R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-24-2012, 10:25 AM   #22861
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CFR View Post
Tekin RS (not Pro) faulty?

It'll take settings for 212 & 223, either 'Blinky' or timed/boosted via the hotwire but the esc won't let the motor get rev out. Runs about 2/3rd's the pace of when running 13.5 blinky.

Changed power cap, sensor lead, batteries to no avail

It won't work in 2s but with a booster wired in it'll do 1s

Any ideas?
If it's coming out of the corner only I'd ask you what servo are you using?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 11:17 AM   #22862
Tech Master
 
el salvador's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Western Seattle Bucko!
Posts: 1,072
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by CFR View Post
Tekin RS (not Pro) faulty?

It'll take settings for 212 & 223, either 'Blinky' or timed/boosted via the hotwire but the esc won't let the motor get rev out. Runs about 2/3rd's the pace of when running 13.5 blinky.

Changed power cap, sensor lead, batteries to no avail

It won't work in 2s but with a booster wired in it'll do 1s

Any ideas?
I'll go "Out on a Limb" here and dare to suggest that your BEC has become Non-Functional, that is if, as you say the ESC is fine with a Booster.
Without explaining how I know this, I'll just say I have an RS that does the same thing and I'll not bother having it fixed as it's just fine for 1s WGT Racing.
__________________
ARC R8 X2/ Max RP9 or O.S. R2101 ,Capricorn LAB C02-TOP Elite R, ARC R11....

"Every Cemetery in Chicago Votes Democrat!"
el salvador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 01:17 PM   #22863
CFR
Tech Regular
 
CFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
If it's coming out of the corner only I'd ask you what servo are you using?
KO 949 ICS

motor doesn't rev out the track or the work bench

on track it may rev out for say 3rd of a lap then just crawl
CFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 01:46 PM   #22864
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CFR View Post
KO 949 ICS

motor doesn't rev out the track or the work bench

on track it may rev out for say 3rd of a lap then just crawl
You posted this on Oople also right?

1s or 2s ? Booster or Rx pack?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 03:31 PM   #22865
CFR
Tech Regular
 
CFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
You posted this on Oople also right?

1s or 2s ? Booster or Rx pack?
o0ple = yes

1s with Booster from RCDyanmics. Have one hooked up to a RS Pro and that is OK. Voltage from booster is 6v.
CFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 04:48 PM   #22866
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CFR View Post
o0ple = yes

1s with Booster from RCDyanmics. Have one hooked up to a RS Pro and that is OK. Voltage from booster is 6v.
Please try a 2s supply battery as a test. Let me know the result.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:35 AM   #22867
Tech Elite
 
evostyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 102 (98%+)
Default

Any new news on when the GEN 2 motors are going to be available?
__________________
"If you no longer go for the gap that exist, you are no longer racing". Ayrton Senna
evostyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 02:50 PM   #22868
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Autod View Post
Hi!

starting to get this car working good now, but the problems is now that after maybe 3-5min it will loose power. temps are good,esc have 4led, motor is about 50-60c, battery is cold. (outside temp is also low,10-15c) is it the battery that is the problem? ( 5000mah 40c) it has been used for some time...

motor timing 0
Fdr 8.3
start 14000
end 30000
boost 28
turbo 15
ramp 2
delay .2
Hi again!

have been testing some more today. got a new battery, 6000mah 60c
more or less the same result. after 2-4 min it will loose power on top, maybe better then the old battery but not wery good.. almost like turbo is gone. sensors are ok..

in 5 min it will use about 1800-1900mah

any help with the settings to make this work better? the car is great to drive for the first 2-3 min, top speed is good and good power.
__________________
Tekin. LRP X12. Futaba. Xray T3. Xray NT1. Serpent S120
Autod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 03:15 PM   #22869
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,520
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Autod View Post
Hi again!

have been testing some more today. got a new battery, 6000mah 60c
more or less the same result. after 2-4 min it will loose power on top, maybe better then the old battery but not wery good.. almost like turbo is gone. sensors are ok..

in 5 min it will use about 1800-1900mah

any help with the settings to make this work better? the car is great to drive for the first 2-3 min, top speed is good and good power.
I had this same problem running boost with a 10.5 motor. I'd like to know the answer too
DOTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 03:16 PM   #22870
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 386
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Autod View Post
Hi again!

have been testing some more today. got a new battery, 6000mah 60c
more or less the same result. after 2-4 min it will loose power on top, maybe better then the old battery but not wery good.. almost like turbo is gone. sensors are ok..

in 5 min it will use about 1800-1900mah

any help with the settings to make this work better? the car is great to drive for the first 2-3 min, top speed is good and good power.
your not useing a x12 are you ?

i had several x12s do the same thing, they go well, then "fade", I tried a reedy, murfdogg, speed passion and a tekin, none of them had this problem and ran the same tekin settings

ed
Edwin Pibal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 04:35 PM   #22871
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 27
Default

This is a Tekin 5.5 motor in my friends car. i`m running X12 10.5 in my car, but i don`t have the same problem, it will fade some, but not to much. my boosted 10.5 is also faster than this boosted 5.5 so far..
__________________
Tekin. LRP X12. Futaba. Xray T3. Xray NT1. Serpent S120
Autod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 04:37 PM   #22872
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evostyle View Post
Any new news on when the GEN 2 motors are going to be available?
Gen 2 mod winds have been out for nearly a month now. Spec winds are due out shortly.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 04:39 PM   #22873
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Guys please use the RS's sensor checker feature to make sure your sensors are working. It's easy enough to do:

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


If the car doesn't feel right, it's likely not so a few minute testing it will help sort it out.

Sensors can be hit or miss so systematically eliminating the sensor harness,motor and then esc shouldn't take all that long.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 11:43 PM   #22874
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 27
Default

I always use the sensor checker. But that is not a problem in ny case..
__________________
Tekin. LRP X12. Futaba. Xray T3. Xray NT1. Serpent S120
Autod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 11:08 AM   #22875
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 71
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edwin Pibal View Post
your not useing a x12 are you ?

i had several x12s do the same thing, they go well, then "fade", I tried a reedy, murfdogg, speed passion and a tekin, none of them had this problem and ran the same tekin settings

ed
May be the temperature sensor esc cutting current to lower the internal temperature.
Pickthall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:01 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net