R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-21-2012, 09:23 AM   #22681
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 180
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

bukil, much obliged makes a lot of sense. tekin 10.5 is high in kv compared with other similar 10.5 motors i have seen (of course i am not the expert on kv or whether one manufacturer kv relates to another) and going by this reasoning, a high kv motor needs to be geared less (less teeth or higher fdr) compared to a lower kv motor of similar turn. i have more questions on how to select start and end rpms, boost/turbo but i will try the suggested settings first, play around with gearing and find that "happy medium". i read the document written by mark brown on "using tekin rs rs/pro with hotwire, wow, so much to take in.
rshair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 10:36 AM   #22682
Tech Champion
 
Kwikvdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 5,972
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kwikvdub
Exclamation

I can't seem to bind my RS speedo to my radio...... When I start the program sequence it keeps blinking after I put it into brake and doesn't finish up the programing. Some say to play with the brake points but again and again, does not finish the programming...... Need help..... I have tried to other tekin speedos and does the same thing......
__________________
Alex Valdes

TQRacing / 360 v2 RC Raceway / Team Downgrade Designs
Kwikvdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 10:49 AM   #22683
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Posts: 760
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kwikvdub View Post
I can't seem to bind my RS speedo to my radio...... When I start the program sequence it keeps blinking after I put it into brake and doesn't finish up the programing. Some say to play with the brake points but again and again, does not finish the programming...... Need help..... I have tried to other tekin speedos and does the same thing......
Make sure your EPA is maxed out on the radio. If you have a Futaba radio reverse the servo. If these don't work increase the neutral setting on the RS.
__________________
DEX210 | DESC210 | TC6.1WC | B5m
Eclipse Hobbies & Raceway Bradley, IL | Sticky Kicks |
Bodies by P.C.R. Problem Child Racing|
Walkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 11:00 AM   #22684
Tech Champion
 
Kwikvdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 5,972
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kwikvdub
Exclamation

..... Increase the neutral setting??....
__________________
Alex Valdes

TQRacing / 360 v2 RC Raceway / Team Downgrade Designs
Kwikvdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 11:07 AM   #22685
Tech Champion
 
Kwikvdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 5,972
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kwikvdub
Thumbs up

...... Ummmm.... Found it..... I know what you mean now..... Thank you much!!
__________________
Alex Valdes

TQRacing / 360 v2 RC Raceway / Team Downgrade Designs
Kwikvdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 03:17 AM   #22686
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Default

I have a Top Racing Photon, with Tekin RS, engine tekin 13.5 spur 81 and pinion 26. On the track I usual use has straight of 70 meters.
I have a hard time keeping up with others.
I need a setup of the esc and whether it is better end drive. Thanks

Setup
Voltage Cutoff 2S
Motor Type BL-FW

Brake
Drag Brake Off
Brake Strength 100
Push Control Off
Brake Minimum 10

Throttle
Throttle Profile 3
Neutral Width 15
Current Limit Off
Reverse Speed Off
Throttle Minimum Max

Timing
Timing Advance 18
Timing Profile C2
Boost 45
End RPM 20016
Start RPMs 5443
Turbo 12
Turbo Delay 0,04
Turbo Ramp 2
Sensored Only
I changed the setup but still is not enough ... I changed the ratio 4:34 (76/35) was better but still is not enough ... If i change the ratio musted o also changes the setup? what should I change?
caferreira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 06:44 PM   #22687
Tech Regular
 
rdlkgliders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: So. Cal High Desert Hobbies
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

So I decided to update to the new software even though there have been reported problems, and of course I can not get the hotwire and esc to communicate.
I followed the checklist, tried re-installing and only end up with one hotwire Icon on the desktop. I have researched a little but figured the guys here might be able to help.
Unfortunately I am more often disappointed with the Tekin than content. Between software and bec there seems to be some necessary improvements made
__________________
Serpent, KO Propo, Viper, Savox, ProTek
Team Waldorf Racing

Your not lapping me, you just caught up to me again!!!
rdlkgliders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 10:29 AM   #22688
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default Problem with RS Tekin

Hi there. Went racing today and my rs tekin cut out. All i have now is 1+2 and 6+7 lights fashing together (2 lights either end of the tekin flashing)
I also have no sound on the tekin either (no beeping). everything else works fine. Has anybody got any ideas of what could be the problem.
Thanks
David
Big Dave 1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 10:35 AM   #22689
Super Moderator
 
Slo_E4's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 1,130
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Dave 1984 View Post
Hi there. Went racing today and my rs tekin cut out. All i have now is 1+2 and 6+7 lights fashing together (2 lights either end of the tekin flashing)
I also have no sound on the tekin either (no beeping). everything else works fine. Has anybody got any ideas of what could be the problem.
Thanks
David
That sequence means Wrong motor type selected. Try to adjust motor selection in Hotwire (if you have the hotwire) and update to 223 again. If it still flashes 12 and 67, then it needs service, or replaced by tekin. Chances are if it cut out during racing like that, it's gonna need replaced...
__________________
.B.Wilson
Slo_E4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 12:10 PM   #22690
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caferreira View Post
I have a Top Racing Photon, with Tekin RS, engine tekin 13.5 spur 81 and pinion 26. On the track I usual use has straight of 70 meters.
I have a hard time keeping up with others.
I need a setup of the esc and whether it is better end drive. Thanks

Setup
Voltage Cutoff 2S
Motor Type BL-FW

Brake
Drag Brake Off
Brake Strength 100
Push Control Off
Brake Minimum 10

Throttle
Throttle Profile 3
Neutral Width 15
Current Limit Off
Reverse Speed Off
Throttle Minimum Max

Timing
Timing Advance 18
Timing Profile C2
Boost 45
End RPM 20016
Start RPMs 5443
Turbo 12
Turbo Delay 0,04
Turbo Ramp 2
Sensored Only
I changed the setup but still is not enough ... I changed the ratio 4:34 (76/35) was better but still is not enough ... If i change the ratio musted o also changes the setup? what should I change?
I use the same gearing 81/26 on a similar straight and put up the fastest lap, Tq today. I will share my setup but check temps as I run 2 fans on the motor.
Do the following:
Voltage Cutoff : 6.8v
Throttle Profile 4
Neutral Width 20
Throttle Minimum 10
Boost 55
End RPM 17000
Start RPMs 3000
Turbo 15
Turbo Delay 0,02
Turbo Ramp 2
Give that a try. Remember to calibrate your radio, set the throttle and brake end points to
max before you calibrate.

Hope this helps
Let me know how it went.

Last edited by 2Quick; 05-29-2012 at 05:17 AM.
2Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 02:52 PM   #22691
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slo_E4 View Post
That sequence means Wrong motor type selected. Try to adjust motor selection in Hotwire (if you have the hotwire) and update to 223 again. If it still flashes 12 and 67, then it needs service, or replaced by tekin. Chances are if it cut out during racing like that, it's gonna need replaced...
Thank you, thats exactally what it was !
Big Dave 1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 09:01 AM   #22692
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdlkgliders View Post
So I decided to update to the new software even though there have been reported problems, and of course I can not get the hotwire and esc to communicate.
I followed the checklist, tried re-installing and only end up with one hotwire Icon on the desktop. I have researched a little but figured the guys here might be able to help.
Unfortunately I am more often disappointed with the Tekin than content. Between software and bec there seems to be some necessary improvements made
You should only end up with one hotwire icon when the instillation is completed.

When the Hotwire is plugged in, launch the software WITHOUT an esc plugged in. Hit "help" and read the software version. What is yours?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 07:42 PM   #22693
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

What setting in the speedo will help with the delay when pulling the trigger on a start of the race?
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:53 PM   #22694
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Throttle minimum, neutral width, and maybe throttle profile.

Increase throttle minimum, decrease neutral width, and/or choose a more aggressive throttle profile (4 or 5).
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 05:53 AM   #22695
Tech Regular
 
rdlkgliders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: So. Cal High Desert Hobbies
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
You should only end up with one hotwire icon when the instillation is completed.

When the Hotwire is plugged in, launch the software WITHOUT an esc plugged in. Hit "help" and read the software version. What is yours?
Randy the software is 8.4.1

The problem is there is no communication between hotwire and esc I cannot get the horwire programming menu up anymore.
__________________
Serpent, KO Propo, Viper, Savox, ProTek
Team Waldorf Racing

Your not lapping me, you just caught up to me again!!!
rdlkgliders is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:22 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net