R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-11-2009, 05:02 PM   #2431
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Best place to ask this ? I 'm running 17.5(Losi ) touring car rubber tire what is the setup.
Detroitlion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 05:08 PM   #2432
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Detroitlion View Post
Best place to ask this ? I 'm running 17.5(Losi ) touring car rubber tire what is the setup.
What firmware version are you running and what are the timing possibilities on the motor can?
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 06:03 PM   #2433
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 573
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

ok now i got it to calibrate to the radio but now i have to move the trigger about half way on my m8 before the car starts to move?
SPC Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 06:18 PM   #2434
Tech Master
 
miller tyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,709
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPC Racer View Post
ok now i got it to calibrate to the radio but now i have to move the trigger about half way on my m8 before the car starts to move?
First I'd check the throttle expo, set it at 0.
Then you could adjust the neutral width in the ESC
Also may want to recalibrate again after making the adjustment
__________________
Ken Miller
RCTarget - Capricorn - Pro Level RC - MAX Power - Maxima Fuel - EA Motorsorts - TQ Wire

LONG LIVE OPEN MODIFIED
miller tyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 06:52 PM   #2435
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPC Racer View Post
ok now i got it to calibrate to the radio but now i have to move the trigger about half way on my m8 before the car starts to move?
Quote:
Originally Posted by miller tyme View Post
First I'd check the throttle expo, set it at 0.
Then you could adjust the neutral width in the ESC
Also may want to recalibrate again after making the adjustment
M8 TX Dheck your EPA( end point) make sure it's at 100% Full throttle. and 50% BR to start. The redo calibration of ESC Netral, Full Trhottle and brake. Expo something different.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 07:44 PM   #2436
Tech Elite
 
yodace's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caleb
Posts: 2,497
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Yodace,

Try the 0 motor timing full boost. Find the right gearing by either asking a few locals or testing and checking motor temps.

will do>>>
yodace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 07:57 PM   #2437
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 573
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

i have tryed all of that, im thinking its the tx it's self because if you are on the endpoint screen, i have the move the the throttle about half way of full throttle before the tx changes from brake the fwd.
SPC Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 08:02 PM   #2438
Tech Master
 
mojoman's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Straight, No Chaser
Posts: 1,995
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPC Racer View Post
i have tryed all of that, im thinking its the tx it's self because if you are on the endpoint screen, i have the move the the throttle about half way of full throttle before the tx changes from brake the fwd.
Where are your trims set?
__________________
Casey Castleman
Team Driver: OHP / Jaco / Razor Graphix / Thorpewood
RIP The Coliseum at HobbyTown USA Frederick, MD
mojoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 08:20 PM   #2439
Tech Addict
 
bsmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rocklin, California
Posts: 630
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
SPC: Flip your throttle to reverse. I always recomend the epa's be set equal to each other ie, 140 and 140 or 100 and 100.


Steve, you found out the hard way. Sorry to hear that. Timing has sweet spots for each combination. For WGT a lot of our team guys were running 0 motor timing and full boost at the birds. This setup renders 30 degrees of timing total. Not a bad place to be with a 17.5.

You don't usually want to be over 40 degrees EVER between motor timing and boost. This is where you will see too much heat and no performance gain at all.

Try the above "birds" setup. I'm sure you will like it.
Thanks Randy,
I really was clueless before. This all makes sense now. I've got the motor going back to Tekin for a re-solder and freshening up.

-Steve
bsmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 08:24 PM   #2440
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 573
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

epa throttle 140%
brake 140%
expo hi is 0%
brake is 0%
speed fwd is 0

then both of the throttle trims are at zero, then i tryed my rtr radio from my 1/10th slider and with that radio the car will start to move as so as i pull the trigger a little bite with an adjustment of the throttle trim, thats why im thinking that i need the invest in a new radio.
SPC Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 09:00 PM   #2441
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPC Racer View Post
epa throttle 140%
brake 140%
expo hi is 0%
brake is 0%
speed fwd is 0

then both of the throttle trims are at zero, then i tryed my rtr radio from my 1/10th slider and with that radio the car will start to move as so as i pull the trigger a little bite with an adjustment of the throttle trim, thats why im thinking that i need the invest in a new radio.
Set it back to 100% on EPA.
you are electric. Gas cars you can go that high 140%. Electric you can only go 100% After doing that, reset your calibration on tx. and go to throttle profiles on ESC. You be alright! going 140% moves the neutrl position of TX & ESC. That Why airtonics say that set Electric cars at 100% on EPA
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 09:17 PM   #2442
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 573
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

i tryed that again, its still doing the same thing. the radio thinks its braking the the trigger is in the neutral position. i have the pull the throttle a little bit to get the ec to think that the radio is at neutral, and it dont matter what adj. i make on the radio i still have to do the same thing to calibrate the radio. when i use the cheaper radio the esc reconizes that when the radio is at neutral.
SPC Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 10:40 PM   #2443
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

After setting TX EPA to 100%, Then ESC Calibration. The ESC starts to Chime Slowly, when it sets chime quickly, it will chime quicklt on neutral, Pull trigger to full throttle and wait till chime quickly an hold it Go brake foward till it chimes quickly. Then turn off ESC then TX to set it in memory. Turn on TX and then ESC. should be set. You are missing something when you set the TX. Just do it slowly. How long have you used the M8 Do you have a manual on it??
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 10:48 PM   #2444
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

SPC: Your m8 is in need of repair. Mine has been doing this a bit off and on for a while now. I found this out back a ways while testing at Tekin.

Matter of fact it just crapped out completely tonight! LOL

When the radios get older the nuetral can "wander" ouf of spec. You can widen your NW setting and see if it helps calibrate but if it's like mine, it's done.

Sorry for the bad news but I'm in the same boat! LOL

Anyone got a spare paddle!
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 11:01 PM   #2445
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Randy & SPC! I have 2 M8, useing them for 11 years, bought them new. If you guys want to get rid of them let me know. I'm interested on them good or bad.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:41 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net