R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-13-2012, 02:25 AM   #21916
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EskimoGangsta View Post
I posted about this Saturday night after my race with a 80ft straight. i only run 1 cap, could another cap help with braking? if so i think i may rig up a row of like 5 caps and 2face tape it beside the esc.

Anyways post it in my thread http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...-problems.html

randy has responded and i hope if we get enough complaints we'll get something to help. but you must like how smooth it was though!!
FWIW, I do not think adding another cap will assist with any braking issues.

I am led to believe that the cap only helps with cooling the ESC, not assist with braking.

Have you checked your endpoints are correct, the ABS on the transmitter is turned off and the NW is not too wide? Brake strength may also be something to look at

It is not something I have heard is an issue whilst I was on the team in 2011, but it is early days I guess.
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 03:11 AM   #21917
Tech Apprentice
 
91420l's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EskimoGangsta View Post
Locked spec from what i read is exact to blinky EXCEPT you need to hotwire it to get it out of locked spec so you cant cheat at the track after spec and pop it into boost then back off boost after the race. just a better feature to keep spec racing true. i like it

Thanks for your advise!
__________________
---------------------------
Takeshi
91420l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 03:57 AM   #21918
Tech Regular
 
EskimoGangsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 306
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EskimoGangsta Send a message via MSN to EskimoGangsta Send a message via Skype™ to EskimoGangsta
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
FWIW, I do not think adding another cap will assist with any braking issues.

I am led to believe that the cap only helps with cooling the ESC, not assist with braking.

Have you checked your endpoints are correct, the ABS on the transmitter is turned off and the NW is not too wide? Brake strength may also be something to look at

It is not something I have heard is an issue whilst I was on the team in 2011, but it is early days I guess.
The cap is to help with surging, also it helps with keeping power smoother by allowing very small storage close to the esc. like what RAM is to a pc. and it's main reason is to help the bec with the servo. Just never herd anyone mention it help with braking, and to me it wouldn't make sense for it to. inless someone explains it to me
__________________
Live, Laugh, RC
EskimoGangsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 04:01 AM   #21919
Tech Regular
 
EskimoGangsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 306
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EskimoGangsta Send a message via MSN to EskimoGangsta Send a message via Skype™ to EskimoGangsta
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
FWIW, I do not think adding another cap will assist with any braking issues.

I am led to believe that the cap only helps with cooling the ESC, not assist with braking.

Have you checked your endpoints are correct, the ABS on the transmitter is turned off and the NW is not too wide? Brake strength may also be something to look at

It is not something I have heard is an issue whilst I was on the team in 2011, but it is early days I guess.

Oh ya and to add I've set up many cars before and i understand how to set it up perfectly, i've re calibrated many times and even calibrated epa 100/60, then after calibration set to 100/120 so theoretically it'd be %200 brakes even though i know that's not how it works, and it didn't change anything..
__________________
Live, Laugh, RC
EskimoGangsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 05:57 AM   #21920
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Thumbs up

222 ftw

Much, much better feel, improved brake feel, and braking power here.

Thanks again Tekin.
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 05:59 AM   #21921
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 92
Default

The caps are there to aid cooling for the brakes, as well as smooth out power. My thought is that perhaps the brakes are taking a beating trying to anchor the car up from full speed (VERY FULL SPEED) to very low speed. I havent had issue with brakes before, as normally we are going into corners etc so some is scrubbed off with the turn in. However I was on the 212 software revision then.

This would be asking the speedo to really work hard, and alot of drivers found their motors hotter than normal as the track was a real speed circuit with high acceleration and hard braking zones.

I will check the EPA tonight, but I had reset the speedo that morning, setting neutral, full throttle and brake, so this would be @ 100% of the stick movement anyway (regardless of EPA).

The new software does make the car smoother to drive. The boost comes in better as does the turbo feel as well. It is more controlled. I was ripping up to people under accelration and speed so nothing wrong there at all !
Jo90uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 07:53 AM   #21922
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jo90uk View Post
The caps are there to aid cooling for the brakes, as well as smooth out power. My thought is that perhaps the brakes are taking a beating trying to anchor the car up from full speed (VERY FULL SPEED) to very low speed. I havent had issue with brakes before, as normally we are going into corners etc so some is scrubbed off with the turn in. However I was on the 212 software revision then.

This would be asking the speedo to really work hard, and alot of drivers found their motors hotter than normal as the track was a real speed circuit with high acceleration and hard braking zones.

I will check the EPA tonight, but I had reset the speedo that morning, setting neutral, full throttle and brake, so this would be @ 100% of the stick movement anyway (regardless of EPA).

The new software does make the car smoother to drive. The boost comes in better as does the turbo feel as well. It is more controlled. I was ripping up to people under accelration and speed so nothing wrong there at all !
I know it is a bit of a false answer, but does adding drag brake help slow the car down? What you are describing sounds very odd and not something I have experienced on any software version, and I have used most if not all from V196...

My transmitter currently needs to go in for repair, as it cannot find anything below neutral point. So I cannot comment on any testing on the latest software for now....
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 07:58 AM   #21923
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

My only other thought is that the RS/Pro does not like other motors characteristics/build design... But I would not understand why this would be an issue.

Do you have a different motor to try, simply in an logical way to eliminate the prefered motor?

I only have experience of the Redline 13.5, so my knowledge cannot be used in this area.
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 08:06 AM   #21924
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by littlealex View Post
does the new program do anything to blinky mode?
I ran 212 and then 222 back to back this weekend and noticed the throttle was much smoother...Didnt think it was gonna make a difference in 17.5t blinky but it did...

It was weird at first, but after a couple runs it felt good.
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 09:21 AM   #21925
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Those of you who are having brake issues. I want to know what motor(brand and wind) and your esc setups.

Also for those that have posted already there is NO need to have a ramp rate of 3.0 in a TC car. If you're doing this you're likely overheating your motor internally which will in turn reduce it's braking power.

Adding a 2nd cap would help the esc run cooler thus potentially preventing brake fade. However you your brakes would fade during the run noticeably.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 09:37 AM   #21926
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 157
Send a message via AIM to Matt W
Default Motor temps

Hi,

Will the new 222 software make the motor run any cooler? If it will by how much do u think?
Matt W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 11:30 AM   #21927
Tech Regular
 
EskimoGangsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 306
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EskimoGangsta Send a message via MSN to EskimoGangsta Send a message via Skype™ to EskimoGangsta
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Those of you who are having brake issues. I want to know what motor(brand and wind) and your esc setups.

Also for those that have posted already there is NO need to have a ramp rate of 3.0 in a TC car. If you're doing this you're likely overheating your motor internally which will in turn reduce it's braking power.

Adding a 2nd cap would help the esc run cooler thus potentially preventing brake fade. However you your brakes would fade during the run noticeably.
I tried both 2.0 ramp and 3.0 ramp on the weekend and when i switched to 3.0 i did get a slightly faster lap time and i was the fastest car going through the sweeper by far. I'm also a driver who doesn't like hitting full throttle all the time. I like having power there if i need a quick puch to overtake in the infield. and my brakes are weak from lap 1 with no noticeable change by the end of the race
__________________
Live, Laugh, RC
EskimoGangsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 05:52 PM   #21928
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

IF you're not hitting full throttle you're not getting turbo to begin with then.

Your setup appears off and you're not looking to try the changes we're suggesting?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 06:25 PM   #21929
Tech Regular
 
EskimoGangsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 306
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EskimoGangsta Send a message via MSN to EskimoGangsta Send a message via Skype™ to EskimoGangsta
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
IF you're not hitting full throttle you're not getting turbo to begin with then.

Your setup appears off and you're not looking to try the changes we're suggesting?
I don't have access to a track till this sunday and i'm writting down a whole bunch of things to try. the 2 major ones i'm going to try is buying a new cap altogether. maybe mines defective. and 2 lower gear ratio since i basically only ever hit full on the straightaway.
__________________
Live, Laugh, RC
EskimoGangsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 06:31 PM   #21930
Con
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brownsville Ont Canada
Posts: 178
Default

Here is my setup
LRP X12
4 dot timing on motor(-10*)
boost 50
5xxx start
18500end
10 turbo
2ramp
.5 delay
VC 2s
sensored onle
bl forward only with brake
push off
drag br off
brake str 100
rev off
throt min 10
neut width 7
brake min 10
track size is 40by 90 feet.
This is the exact same as i used for 212. Lower speed brakes are fine. But at the end of the straight the brakes are very weak. took me by surprize the first time.
Everything else is very good
The other problem that I am having is that hotwire program dosen't look or work quite right... If I use the up and down arrows to adjust settings it goes to the "curves" screen.I can use the slider just fine tho. Same with selcting sensord only and locked spec. I can't see all the motor type adjustments just the first two letters BL andBR the rest is covered by the setup notes. Same with the turbo delay numbers they are half there

is every one using the full or the expess setup
I have tried both the EXE and the ZIP with the same results
I am useing windows 7. Am I missing somthing with the install or deleting 212
Thanks in advance Randy
Con is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:19 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net