R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-14-2012, 11:50 AM   #22651
Super Moderator
 
Slo_E4's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 1,130
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brew99 View Post
So I have a RS pro (v223 FW) that sometimes will not go into reverse. the ESC is set-up with the reverse delay, and the ESC lights will ramp up when trigger is pushed in reverse, but no action from the motor. It is intermittent, sometimes works, sometimes not. I've recalibrated with the same result. I tried the reverse with no delay, and it worked everytime, although I do not want to run it like that. Using airtronics tx/rx (FHSS3)

Any suggestions on what to look for/change?

When you come to that abrupt stop, Do not instantly tap reverse. Give it about 1 full second, and it will work everytime. When you hit reverse before the delay is over, it starts the delay over again. (I think)...Hope that helps and make's sense.
__________________
.B.Wilson
Slo_E4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 12:16 PM   #22652
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GreatWhiteNorth
Posts: 362
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slo_E4 View Post
When you come to that abrupt stop, Do not instantly tap reverse. Give it about 1 full second, and it will work everytime. When you hit reverse before the delay is over, it starts the delay over again. (I think)...Hope that helps and make's sense.
Thanks for the suggestion, but I've let in sit in neutral for up to 5 seconds, and it still won't reverse (sometimes)
__________________
TLR 22T and Yokomo YZ-2 and 4
www.corvictoria.com
brew99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 01:30 PM   #22653
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

What is your neutral width set to? (check it in Hotwire) Try making it a little wider (bigger value).
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 01:56 PM   #22654
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GreatWhiteNorth
Posts: 362
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
What is your neutral width set to? (check it in Hotwire) Try making it a little wider (bigger value).
It's set at whatever was defaulted (10?), but I will try increasing when I get home, thanks
__________________
TLR 22T and Yokomo YZ-2 and 4
www.corvictoria.com
brew99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 02:34 PM   #22655
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

We MUST see a solid neutral signal for one second before reverse will work. Any deviation from neutral will reset the timer.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 10:58 PM   #22656
Tech Regular
 
M3Armand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 263
Exclamation

Randy,

I've been scouring the Tekin website and this forum for hours now and I think I finally understand the Hotwire. I still do have a few questions if you don't mind and can you correct my writing below if it's not correct or unclear?

So when I choose the Timing Profile to be:
1 = stock "blinky" with 0 degrees timing on the ESC. But there is timing available on the motor can. So for my Tekin 17.5 motor, it looks like each notch is 4 degrees with a maximum of 24 degrees timing. Does this mean with my "blinky" setup, I actually have 24 degrees of timing?
2 = 15 degrees in ESC. So if there is 15 degrees in the ESC and 24 degrees in the motor can, does this now mean that I have 39 degrees of timing?
3 = 25 in ESC, with Tekin motor set at 24 = 49 degrees timing?
4 = 35 in ESC, with Tekin motor set at 24 = 59 degrees timing?
5 = 45 in ESC, with Tekin motor set at 24 = 69 degrees timing?

C1 when run in DUAL MODE, I can set the timing from 0 to 100. The boost and turbo and not available in DUAL MODE. Again, if I set this timing to 100 and the motor can has 24, do I now have 124 degrees timing?

C1 when run in SENSORED MODE the ESC ignores whatever timing is set in the DUAL MODE. I can set timing to be from 0 to 55 degrees and control at what motor rpm I want the timing to start. How does it know what my maximum RPM is? I'v put different motors on it and it seems that the max rpm is always 20016 rpm? Again, does whatever I set this to add to the timing of the motor can?

C1 when run in SENSORED MODE allows me to even add more timing "Turbo" from 0 to 20 additional degrees on top of whatever I set from 0 to 55 in the "Boost" section. Instead of motor rpm being the trigger for this to take effect, it's the length of time I have my finger on "maximum" throttle. Presumably, I keep my finger on maximum throttle when entering a long straightaway. The "Turbo Ramp" setting will control how gentle the turbo is added. Presumably, if the setting is at 3 and adding 20 more degrees of turbo, this "jolt" could make RWD cars spin or fishtail. Again, if the motor is set at 24, the Boost set at 55, and the Turbo set at 20, I could have 99 degrees of timing at full throttle and speed at the straighway.

C2 is the same as C1 but can be configured for a different motor.

Thus, in sensored mode, you can only get 75 degrees of timing max (plus whatever you have on the motor can). If the sensor cable falls off which effectively puts you into DUAL MODE, then whatever setting you had in dual mode goes into effect.

So theoretically, since the DUAL MODE max timing degree is 100 degrees the DUAL MODE car could theoretically be faster due to being 1 degree higher in timing than SENSORED MODE.

Last question on timing, is there a "maximum" amount of timing brushless motors are capable of? Based on my logic above, it seem that Tekin motors at 24 degrees and maxed DUAL MODE at 100, gives 124 degrees timing total. I know that operating it above 180 degrees in temperature would damage the motor. So I'm wondering if there's a damaging timing as well.

Regarding the throttle curve profile, I usually run at the most aggressive 5 setting. I read somewhere that v212 5 setting is the same as v223 5 setting. Is this true? I question it since the 223 throttle curve picture looks a bit more tame than the throttle curve picture for the 212 setting (and as it's shown in the manual that came in the box of the ESC).

Sorry for all the questions! I still haven't fooled around with Active Braking since I'm still not sure what it's all about except for "harder braking when the car is at top speed". With a 17.5 Tekin motor, I believe I already lock up the brakes when set at 50%. So I'm not seeing the scenario where Active Braking would help?

Thanks in advance for the help!

p.s. - since the Hotwire seems to be dictated by the Timing Profile setting, why not just have 7 check boxes for the Timing Profile (1-5, C1, C2) and then expose/hide all the relevant settings for brake, throttle, boost, turbo, reverse, etc.. at the same time? I find it a pain to toggle back and forth in between tabs trying to remember what each of those setting were. I work for a "major" software company one of many things we do is "user interface experience". Since I've been a fan of Tekin for 25 years, I'd love to put in any helpful suggestions that I can to keep you successful (I was heartbroken when Tekin was "lost" for a while). Also, the color choices makes it very difficult to read. PM me if your interested and I can even draw up a mock up if you'd like.
M3Armand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 05:22 AM   #22657
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M3Armand View Post
p.s. - since the Hotwire seems to be dictated by the Timing Profile setting, why not just have 7 check boxes for the Timing Profile (1-5, C1, C2) and then expose/hide all the relevant settings for brake, throttle, boost, turbo, reverse, etc.. at the same time? I find it a pain to toggle back and forth in between tabs trying to remember what each of those setting were. I work for a "major" software company one of many things we do is "user interface experience". Since I've been a fan of Tekin for 25 years, I'd love to put in any helpful suggestions that I can to keep you successful (I was heartbroken when Tekin was "lost" for a while). Also, the color choices makes it very difficult to read. PM me if your interested and I can even draw up a mock up if you'd like.
Sorry to nitpick, but check boxes aren't the way to select mutually exclusive items like a timing profile. Either radio buttons, or a drop down list. I will agree that the UI needs to be cleaned up, which would also make it easier to port Hotwire to other devices.

Or, Tekin could make a simple programming box like the HobbyWing one.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 09:05 AM   #22658
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M3Armand View Post
Randy,

I've been scouring the Tekin website and this forum for hours now and I think I finally understand the Hotwire. I still do have a few questions if you don't mind and can you correct my writing below if it's not correct or unclear?

So when I choose the Timing Profile to be:
1 = stock "blinky" with 0 degrees timing on the ESC. But there is timing available on the motor can. So for my Tekin 17.5 motor, it looks like each notch is 4 degrees with a maximum of 24 degrees timing. Does this mean with my "blinky" setup, I actually have 24 degrees of timing?Correct
2 = 15 degrees in ESC. So if there is 15 degrees in the ESC and 24 degrees in the motor can, does this now mean that I have 39 degrees of timing?Also correct.
3 = 25 in ESC, with Tekin motor set at 24 = 49 degrees timing?yes
4 = 35 in ESC, with Tekin motor set at 24 = 59 degrees timing?yes
5 = 45 in ESC, with Tekin motor set at 24 = 69 degrees timing?yes

C1 when run in DUAL MODE, I can set the timing from 0 to 100. The boost and turbo and not available in DUAL MODE. Again, if I set this timing to 100 and the motor can has 24, do I now have 124 degrees timing?No, dual mode timing is a percentage of 30 degrees total. So at 100 you only get 30. Motor timing is null in dual mode.

C1 when run in SENSORED MODE the ESC ignores whatever timing is set in the DUAL MODE. I can set timing to be from 0 to 55 degrees and control at what motor rpm I want the timing to start. How does it know what my maximum RPM is? I'v put different motors on it and it seems that the max rpm is always 20016 rpm? Again, does whatever I set this to add to the timing of the motor can?It's not "max" rpm rather it's "end rpm." This is user controlled for tracks with varying lengths and layouts.

C1 when run in SENSORED MODE allows me to even add more timing "Turbo" from 0 to 20 additional degrees on top of whatever I set from 0 to 55 in the "Boost" section. Instead of motor rpm being the trigger for this to take effect, it's the length of time I have my finger on "maximum" throttle. Presumably, I keep my finger on maximum throttle when entering a long straightaway. The "Turbo Ramp" setting will control how gentle the turbo is added. Presumably, if the setting is at 3 and adding 20 more degrees of turbo, this "jolt" could make RWD cars spin or fishtail. Again, if the motor is set at 24, the Boost set at 55, and the Turbo set at 20, I could have 99 degrees of timing at full throttle and speed at the straighway.Yes and that much timing is bad.

C2 is the same as C1 but can be configured for a different motor.Correct OR have a different timing boost/rpm level(s)

Thus, in sensored mode, you can only get 75 degrees of timing max (plus whatever you have on the motor can). If the sensor cable falls off which effectively puts you into DUAL MODE, then whatever setting you had in dual mode goes into effect.Yes!

So theoretically, since the DUAL MODE max timing degree is 100 degrees the DUAL MODE car could theoretically be faster due to being 1 degree higher in timing than SENSORED MODE.Incorrect. Again timing in dual mode is a percentage, not actual timing.

Last question on timing, is there a "maximum" amount of timing brushless motors are capable of? Yes it's 60 degrees before a mis-commutation will occur

Based on my logic above, it seem that Tekin motors at 24 degrees and maxed DUAL MODE at 100, gives 124 degrees timing total. I know that operating it above 180 degrees in temperature would damage the motor. So I'm wondering if there's a damaging timing as well.Yes, at or near 60 can and will damage a motor if the gearing is not spot on. The further timing is pushed the narrower the "correct" timing window is.

Regarding the throttle curve profile, I usually run at the most aggressive 5 setting. I read somewhere that v212 5 setting is the same as v223 5 setting. Is this true? I question it since the 223 throttle curve picture looks a bit more tame than the throttle curve picture for the 212 setting (and as it's shown in the manual that came in the box of the ESC).Not exactly. 212 TP 5 is more like 223 TP 3

Sorry for all the questions! I still haven't fooled around with Active Braking since I'm still not sure what it's all about except for "harder braking when the car is at top speed". With a 17.5 Tekin motor, I believe I already lock up the brakes when set at 50%. So I'm not seeing the scenario where Active Braking would help?It's meant for extreme conditions for example 17.5 booted on a track with a 250ft straight.

Thanks in advance for the help!

p.s. - since the Hotwire seems to be dictated by the Timing Profile setting, why not just have 7 check boxes for the Timing Profile (1-5, C1, C2) and then expose/hide all the relevant settings for brake, throttle, boost, turbo, reverse, etc.. at the same time? I find it a pain to toggle back and forth in between tabs trying to remember what each of those setting were. I work for a "major" software company one of many things we do is "user interface experience". Since I've been a fan of Tekin for 25 years, I'd love to put in any helpful suggestions that I can to keep you successful (I was heartbroken when Tekin was "lost" for a while). Also, the color choices makes it very difficult to read. PM me if your interested and I can even draw up a mock up if you'd like.
Answers in red.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 10:56 AM   #22659
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North Bay
Posts: 485
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Greetings,

What is the difference between Timing profile 1 (blinky mode?) and checking the spec Mode lockout?

cheers
Obsidian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 11:19 AM   #22660
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian View Post
Greetings,

What is the difference between Timing profile 1 (blinky mode?) and checking the spec Mode lockout?

cheers
They are both blinky mode, but the spec mode lockout prevents changing from that profile except via Hotwire. This prevents someone from switching out of blinky mode after going through tech without it being really obvious.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 11:49 AM   #22661
Tech Regular
 
M3Armand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Answers in red.
Randy, THANKS very much for the clarifications! If alright, I have some followup so I don't blow up my motors!

Quote:
Originally Posted by M3Armand View Post
...C1 when run in DUAL MODE, I can set the timing from 0 to 100. The boost and turbo and not available in DUAL MODE. Again, if I set this timing to 100 and the motor can has 24, do I now have 124 degrees timing?No, dual mode timing is a percentage of 30 degrees total. So at 100 you only get 30. Motor timing is null in dual mode....
Where does the 30 degrees total get set? I can't find it anywhere.

Quote:
Originally Posted by M3Armand View Post
....5 = 45 in ESC, with Tekin motor set at 24 = 69 degrees timing?yes

...Last question on timing, is there a "maximum" amount of timing brushless motors are capable of? Yes it's 60 degrees before a mis-commutation will occur...

Based on my logic above, it seem that Tekin motors at 24 degrees and maxed DUAL MODE at 100, gives 124 degrees timing total. I know that operating it above 180 degrees in temperature would damage the motor. So I'm wondering if there's a damaging timing as well.Yes, at or near 60 can and will damage a motor if the gearing is not spot on. The further timing is pushed the narrower the "correct" timing window is..
So if anything over 60 degrees of timing is "bad", then that means that if I have the timing on the motor can maxed out at 24 degrees and I set the ESC to Timing Profile #5, I get a total of 69 degrees. So I suppose I shouldn't do that and maybe just set the motor can to around 12 degrees which would give me a total of 12 + 45 = 57 degrees of timing.

And finally, if I want to "save" my motors, in C1 or C2, I should limit my timing to a max of 36 degrees if I keep my motor timing to 24 degrees (36 + 24 = 60). And if I set the Timing Advance to 100% (= 30 degrees max) in case the sensor wire falls off, I'm still safe.
M3Armand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 02:01 PM   #22662
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

To be honest the only time I max out motor timing is if I'm running blinky mode.

100 is the percentage of 30 degrees. That is the maximum that can be applied while running sensorless or D2 dual mode which is sensored but sensorless timing/drive.

The "60" isn't a magical number. People will often have more than this in their setup BUT they're not getting there on the track. If you do manage to actually give the motor 60 degrees it WILL not last long at all.

As with any form of racing dancing with the "edge" is up to you.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 06:55 PM   #22663
Tech Initiate
 
zerocool77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Posts: 40
Send a message via Yahoo to zerocool77
Default

Randy, can you post the pics of your setting? Coz its really clear when you post the pics of that setting. So all will understand it. Please bro...
__________________
~ Team Putra Serpent, Kch ~
zerocool77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 08:23 AM   #22664
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerocool77 View Post
Randy, can you post the pics of your setting? Coz its really clear when you post the pics of that setting. So all will understand it. Please bro...
Sure for which car?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:42 PM   #22665
Tech Initiate
 
zerocool77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Posts: 40
Send a message via Yahoo to zerocool77
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Sure for which car?
Serpent S411. If posibble, post your Vegas 223 esc setting also. Thanks a lots bro.
__________________
~ Team Putra Serpent, Kch ~
zerocool77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:21 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net