Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored >

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Reply

Old 02-12-2012, 11:33 AM
  #21886  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
EskimoGangsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 306
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by L.Fairtrace View Post
I have been running a version of this software for about 2 months now and I have found the brakes to be more than adequate in blinky/boosted and mod

Last night we were messing around with Hanulecs car in Modified with a 4.0 and boost.

He set the rpm range at like 30k-70k I believe and the car was way driveable. With a little tweaking I think it could be great in modified too.

And again no issues with braking. With the brakes turned up all the way it would of stripped the spur gear.


I think one problem is people rely too heavy on the brakes. There are other ways to drive a car other than driving it into the apex and slamming the brakes.
Like you said i never use full brakes and usually have mine at 65% and still cant use full. but then with 222 i had 100/100 and i was being underbraked like no tomorrow on this super high traction track
EskimoGangsta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 12:49 PM
  #21887  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
warnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 522
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

ESC set to 80% with 17.5 boosted and the car has heaps of brakes. Have had to turn it down on the EPA to fine tune it... really like how smooth the car is now. Motor is a D3 FDR @ 6.0..
warnos is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 01:57 PM
  #21888  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
EskimoGangsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 306
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by warnos View Post
ESC set to 80% with 17.5 boosted and the car has heaps of brakes. Have had to turn it down on the EPA to fine tune it... really like how smooth the car is now. Motor is a D3 FDR @ 6.0..
It's really weird. On 212 i used 65% And had tones of brakes. 222 i just had nothing. I was on a super super high tac indoor carpet.

17.5 boosted D3 motor (only 8 race weekend on it) FDR @ 5.3 100% esc brakes and Transmitter set to 100% with the softest brakes i've ever had.
EskimoGangsta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 02:47 PM
  #21889  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,756
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Just loaded the new software on my windows 7 64 bit system with no problems. Anyone have a good setup for 17.5 boosted touring car on 120 foot straight on asphalt?
MUDVAYNE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 03:41 PM
  #21890  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
JEFFs SC10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlandooooo, Fl
Posts: 3,944
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone had this problem before?

My tekin stopped working after a lightly hit a pipe. I brought into the pits and then it started getting really hot and smoking! It got so hot that one of the gold posts came off the esc.

Just my luck, I was starting to get the hang of running my buggy too. Fail.
JEFFs SC10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 04:14 PM
  #21891  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,045
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gonzo416 View Post
This really sucks. The throttle is like an on/off switch. I should have just left the 212 in. So much for the trophy race!!!
I have 5 Tekins to reprogram back to 212. WTF
Did you put all of your same settings from 212 in? You should feel the difference between 212 and 222.
STLNLST is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 04:29 PM
  #21892  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by L.Fairtrace View Post
Sometimes I wonder if I'm living in an alternate universe than some people on RCtech.

Yup. 222 is SO much smoother than 212. This is gonna keep me from buying any more blue product for a while.
Buckaroo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 04:39 PM
  #21893  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (29)
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Posts: 760
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

I'm not understanding the people saying the brakes are weaker with 222 than with 212. I put the same settings in as I had with 212, and the drag brake feels almost twice as strong and will the brakes at 100% the brakes will lock all for Durango wheels instantly!
Walkman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 04:56 PM
  #21894  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (40)
 
rangerjkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,488
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Tried the v222 Software yesterday (TC, 10.5 Boosted, Outdoor asphalt) and provided the smoothest operation I've felt in an ESC. No problems with breaking power. Car was a tad slower with identical Timing Tab inputs (Boost, Turbo, etc) carry over from v212. Changed back to v212 to compete vs. use the day to test at points series race. Looking forward to a testing day to dial in the new software and enjoy it's new attributes. Are the timing settings identical to v212 incraments?
rangerjkb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 06:26 PM
  #21895  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: norfolk, va
Posts: 658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

PROPS TO TEKIN!!!! Best version yet, 222 rocks.
chief1476 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 07:01 PM
  #21896  
Con
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brownsville Ont Canada
Posts: 178
Default

this may be a dumb Q. what is the differance between the EXE file and the ZIP file ? what one should I use for Windows 7
Thanks
Con is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 07:43 PM
  #21897  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 1,807
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

I am using a Tekin RS in my 12th scale and would like to remove the power switch (since the one for my booster is the one that actually works, and also because the switch got destroyed when someone t-boned me). Is this as simple as cutting off the switch and soldering the wires together?
LloydLoar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 07:53 PM
  #21898  
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Default

Originally Posted by LloydLoar View Post
I am using a Tekin RS in my 12th scale and would like to remove the power switch (since the one for my booster is the one that actually works, and also because the switch got destroyed when someone t-boned me). Is this as simple as cutting off the switch and soldering the wires together?
If you your booster switch to turn everything on, and don't use the LVC on your RS, it's as simple as cutting off the switch and NOT connecting them.

If you solder the wires together, the RS will be on whenever the battery is connected, even if it doesn't arm.
HarryLeach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:02 PM
  #21899  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
EskimoGangsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 306
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Con View Post
this may be a dumb Q. what is the differance between the EXE file and the ZIP file ? what one should I use for Windows 7
Thanks
Exe is a ready to run file as the zip is compressed to save from dl so much. but after downloading you need to unzip it and run the exe file. it's fairly simple. both the same and the software is so small, if you have highspeed just dl exe
EskimoGangsta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:04 PM
  #21900  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,756
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Con View Post
this may be a dumb Q. what is the differance between the EXE file and the ZIP file ? what one should I use for Windows 7
Thanks
I ran the .exe file and it didn't take long at all. I ran it in windows 7 64 bit.
MUDVAYNE is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service