R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-23-2014, 04:57 PM   #23341
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
If memory serves me correctly, this subject came up before.
Does depressing one or both of the buttons on top of the ESC cause the same symptoms?
If so, the internals of one or both of these switches may be actuating under the hard chassis slap. Use thicker servo tape (double up on what you normally use) to see if the issue goes away.
Anytime the buttons get pressed it can do something, at least in the right configuration. However he's stated nothing is near them. So I'm thinking it's browning out on impact.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2014, 08:18 PM   #23342
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: chicago
Posts: 382
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JourneyMan View Post
Randy, it's a DX3R/Savox setup with a Novak cap plugged into the receiver.

Have two others with the same setup. Happens when I case a large double or triple. Any hard landing, where I bottom out.
Replace the switch, i have had this happen. I replaced two tekin switches. Then bought an lrp. Now i solder the switch wire together.
__________________
capt waffles
sobiski racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 10:24 AM   #23343
Tech Master
 
JourneyMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,675
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Ok,

Do me a favor and please on the bench car on wiggle the steering and watch the receiver led. Does it flicker at all? If so unplug the cap, retest. Worse or better?
Okay, got home and powered her on. Went crazy on throttle on steering, rapid movements on the steering and the amber light on the savox stayed solid the entire time. ESC is in blinky. Did not remember to play around with the buttons. Any other thoughts?
__________________
Thanks to - Jconcepts | Team Trinity/Revtech | Kal-gard
JourneyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 10:35 AM   #23344
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JourneyMan View Post
Okay, got home and powered her on. Went crazy on throttle on steering, rapid movements on the steering and the amber light on the savox stayed solid the entire time. ESC is in blinky. Did not remember to play around with the buttons. Any other thoughts?
You're referring to the light on the receiver right? Not the servo?

If you are the next step is to note all your settings, then do a factory reset on the unit. Plug your settings back in and re test.

Can you post a picture of your car so we can see the wire routing,etc?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 11:36 AM   #23345
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,673
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Anytime the buttons get pressed it can do something, at least in the right configuration. However he's stated nothing is near them. So I'm thinking it's browning out on impact.
Hi Randy, understood but even though nothing is hitting the buttons, they are tactile dome switches and can sometimes short through harsh vibration. That's the reasoning behind my suggestion. Bypassing the power switch might be a reasonable test as well.
__________________
R-Factor RC Products
AE- TC6.1WC, TC6.2, RSD6, B5M
CRC- GenX10 WGT & Pro10 Prototype, WTF1, Xti 1/12
R-Factor RC- TC4-R, P8 PanCar
Not as Fast as I want to be but too old to Whine about it... 8-)
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 07:13 AM   #23346
Tech Addict
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hi all.
Looking for recommended FDR and motor timing for 13.5 blinky on 13.5 Tekin Gen 2 RPM version. I race TC on small asphalt track.
Lap times bout 13.0 seconds and straight bout 25 metres.
Thanks in advance
__________________
Team TOP Australia www.topracing.net.au

TOP Photon EX 17.5 + TOP Photon EX 21.5 + TOP Rebel F1 21.5

ORCA | Tekin RS Pro | Tekin Gen 2 RPM | Ko Pro-Po | EPIC Trinity
mazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 07:13 AM   #23347
Tech Addict
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hi all.
Looking for recommended FDR and motor timing for 13.5 blinky on 13.5 Tekin Gen 2 RPM version. I race TC on small asphalt track.
Lap times bout 13.0 seconds and straight bout 25 metres.
Thanks in advance
__________________
Team TOP Australia www.topracing.net.au

TOP Photon EX 17.5 + TOP Photon EX 21.5 + TOP Rebel F1 21.5

ORCA | Tekin RS Pro | Tekin Gen 2 RPM | Ko Pro-Po | EPIC Trinity
mazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 12:38 PM   #23348
Tech Regular
 
witz_dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 426
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JourneyMan View Post
Tekin RS Gen 1

cuts out power when I case jumps, but a few seconds later, after rolling off the jump it comes back to life. Settings not being changed by wires making a button push.

Is this a common issue, or a bad cap, sensor board/wire, etc?

Just wondering if you ever resolved this. I am having the same issue. Have changed the sensor wire and the power cap. Seem to recall this happening to me a few years ago with another RS. I ended up sending it in and paying for the none warranty replacement. With the Gen 2 out, is this a option with a Gen 1? are we able to send them in and pay to have them replaced with a Gen 2?
__________________
Xray T3 Stock TC
Xray T3 VTA
FT SC10
B5m
DEX410 Spec
witz_dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 04:25 PM   #23349
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 176
Default

I seem to remember this issue coming up a year or more ago. One suggestion was to mount the ESC on it's side. The theory being that in a hard landing, the impact presses the 'set' button, causing it to shut off for a few seconds while it waits for the user to press more buttons.
Kevin Marcy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 04:31 PM   #23350
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

The newest software posted on the website takes care of this issue. Update your unit to version 250 and you should not ever see impact button pushes.
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 08:14 AM   #23351
Tech Addict
 
bluer322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 579
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi i'm new to electric, I'v been running on-road nitro for about 20+ years. I have a tekin Rs and I want to run mod at a local track. I was going to pickup a 4.0 or 4.5 winding motor will that ESE (Rs) be able to withstand that and do I need a fan.

Last maybe some can point me in the right direction. I'm running Xray T3 how can I find out what gearing to run. Med size track not technical at all.
__________________
T. Nicholson
Murnan Modified Motors
Matrix Tires
Serpent, 748tq
bluer322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 08:40 AM   #23352
Tech Master
 
slakr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 1,712
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluer322 View Post
Hi i'm new to electric, I'v been running on-road nitro for about 20+ years. I have a tekin Rs and I want to run mod at a local track. I was going to pickup a 4.0 or 4.5 winding motor will that ESE (Rs) be able to withstand that and do I need a fan.

Last maybe some can point me in the right direction. I'm running Xray T3 how can I find out what gearing to run. Med size track not technical at all.
The Tekin RS will not handle a 4.0-4.5 turn motor.
From the Tekin website: Motor Limit Brushless Mode 2S: 8.5 Turn 2-pole 36mm Can
http://www.teamtekin.com/rs.html

You will need a Tekin RSX
From the Tekin website: Motor Limit Brushless Mode 2S: 2.5 Turn 2-pole 36mm Can
http://www.teamtekin.com/rsx.html
__________________
TLR 22 4.0, 22-4 2.0, 8IGHT & 8IGHT-E 4.0~XRAY XB2C~AE TC7.1
Tim aka "slakr" ROAR No. 3-119960
slakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 08:53 AM   #23353
Tech Addict
 
bluer322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 579
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks
__________________
T. Nicholson
Murnan Modified Motors
Matrix Tires
Serpent, 748tq
bluer322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 08:56 AM   #23354
Tech Addict
 
bluer322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 579
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slakr View Post
The Tekin RS will not handle a 4.0-4.5 turn motor.
From the Tekin website: Motor Limit Brushless Mode 2S: 8.5 Turn 2-pole 36mm Can
http://www.teamtekin.com/rs.html

You will need a Tekin RSX
From the Tekin website: Motor Limit Brushless Mode 2S: 2.5 Turn 2-pole 36mm Can
http://www.teamtekin.com/rsx.html

Thanks
__________________
T. Nicholson
Murnan Modified Motors
Matrix Tires
Serpent, 748tq
bluer322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 01:04 AM   #23355
Tech Regular
 
Frank Hodits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 412
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tekin Prez View Post
The newest software posted on the website takes care of this issue. Update your unit to version 250 and you should not ever see impact button pushes.
I have an older RS gen1, original hotwire, and original redline 13.5 (all of this was purchased new in the begining of 2010). What is the newest hotwire/vegas version i can use?

Also, what was the stock endbell timing that came on my motor when new? It looks like it's adjustable from 0-24 degrees.
__________________
-------------------------------------------------------

https://www.facebook.com/midwestrc/

-------------------------------------------------------
Frank Hodits is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:04 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net