R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-11-2012, 11:51 AM   #22711
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

you need to email tech support for a RA#,fill out the service form and then send it in.
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 01:22 PM   #22712
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusttt View Post
Thanks Randy just tried that too and nothing. I will send it in it. It should be under warranty. What is the process?
www.teamtekin.com/service.html
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 03:22 PM   #22713
Tech Addict
 
mysupratoy94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 733
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mysupratoy94
Default

What is a good heat range for a RS and Pro? Min to Max.
mysupratoy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 03:15 AM   #22714
Tech Champion
 
smilekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,536
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

is there any new function for turbo on or activate by combination of RPM & Full throttle ?
__________________
Kuala Terengganu Rc Club Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?v=wall&gid=357083332025
smilekt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 11:23 AM   #22715
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smilekt View Post
is there any new function for turbo on or activate by combination of RPM & Full throttle ?
Not at this time.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 12:38 PM   #22716
Tech Adept
 
noline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 227
Default

Anyone have a Thunder Power 10.5 or a 8.5 Boost setup for 1/10 touring on a Asphalt 150'X50' track and also gearing Im running a Xray T3 2012
noline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 10:23 PM   #22717
Tech Champion
 
smilekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,536
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Not at this time.
thanks for the info Randy hope will come out soon ...
__________________
Kuala Terengganu Rc Club Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?v=wall&gid=357083332025
smilekt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 09:34 PM   #22718
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,407
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Having a weird problem...

Installed the RS into my car, went to hotwire to update the ESC. The Hotwire detected it fine, but when I went to click on update ESC, it was going thru the update, then it failed. After it failed, now when I plug in my Hotwire, it won't detect the ESC.

And when I plug it back into the car, I get power to the receiver and servo just fine. Everything operates but the ESC. The ESC is showing all lights on, but very, very dim.

Got a race this weekend too, urgh!!

Last edited by Dan; 06-18-2012 at 10:00 PM.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 09:52 PM   #22719
Tech Addict
 
mysupratoy94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 733
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mysupratoy94
Default

Randy, Im running a losi xxx-sct with a tekin 8.5 with a RS Pro ESC. Also a Associated SCT with a 8.5 LRP and RS ESC. What would be an ideal average heat i should try and stick too on both ESC's?
mysupratoy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 11:33 PM   #22720
PDR
Tech Master
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,826
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
Having a weird problem...

Installed the RS into my car, went to hotwire to update the ESC. The Hotwire detected it fine, but when I went to click on update ESC, it was going thru the update, then it failed. After it failed, now when I plug in my Hotwire, it won't detect the ESC.

And when I plug it back into the car, I get power to the receiver and servo just fine. Everything operates but the ESC. The ESC is showing all lights on, but very, very dim.

Got a race this weekend too, urgh!!
Have you tried a "factory reset"? From the manual:

"The RS series has a built-in factory reset mode that resets all user programable settings to the default values. To activate, turn the speed control on, then press/hold INC button and then press/hold MODE button simultaneously for 3 seconds. After 3 seconds the LEDs will ramp up in sets of three. NOTE: Activating the self-test mode also resets all the radio calibration settings to their default"
__________________
Looking for chassis | Multiple Kids
2011 Slowest Winner - 21.5 Muchmore Masters & NSW State Titles Demo Class
https://www.facebook.com/phatdadracing/
Making an A Main at a Scotty Ernst event. Awesome. Scotty calling you first in A1. Priceless
PDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 12:00 AM   #22721
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,407
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PDR View Post
Have you tried a "factory reset"? From the manual:

"The RS series has a built-in factory reset mode that resets all user programable settings to the default values. To activate, turn the speed control on, then press/hold INC button and then press/hold MODE button simultaneously for 3 seconds. After 3 seconds the LEDs will ramp up in sets of three. NOTE: Activating the self-test mode also resets all the radio calibration settings to their default"

The RS is still not responding.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 12:59 AM   #22722
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,686
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mysupratoy94 View Post
Randy, Im running a losi xxx-sct with a tekin 8.5 with a RS Pro ESC. Also a Associated SCT with a 8.5 LRP and RS ESC. What would be an ideal average heat i should try and stick too on both ESC's?
Dude, you can't accurately check the temp on the rs speedos via a temp gun. You need to look at the led lights and try to keep from lighting them all. Your main concern should be how hot your motor gets. This will be your best indicator as to how your setup is working. Your best bet is to read the manual and use the search function on the threads. You will likely find your answers faster than waiting for someone to chime in like me.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 01:33 AM   #22723
Tech Master
 
Tradin Paint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,301
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
Dude, you can't accurately check the temp on the rs speedos via a temp gun. You need to look at the led lights and try to keep from lighting them all. Your main concern should be how hot your motor gets. This will be your best indicator as to how your setup is working. Your best bet is to read the manual and use the search function on the threads. You will likely find your answers faster than waiting for someone to chime in like me.
Please tell me why you can't accurately check the temp of you ESC with a temp gun? Please let me know the temp difference in the LED monitoring method. I agree that it is probably better to check the temp of your motor, but monitoring your ESC is also a good idea
__________________
Happy with: Team Associated, Team Tekin, Airtronics, Avid, JConcepts, Fantom motors and Aero Model batteries.
Proud Supporter of Warehouse 3 RC Hobby Shop, that just happens to have an indoor track
"Because Size Does Matter"
Ryan H.
Tradin Paint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 02:13 AM   #22724
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,686
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tradin Paint View Post
Please tell me why you can't accurately check the temp of you ESC with a temp gun? Please let me know the temp difference in the LED monitoring method. I agree that it is probably better to check the temp of your motor, but monitoring your ESC is also a good idea
In the tekin the FET's are on the bottom rather than the top like most speedos.
The connection posts are the only "heat sinks" on the rs so I suppose you could check temps there but they are a bit reflective and will be a little spotty with an ir temp gun.
That's why tekin incorporates an internal temp sensor. Typically the motor will show signs of over temp before the speedo unless you are seriously over timing the motor. I've actually seen the wires unsolder themselves.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 02:19 AM   #22725
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,686
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
The RS is still not responding.
Dan, I tried to search for an answer regarding a "force update" but no luck yet.
I should hope that some sort of back door has been built in for just this type of scenario.

Randy, can the rs be reflashed after a bad update? Luckily this hasn't happened to me so far but I worry about it every time I update my firmware. The Hotwire software hasn't been the most stable in my experience.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:32 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net