin.jpg  
__________________
Tom
The Couve, WA

davesrctracks.net
tomdav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 03:12 PM   #2592
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomdav View Post
Anyone seen this before? I threaded the motor screws on first to install in a B44 and noticed my screw holes are not tapped straight. All six are like this.

I used longer screws for the visual.
Oooo.... Something went bad in that setup. ISO would not be happy about that one. I'm not sure how they have them setup, but it looks like the rotary chuck or live tooling is knocked out.
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 03:40 PM   #2593
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

My Tekin 17.5 redline is also like this (Screw holes in motor are out of alignment, mine actually seem too far apart from each other) and it tweaks my chassis and i think it may have bent my expensive brand new hot bodies cyclone brushless motor mount.

Last edited by LOSI123; 03-02-2009 at 11:35 AM.
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 04:24 PM   #2594
Tech Elite
 
SpraydbySprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conducting aggressive board meetings at my local track
Posts: 3,301
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C5Vette View Post
I've got a question about the redline motor. I've been running a 13.5 redline now for a couple of months. Today, I noticed that there is an aluminum ring at the back of the motor near the endbell that is coming loose. I took the enbell off and it was tight. It seems that the only thing holding the back of the motor on is the Tekin label. I know that can't be right so something has got to have come loose. Can anyone with experience here help me? The thing seems to run fine but I know this has to be trouble brewing.


Thanks,

Ray
I had the same thing happen to my 17.5. I guess there is only so many times you can smack the outside of the sweeper before something comes loose! I carefully removed the ring, cleaned the mating surfaces, applied JB Weld, and re assembled. I let the JB Weld cure for 24hrs first. I have since had no problems with the motor.
__________________
How would I describe my holeshots?

Three words...

Ready... Steady... Confetti!!!! (gonna need a new one of those)
SpraydbySprague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 08:33 PM   #2595
Tech Apprentice
 
C5Vette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
C5,

Please email me about the motor. From the sounds of it you have a seperation on the motor. It can be repaired easily.
Thanks Randy, Awesome customer service!

Ray
C5Vette is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:51 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net