R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 10-01-2012, 07:53 AM   #22891
Tech Initiate

Ok. i have seen those setup sheets about 50 times i guess, but not many mod setup`s there. the 6.6 setup with boost 50 and turbo 15 looks agressive to me, but maybe not because of the wide rpm range? i`m still not shure what to start with in the setup, wider rpm range and more boost?? sound wrong to me but i have very little experience with mod motors...

The other setup with 4t motor is in dual mode and that did not work good at our track, to get good top speed the fdr would be way to low for 5,5. and the temp was already high..

the temp is now ok with the current setup.

The track is not wery big, but is has a long straight, about 60m (200ft)

if it looses sensors as you think, why? because of the agressive setup? what makes this agressive? and what would you change to make this work better and still have good top speed?

Thanks!
Old 10-01-2012, 09:17 AM   #22892
Team Tekin

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike

I'm simply saying not many tracks need boosted mod. A track with a 200ft straight is quite large and here in the US we do have them. True they're not as many as Europe and Asia.

Regardless my point is that a boosted mod motor setup would draw and will draw an immense amount of mah from the battery. In 5 minute taking only 2000mah or less tells me it's not being ran boosted.

The setup isn't causing the lack of sensor drive. You're either losing the sensors on the motor and the esc is defaulting to dual mode or you're testing them but not catching them drop out.

My first suggestion is to take the 10.5 out of the other car and assure that it works as it does in the 2nd car. This would eliminate the setup/motor, wiring,etc.

A boosted 5.5 should always out run a boosted 10.5, it's just simple math.