Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored >

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Old 03-30-2012, 04:37 PM
  #22411  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,912
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

What does it do when unplugged from the receiver? Does it power up? 1s or 2s? We need more info.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Old 03-30-2012, 04:38 PM
  #22412  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arlington, Tx
Posts: 820
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Stupid question. Is your battery fully charged? Is there anyway for you to post a picture of your setup? What receiver are you using?
dfiantii is offline  
Old 03-30-2012, 04:38 PM
  #22413  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 968
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
OK update it turns on when its not plugged into the receiver but once its plugged into the receiver it doesnt turn on????
Are you running 1S. We need some more info. thanks
macdude is offline  
Old 03-30-2012, 04:39 PM
  #22414  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,622
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

OK never mind guys bum receiver LOL
theatriks is offline  
Old 03-30-2012, 05:05 PM
  #22415  
Tech Regular
 
CloseYetFar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South NJ
Posts: 304
Default

Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
OK update it turns on when its not plugged into the receiver but once its plugged into the receiver it doesnt turn on????
Is your receiver binded to the transmitter? Does the steering servo work? Also if so you need to hold the mode button for 3 seconds to calibrate the ESC to the receiver.
CloseYetFar is offline  
Old 03-30-2012, 11:55 PM
  #22416  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 3,037
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hi Guys,

so I installed my RS Pro in my XRAY the other day. After connecting everything it would not run the motor. Everything is connected, according to the led's the throttle is working but the motor is not. I swapped the ESC out with another from a different brand and it worked fine.

Motior works.

ESC works

Battery charged.

Thoughts?
nerdling is offline  
Old 03-31-2012, 08:27 AM
  #22417  
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,664
Default

Originally Posted by nerdling View Post
Hi Guys,

so I installed my RS Pro in my XRAY the other day. After connecting everything it would not run the motor. Everything is connected, according to the led's the throttle is working but the motor is not. I swapped the ESC out with another from a different brand and it worked fine.

Motior works.

ESC works

Battery charged.

Thoughts?
Futaba radio? Try reversing the the throttle direction in the radio, and then calibrate the ESC to the radio. Is the ESC motor type set to BL-FW?
CarbonJoe is offline  
Old 03-31-2012, 05:05 PM
  #22418  
Tech Master
 
wingman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tewkesbury, UK via Plymouth, UK.
Posts: 1,259
Default

Originally Posted by Nilks View Post
Known issue. Some of my co-racers tried 6 different Corally motors, and only one worked with the Tekin. I have heard about a "tape trick", but I cannot remember how it was. Hope someone knows this trick, that can chime in.
Hi guys, I too had the same problem. The 'tape trick' is to take the sensor board out from inside the motor, and then put electrical tape over the surface of the board that FACES the end bell (towards the nearest bearing). When you put it all back together, the sensor board is then insulated from the metal in the bearing, or/and the end bell of the motor. Sometimes this works, other times it does n't. With both of my Corally motors, it did n't! :-(

Shame really, as I have tried both motors with other brands of speedo's, and they really are as punchy as you would ever hope to have!!

Hope that helps, cheers!
wingman2 is offline  
Old 03-31-2012, 05:29 PM
  #22419  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,622
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys new to the rs pro...im running 17.5 blinky any reccomended set ups for the esc? thanks
theatriks is offline  
Old 04-01-2012, 02:21 AM
  #22420  
Tech Adept
 
ATLASCOPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 193
Default

Originally Posted by wingman2 View Post
Hi guys, I too had the same problem. The 'tape trick' is to take the sensor board out from inside the motor, and then put electrical tape over the surface of the board that FACES the end bell (towards the nearest bearing). When you put it all back together, the sensor board is then insulated from the metal in the bearing, or/and the end bell of the motor. Sometimes this works, other times it does n't. With both of my Corally motors, it did n't! :-(

Shame really, as I have tried both motors with other brands of speedo's, and they really are as punchy as you would ever hope to have!!

Hope that helps, cheers!
thanks for that but i still have no joy....
I have now fitted a different brand of controller in and it works a treat
ATLASCOPCO is offline  
Old 04-01-2012, 03:12 AM
  #22421  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 3,037
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Futaba radio? Try reversing the the throttle direction in the radio, and then calibrate the ESC to the radio. Is the ESC motor type set to BL-FW?
KO Radio but I will check the throttle reverse thing. Motor is BL-FW.

Cheers
nerdling is offline  
Old 04-01-2012, 06:30 AM
  #22422  
Tech Adept
 
Chaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bundok ng Tralala
Posts: 176
Default

Just a quick question, Just got a new Rs pro, and doing some settings.


how much boost you guys would recommend for an 8.5T motor. Usually, what would be the general rule in setting out your boost. I am running on asphalt with about 150~200m straight with few curves, 180 deg turns.... I just set my FDR to 8.

Any inputs would be very much approciated.

Thanks in advance.
Chaya is offline  
Old 04-01-2012, 10:25 AM
  #22423  
Tech Master
 
wingman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tewkesbury, UK via Plymouth, UK.
Posts: 1,259
Default

Originally Posted by ATLASCOPCO View Post
thanks for that but i still have no joy....
I have now fitted a different brand of controller in and it works a treat
Yep, the motors really have some punch with those magnets in them!
wingman2 is offline  
Old 04-01-2012, 07:46 PM
  #22424  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: home of the GATOR NATION
Posts: 240
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hi all... I have been running the RS Pro for about 1.5 years and have always been running what the other guy has been running, there setups never really worked for me. I knew there had to be a way to make a set up for me to suit my driving style. So 2 weeks ago i started reading through the thread I just picked a page to start, I started on page 1350. Well when I made it to 1399 there it was, a person posting how to build a profile from scratch. Harry Leach was the poster. So I took his advise and started a base profile on Thursday. I was at the track today for our club race (Superior Hobbies in Cassleberry,FL) 120' x 60'. Normaly for the track I usually gear 6.0 to 6.3 with small changes due to layout. I did spend some time on the laptop to get it ironed out when I got to the track but the car was quick without the turbo, I did end up adding a little turbo but not like I had in it with previous setups. The car ran cool almost to cool. I was adding a tooth at a time, with the Florida heat adding to many teeth at a time could be bad. After the final race running hard for 6 min. still only 125 deg. so theres room for more gear.

Thanks, Harry Leach, Randy Pike, 20 Smoke you guy`s give some good info.


Anyway if you have the time to read there is some good info here.

Steve P.
srp67 is offline  
Old 04-01-2012, 07:53 PM
  #22425  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (103)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,437
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

i know what it's like running in this FL heat,when you can make a run with a track temp of 150* and still come off at 155-160 i think your(me) doing something right
20 SMOKE is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.