R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2012, 12:01 AM   #21871
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Tekin did a great job with this update, faultless installation on my XP and Win 7 machines. Upgraded all of my RS Pro's, no issues, running without issues in 13.5 boosted and TC Mod. Next on the list to test is 1/12 Mod but I'm not expecting any issues there either.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 01:24 AM   #21872
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,195
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

How do I get the RS into Blinky mode?
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 01:49 AM   #21873
Tech Master
 
Sith Lord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canberra, ACT, Australia
Posts: 1,405
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K_King View Post
How do I get the RS into Blinky mode?
Can't remember exactly, but I found the instructions pretty clear on the website.
__________________
Tamiya XV-01 Rally :: Tamiya FAV 2011 :: Proline Pro2 SCB
Sith Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 01:57 AM   #21874
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K_King View Post
How do I get the RS into Blinky mode?
You have to select with the Hotwire now, under the timing menu at the bottom there is check box for Locked Spec.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 02:06 AM   #21875
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,195
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

Well thankfully theres a locked checkbox in the new 222 and it does it automatically
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 05:30 AM   #21876
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

So now you have to use the Hotwire to go into Blinky then what do you get when you button program to TP LED1 which used to be how to go into Blinky?

That was a nice feature so you didn't need a laptop to swicth from Blinky to Custom profiles.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 06:52 AM   #21877
Tech Master
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Seems to be some misinformation about blinky here.

TP 1 is STILL BLINKY, and can be accessed through the buttons(same as it ever was). Flashes lights 3 & 5.

LOCKED SPEC MODE is BLINKY, and can only be entered and exited through HotWire. Flashes lights 3, 4, & 5.
__________________
Tom Keith

Tekin & Sweep, thanks for all that you do for you know who!

Associated/T.O.P./Mugen/Fantom/Spektrum/Savox
Buckaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 07:21 AM   #21878
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AreCee View Post

That was a nice feature so you didn't need a laptop to swicth from Blinky to Custom profiles.
Yes very nice, and easy to cheat too. That's why they made a lockout mode. Can't switch to a timing profile on the grid.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckaroo View Post
Seems to be some misinformation about blinky here.

TP 1 is STILL BLINKY, and can be accessed through the buttons(same as it ever was). Flashes lights 3 & 5.

LOCKED SPEC MODE is BLINKY, and can only be entered and exited through HotWire. Flashes lights 3, 4, & 5.
Yep
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:21 AM   #21879
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I would like to know if anyone has a Tekin RS pro used for sale

destroyed my RS and want something for my WGT car

Inbox me please

Thanks Phil
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 10:49 AM   #21880
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just to clarify, EskimoGangsta and all the other guys he's talking about that have problems with the brakes in 222, were all running 17.5 boosted.

I think all the responses so far saying the brakes are great are just from guys running blinky. Anyone running boosted 17.5?

I'm going to try 222 next weekend. I updated a bunch of people at the track yesterday, but didn't put one of my RS pros back in my own boosted TC yet. Mainly out of laziness, but I also didn't want to make any major changes to the feel of my car with no testing, on a big race day.
__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 10:51 AM   #21881
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K_King View Post
How do I get the RS into Blinky mode?
Timing profile 1 or choose "spec lockout" in the Hotwire.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 11:16 AM   #21882
Tech Elite
 
speedybill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belpre, Ohio
Posts: 2,346
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Wink

Tried the new '222'

even the drag brakes felt smoother

Props to Tekin, nice job

Thankx, Bill
__________________
ROAR member #5-120259
www.speedybillsrc.com
www.ovrccc.com
Sweep Racing Tires
speedybill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 11:26 AM   #21883
Tech Elite
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,772
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to L.Fairtrace
Default

I have been running a version of this software for about 2 months now and I have found the brakes to be more than adequate in blinky/boosted and mod

Last night we were messing around with Hanulecs car in Modified with a 4.0 and boost.

He set the rpm range at like 30k-70k I believe and the car was way driveable. With a little tweaking I think it could be great in modified too.

And again no issues with braking. With the brakes turned up all the way it would of stripped the spur gear.


I think one problem is people rely too heavy on the brakes. There are other ways to drive a car other than driving it into the apex and slamming the brakes.
__________________
Awesomatix USA - EaMotorsports - RocheUSA - MonTech - Sanwa - BSR Racing Tires - TQ Wire - Solaris Racing Tires - Side Piece Racing

180 and 360 Raceway. Best on the East Coast. Take your pick
L.Fairtrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 11:35 AM   #21884
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,195
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

Is running modified on an RS not the norm?
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 11:53 AM   #21885
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by L.Fairtrace View Post
I have been running a version of this software for about 2 months now and I have found the brakes to be more than adequate in blinky/boosted and mod

Last night we were messing around with Hanulecs car in Modified with a 4.0 and boost.

He set the rpm range at like 30k-70k I believe and the car was way driveable. With a little tweaking I think it could be great in modified too.

And again no issues with braking. With the brakes turned up all the way it would of stripped the spur gear.


I think one problem is people rely too heavy on the brakes. There are other ways to drive a car other than driving it into the apex and slamming the brakes.
Thanks Larry. I'm looking forward to trying it out.

The layout we were running on has a very abrupt turn at the end of the straight and it's ridiculously high traction there, so I can understand the guys noticing softer brakes and not liking it too much. The ESC I'm currently using has much softer brakes since it's last update. I didn't like it at first either, but I got used to it and I think it improved my driving as a result. I would not be surprised at all if the weak brakes reported are actually stronger than what I have right now
__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:24 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net