R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-07-2012, 12:42 PM   #22621
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt W View Post
Im using the lrp x12 in 13.5 boosted and im goin to an lrp x12 17.5 blinky.

I was just wondering roughly on the same track how many pinions you would go up by between the two classes, some people have said around 8 or 9?

For 13.5 boosted I use 7.25 FDR (84 Spur/22 pinion x 1.9)
For 17.5 blinky , lets just say you want a 4.0 FDR(you probably want a little lower)We'll assume the pinion will fit with the same spur, but in reality you will probably need a smaller spur to get the gearing right. (84/40) X1.9 =3.99

So with 48pitch gears it would be closer to an 18 tooth difference. With 64p it would be more.
__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:42 PM   #22622
Tech Elite
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,964
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt W View Post
Im using the lrp x12 in 13.5 boosted and im goin to an lrp x12 17.5 blinky.

I was just wondering roughly on the same track how many pinions you would go up by between the two classes, some people have said around 8 or 9?
Yeah youll be able to add quite a bit of gear to that motor. x12's like to run a little on the hot side too... dont be afraid to hit 180 degrees in a timed qualifier or main. If traction is good, source an oversized LRP Works rotor...
__________________
...you better run like im booger flickin...
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 03:26 PM   #22623
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve S View Post
Thanks Randy. Yes, the version is 8.4.1. As I said, it still works fine with my other RS.
Ok, on the RS having the issue will it power up with a battery pack? If so what led's are shown?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 08:18 PM   #22624
Tech Addict
 
warnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 522
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Randy any news on the RSx pro?
__________________
TCX Smokem / F104 wgp
Major Sponsor : Visa Card
TEAM SMA - www.smaracing.org
warnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 10:57 PM   #22625
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Ok, on the RS having the issue will it power up with a battery pack? If so what led's are shown?
No lights, no chimes. Radio powers up, steering works.
Steve S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 09:23 AM   #22626
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Look closely, are the lights just very dim? Does the hotwire recognize it when plugged in?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 10:39 AM   #22627
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Look closely, are the lights just very dim? Does the hotwire recognize it when plugged in?
I'll try it in the dark when I get home. The Hotwire does not recognize it. I think there is 1 light on the ESC when the Hotwire is connected, but it sits at the Step 1, Step 2 screen forever.
Steve S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 06:06 PM   #22628
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Look closely, are the lights just very dim? Does the hotwire recognize it when plugged in?
Confirmed, no lights at all.
Steve S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 07:23 PM   #22629
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Per the rules, what is "Blinky" mode? As in what will ROAR be looking for? I understand the check box for blinky but this takes away the ability to adjust the curve. Must the "blinky" box be checked or not to be legal?
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:22 AM   #22630
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve S View Post
Confirmed, no lights at all.
Steve this unit sounds like it's in need of repair. Please contact [email protected] to get the process started.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:24 AM   #22631
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bvoltz View Post
Per the rules, what is "Blinky" mode? As in what will ROAR be looking for? I understand the check box for blinky but this takes away the ability to adjust the curve. Must the "blinky" box be checked or not to be legal?
The way the approval reads you must be in blinky lock out mode to be legal. Not sure why it was done that way, but that's where we're at.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:25 AM   #22632
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
The way the approval reads you must be in blinky lock out mode to be legal. Not sure why it was done that way, but that's where we're at.
How do you get back out of blinky lockout mode? I had a racer ask me, and it didn't seem like we could from the hotwire interface.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:28 AM   #22633
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
How do you get back out of blinky lockout mode? I had a racer ask me, and it didn't seem like we could from the hotwire interface.
it wouldn't un check from the box
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:48 AM   #22634
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
The way the approval reads you must be in blinky lock out mode to be legal. Not sure why it was done that way, but that's where we're at.
Many thanks for you reply, so I want to be clear about this, the box must be checked? As in no adjustments in the curve... I understand I can play with the Expo in the radio to achieve like results....

The reason, if you uncheck the box and run in C1 mode, and remove all the boost, timing, etc... you can change the curves.... Would that be legal "Blinky Mode"? That is the debt at the track, this is legal... That is why I'm asking here....
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:05 AM   #22635
Tech Fanatic
 
lewis4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 756
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bvoltz View Post
Many thanks for you reply, so I want to be clear about this, the box must be checked? As in no adjustments in the curve... I understand I can play with the Expo in the radio to achieve like results....

The reason, if you uncheck the box and run in C1 mode, and remove all the boost, timing, etc... you can change the curves.... Would that be legal "Blinky Mode"? That is the debt at the track, this is legal... That is why I'm asking here....
No, that is not True Blinky... but, I'm sure Randy will confirm...
__________________
Brian "B-Daddy" Lewis

XRay, Proline, Absolute Hobbyz, RC America, Airtronics, Murnan Modified Motors, Team Trinity, Kustom RC Graphics, Schelle Racing, MIP, LFR, StickIt1 Racing, Team Lewis Racing
lewis4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:53 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net