R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-22-2013, 03:22 PM   #23161
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,520
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I have 7 Tekin RS speedos for sale. All are in great condition with very limited use and all have the latest firmware. I'm asking $80 shipped for each.

PM me if interested
DOTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 09:36 PM   #23162
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I am going to run mod outdoor this summer with a SP 5.5 motor (stock timing 5deg?) and was wondering if it would be better to run the RS Pro in the dual mode with timing advance up to 100% which is 30deg. or sensored mode with 20deg of boost ( 8000-25000) and 10deg of turbo? Which set up would give the smoothest throttle response and lowest temp. Also should I add a second capacitor to the ESC and can I add the 1000uf 16v cap on with the stock cap?
AlGio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:51 PM   #23163
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marietta, Ga
Posts: 2,103
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone ever used a RS Pro in mod 1/12 with a 4.0? I see this esc does not work in mod tc, so I was wondering how it worked with 1s voltage.
PROMODVETTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:59 PM   #23164
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PROMODVETTE View Post
Has anyone ever used a RS Pro in mod 1/12 with a 4.0? I see this esc does not work in mod tc, so I was wondering how it worked with 1s voltage.
Yes
The RS in Dual Mode can handle most any motor for 2WD cars, such as 12th scale
If you want to boost a mod, the RS Pro would be recommended over the RS
Running with 2 caps helps too

Tekin is not my first choice for mod
However they are lightweight and great for blinky, and boosting spec motors
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 01:05 AM   #23165
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marietta, Ga
Posts: 2,103
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the input. Its basically just to try. We hardly ever even ran 13.5 here and never mod.

I have the Murfdogg 3 cap octane booster thing on my cars right now. Looks like I'll put a 4.0 in it in a couple weeks and break some parts!
PROMODVETTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 03:20 PM   #23166
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

New Tekin RS Gen2

http://www.rctech.net/forum/11980123-post1.html
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 03:20 PM   #23167
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

New Tekin RS Gen2

http://www.rctech.net/forum/11980123-post1.html
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 09:03 PM   #23168
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 126
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Hi, I'm going crazy here trying to figure something out on my tekin rs. All I want to do is take it off blinky mode. I have the tekin hotwire but my PC is down and only have a macbook available to me at the moment. I thought that all I would have to do is: turn it on, press mode button until I reach TP and then press INCR button to select a different profile. Problem is, that the RS will not allow me to select anything once I press INCR on TP. The very first light is lit and will not move no matter how many times I press INCR. I believe that I am on the most recent firmware since I updated it aprox 6 months ago.

Please Help

(LED 3,4,and 5 are blinking)
__________________
Tekno sct410, Tekin RX8/Pro4 4000kv, Savox 1258
Associate B44.2 Tekin RS / 7.5 Gen 2, Sc10 2wd
Associated TC6.1, Associated B4.1 Worlds,
Hot Bodies D8T Castle 2200kv, Losi 8ight 2.0 Buggy Tekin RX8/T8
salmans21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 09:16 PM   #23169
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by salmans21 View Post
Hi, I'm going crazy here trying to figure something out on my tekin rs. All I want to do is take it off blinky mode. I have the tekin hotwire but my PC is down and only have a macbook available to me at the moment. I thought that all I would have to do is: turn it on, press mode button until I reach TP and then press INCR button to select a different profile. Problem is, that the RS will not allow me to select anything once I press INCR on TP. The very first light is lit and will not move no matter how many times I press INCR. I believe that I am on the most recent firmware since I updated it aprox 6 months ago.

Please Help
My guess is you are in locked spec mode. What LED's are flashing when the esc is on and in neutral?

This is normal blinky mode. LED's 3,5


locked spec is LED's 3,4,5 I believe.

Edit: guess I should have read your whole post haha sorry.

So in locked spec mode you have to hook it up to the hotwire to be able to change the timing profile. If you want to be able to adjust it without hooking up to the hotwire make sure you do not click the locked spec mode box.

Edit: Factory reset will not take it out of locked spec mode.
__________________
Xray - ORCA - Avid RC - MaxFX Paint
TriCitiesRC.com

Last edited by Odin544; 03-29-2013 at 12:03 AM.
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 09:44 PM   #23170
Tech Addict
 
Rampokker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hawkes Bay, New Zealand
Posts: 614
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Odin544 View Post
You should be able to get it out of the locked spec mode if you do a factory reset on it. You will loose any settings you currently have though. So you would have to go through and set everything back up.
Not according to the hotwire page on tekin's website:

Quote:
Big Event "LockOut" Spec Mode, locks the ESC into Spec Mode and cannot be changed without plugging back into a HotWire. Factory Reset does NOT turn LockOut mode off. LockOut Spec mode indicated by led's 3, 4 and 5 flashing.
__________________
XRAY XB8 - Keep Off 21-4
XRAY XT9 - Elite 8 Off
XRAY XB4 - Tekin RS Pro / Fantom 6.5
Rampokker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 09:46 PM   #23171
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rampokker View Post
Not according to the hotwire page on tekin's website:
Ahh good to know. Thanks for the correction.
__________________
Xray - ORCA - Avid RC - MaxFX Paint
TriCitiesRC.com
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 09:52 PM   #23172
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 126
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys!!! I was having problems with my esc getting a little too hot (185 degrees) so one of the guys at the track hooked it up to his Hotwire and I've been in blinky mode ever since then. I should have my PC in working condition by tomorrow, so ill finally be able to get rid of it.

I just bought a new gen 2 7.5 redline for my b44.2 and it just doesn't feel that quick (having problems clearing a triple). Do you think that blinky mode is causing this? (Not too familiar with blinky mode)
__________________
Tekno sct410, Tekin RX8/Pro4 4000kv, Savox 1258
Associate B44.2 Tekin RS / 7.5 Gen 2, Sc10 2wd
Associated TC6.1, Associated B4.1 Worlds,
Hot Bodies D8T Castle 2200kv, Losi 8ight 2.0 Buggy Tekin RX8/T8
salmans21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 09:15 PM   #23173
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 7,298
Trader Rating: 318 (100%+)
Default

Can you use Tekin in 1s mode? Want to use for WGT. What do I need to do?
__________________
Jermaine Mitchell
I laugh at serious racers acting like B****
Free Agent racing team. No sponsors needed.
Mercenary Racer
jmoneym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 09:18 PM   #23174
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

you a receiver pack or booster and a hotwire to set the esc for 1s mode. otherwise it works just as it does in 2s mode.

anyone know when the new RS2's will start to ship? noticing the price difference to get it with a motor, so im looking for TT2425 as soon as its available.
__________________
My stuff
| Team Associated - Reedy - Reflex Racing/RSD - ProAMPS RC |
My RC
www.irocc.ca - www.wcics.ca - www.vrcworld.com - http://proampsrc.com/ - www.teamassociated.com
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 12:05 AM   #23175
Tech Elite
 
303slowdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rapid City SD.
Posts: 2,299
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

To Tekin , I am so fed up with your speed controls. So far I've had 4 of them give me the 1267. I paid to swap 2 of them out and Randy swapped the other 2 in Vegas now another one is giving me the 1267 and won't work. All were ran with 1s with boosters in blinky mode. I am getting very tired of having to replace your speed controls . I also have speedpassion and hobbywing and have never had an issue with them. I just wanted you to know I won't be buying or swapping or getting fixed your product again.
From
A very pissed off customer.
__________________
Ryan Borgheiinck
303slowdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:31 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net