R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-30-2012, 04:37 PM   #22411
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

What does it do when unplugged from the receiver? Does it power up? 1s or 2s? We need more info.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 04:38 PM   #22412
Tech Fanatic
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arlington, Tx
Posts: 799
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to dfiantii Send a message via Yahoo to dfiantii
Default

Stupid question. Is your battery fully charged? Is there anyway for you to post a picture of your setup? What receiver are you using?
__________________
TT-01/Hitec MG/SP LPF V1.1/Trinity 7.5
Losi Type-R/JR Z8800S/SP GT 2.0
Exotek F1R/Savox 1251/Tekin RS
TLR 22 2.0
"ELECTRIFIED TO THE HILT"
dfiantii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 04:38 PM   #22413
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
OK update it turns on when its not plugged into the receiver but once its plugged into the receiver it doesnt turn on????
Are you running 1S. We need some more info. thanks
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 04:39 PM   #22414
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

OK never mind guys bum receiver LOL
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 05:05 PM   #22415
Tech Regular
 
CloseYetFar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South NJ
Posts: 274
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
OK update it turns on when its not plugged into the receiver but once its plugged into the receiver it doesnt turn on????
Is your receiver binded to the transmitter? Does the steering servo work? Also if so you need to hold the mode button for 3 seconds to calibrate the ESC to the receiver.
CloseYetFar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 11:55 PM   #22416
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hi Guys,

so I installed my RS Pro in my XRAY the other day. After connecting everything it would not run the motor. Everything is connected, according to the led's the throttle is working but the motor is not. I swapped the ESC out with another from a different brand and it worked fine.

Motior works.

ESC works

Battery charged.

Thoughts?
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 08:27 AM   #22417
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdling View Post
Hi Guys,

so I installed my RS Pro in my XRAY the other day. After connecting everything it would not run the motor. Everything is connected, according to the led's the throttle is working but the motor is not. I swapped the ESC out with another from a different brand and it worked fine.

Motior works.

ESC works

Battery charged.

Thoughts?
Futaba radio? Try reversing the the throttle direction in the radio, and then calibrate the ESC to the radio. Is the ESC motor type set to BL-FW?
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 05:05 PM   #22418
Tech Master
 
wingman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tewkesbury, UK via Plymouth, UK.
Posts: 1,259
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nilks View Post
Known issue. Some of my co-racers tried 6 different Corally motors, and only one worked with the Tekin. I have heard about a "tape trick", but I cannot remember how it was. Hope someone knows this trick, that can chime in.
Hi guys, I too had the same problem. The 'tape trick' is to take the sensor board out from inside the motor, and then put electrical tape over the surface of the board that FACES the end bell (towards the nearest bearing). When you put it all back together, the sensor board is then insulated from the metal in the bearing, or/and the end bell of the motor. Sometimes this works, other times it does n't. With both of my Corally motors, it did n't! :-(

Shame really, as I have tried both motors with other brands of speedo's, and they really are as punchy as you would ever hope to have!!

Hope that helps, cheers!
__________________
Sponsored by CML Distribution - http://www.cmldistribution.co.uk
wingman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 05:29 PM   #22419
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys new to the rs pro...im running 17.5 blinky any reccomended set ups for the esc? thanks
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 02:21 AM   #22420
Tech Adept
 
ATLASCOPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingman2 View Post
Hi guys, I too had the same problem. The 'tape trick' is to take the sensor board out from inside the motor, and then put electrical tape over the surface of the board that FACES the end bell (towards the nearest bearing). When you put it all back together, the sensor board is then insulated from the metal in the bearing, or/and the end bell of the motor. Sometimes this works, other times it does n't. With both of my Corally motors, it did n't! :-(

Shame really, as I have tried both motors with other brands of speedo's, and they really are as punchy as you would ever hope to have!!

Hope that helps, cheers!
thanks for that but i still have no joy....
I have now fitted a different brand of controller in and it works a treat
__________________
XRAY T4 2014
HOBBYWING V3.1
HOBBYWING MOTORS
ATLASCOPCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 03:12 AM   #22421
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Futaba radio? Try reversing the the throttle direction in the radio, and then calibrate the ESC to the radio. Is the ESC motor type set to BL-FW?
KO Radio but I will check the throttle reverse thing. Motor is BL-FW.

Cheers
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 06:30 AM   #22422
Tech Adept
 
Chaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bundok ng Tralala
Posts: 176
Default

Just a quick question, Just got a new Rs pro, and doing some settings.


how much boost you guys would recommend for an 8.5T motor. Usually, what would be the general rule in setting out your boost. I am running on asphalt with about 150~200m straight with few curves, 180 deg turns.... I just set my FDR to 8.

Any inputs would be very much approciated.

Thanks in advance.
Chaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 10:25 AM   #22423
Tech Master
 
wingman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tewkesbury, UK via Plymouth, UK.
Posts: 1,259
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLASCOPCO View Post
thanks for that but i still have no joy....
I have now fitted a different brand of controller in and it works a treat
Yep, the motors really have some punch with those magnets in them!
__________________
Sponsored by CML Distribution - http://www.cmldistribution.co.uk
wingman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 07:46 PM   #22424
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: home of the GATOR NATION
Posts: 235
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hi all... I have been running the RS Pro for about 1.5 years and have always been running what the other guy has been running, there setups never really worked for me. I knew there had to be a way to make a set up for me to suit my driving style. So 2 weeks ago i started reading through the thread I just picked a page to start, I started on page 1350. Well when I made it to 1399 there it was, a person posting how to build a profile from scratch. Harry Leach was the poster. So I took his advise and started a base profile on Thursday. I was at the track today for our club race (Superior Hobbies in Cassleberry,FL) 120' x 60'. Normaly for the track I usually gear 6.0 to 6.3 with small changes due to layout. I did spend some time on the laptop to get it ironed out when I got to the track but the car was quick without the turbo, I did end up adding a little turbo but not like I had in it with previous setups. The car ran cool almost to cool. I was adding a tooth at a time, with the Florida heat adding to many teeth at a time could be bad. After the final race running hard for 6 min. still only 125 deg. so theres room for more gear.

Thanks, Harry Leach, Randy Pike, 20 Smoke you guy`s give some good info.


Anyway if you have the time to read there is some good info here.

Steve P.
srp67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 07:53 PM   #22425
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

i know what it's like running in this FL heat,when you can make a run with a track temp of 150* and still come off at 155-160 i think your(me) doing something right
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:22 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net