Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored >

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Reply

Old 02-21-2012, 07:40 AM
  #22096  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (21)
 
rdlkgliders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: So. Cal High Desert Hobbies
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Odin544 View Post
Try a different servo. Something other than savox.
I wish it were that easy. Last year I ran airtronics same problem.
rdlkgliders is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 07:54 AM
  #22097  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rdlkgliders View Post
I wish it were that easy. Last year I ran airtronics same problem.
Exactly, it will be happening more with these very powerful, read power hungry, servos.

Spektrums get hit harder due to their ID protocols and have to establish a link once the existing one is lost (handshake) whereas the FHSS radios are able to pick up a new frequency quicker (frequency hopping).

The other thing is that most people I talk to are unaware that even if they put in a high voltage servo that it only gets what the ESC BEC is putting out which is about 5 to 6 volts. If you really want high voltage in an electric you will need to wire the servo to an external BEC that is adjustable to 7.4 volts. The other option is to use a 2S lipo receiver pack.
AreCee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 10:03 AM
  #22098  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,964
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Couldnt you just run the HV servos power wire to the bat+ on the ESC, the signal wire to the receiver, and the gnd wire to the ESC switch (2s setups)?
DaveW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 10:05 AM
  #22099  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,964
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Oh, and i run Savox servos without issues. Airtronics M8 with FHSS-2 module conversion. From what i read seems mostly Spektrum has the problem with Savox servos...
DaveW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 10:13 AM
  #22100  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DaveW View Post
From what i read seems mostly Spektrum has the problem with Savox servos...
This is precisely why I wont waste my money on a Savox servo. But I dont have a Spektrum either. I run a Futaba 4PL and either use Futaba servos or the XP servos from AE. Never had a single issue ever. And no need for a booster, external bec, or receiver pack.
Odin544 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 10:16 AM
  #22101  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,964
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

My only beef with the Savox servos are the noise. I guess its a digital thing tho. I was so used to using older Sanwa 94257 or 357 servos that were basically silent.

I cant use the AE servos... they are too slow for my tastes...
DaveW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 10:19 AM
  #22102  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Odin544 View Post
This is precisely why I wont waste my money on a Savox servo. But I dont have a Spektrum either. I run a Futaba 4PL and either use Futaba servos or the XP servos from AE. Never had a single issue ever. And no need for a booster, external bec, or receiver pack.
That's fine if you are pleased with the 5 to 6 volt performance you get with the ESC's internal BEC but if you want to use the high voltage servos you will need to use an external BEC or direct wire the servo to the ESC battery posts. Go to 3S and now you have to use an external BEC which is what we use in crawlers.

Now if you are using a nitro then just just a 2S Lipo receiver pack.
AreCee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 10:21 AM
  #22103  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

I need to become a better driver before I can worry about a .03 second faster servo making a difference!
Odin544 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 10:23 AM
  #22104  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AreCee View Post
That's fine if you are pleased with the 5 to 6 volt performance you get with the ESC's internal BEC but if you want to use the high voltage servos you will need to use an external BEC or direct wire the servo to the ESC battery posts. Go to 3S and now you have to use an external BEC which is what we use in crawlers.

Now if you are using a nitro then just just a 2S Lipo receiver pack.
This is true. I have no experience with nitro or anything more than 2s. I did have to use a receive pack once for my oval car on 1s. But that was because I was running a Tekin esc.
Odin544 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 10:24 AM
  #22105  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Odin544 View Post
I need to become a better driver before I can worry about a .03 second faster servo making a difference!
It's more for the torque than speed and it's more than .03 seconds since most servos at 5V are .15 or slower.
AreCee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 10:27 AM
  #22106  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Odin544 View Post
This is true. I have no experience with nitro or anything more than 2s. I did have to use a receive pack once for my oval car on 1s. But that was because I was running a Tekin esc.
On 1S unless the ESC has a built in booster you have to use either a receiver pack or booster regardless of the ESC brand. (Servo's and receiver's low end voltage is around 4.2 V which is what a fully charged fresh 1S puts out.)
AreCee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 10:35 AM
  #22107  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Enough about the servos and let's get back to the issue on hand which is to use 222 when it becomes rereleased.
AreCee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 10:48 AM
  #22108  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AreCee View Post
Enough about the servos and let's get back to the issue on hand which is to use 222 when it becomes rereleased.
222 has come and gone. I want to know more about the new RSX
Odin544 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 10:56 AM
  #22109  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Odin544 View Post
I want to know more about the new RSX
+1
Buckaroo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 11:05 AM
  #22110  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,146
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Odin544 View Post
222 has come and gone. I want to know more about the new RSX
Ah yes .. Does the RSX mean RS+Xtra booster (built in) for the 1s crowd? I hope it does.
ByteStream is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service