R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-10-2012, 08:25 PM   #21811
Tech Master
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HB Moose View Post
Installing on win 7 64. Deleted everything Tekin first. It installs but shows only 212 for versions. One thing I noticed is the hotwire software version shows as 8.7.2 on the help tab on startup.
I did the same. I see the throttle curve option but says it is not supported with this version.

Randy, After install is it supposed to show 222 on the current version in the Hotwire interface?
gonzo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 08:26 PM   #21812
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Victoria B.C Canada
Posts: 390
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I'm running a net book with win7 pro and the only way I can get the 222 to work is to set the file properties to run in win98 service pack3 compatibility mode.

I did a fresh install and deleted all the hidden files but I could only get it to show 212 so this was the only way to get it any ideas?

GW
__________________
Gorden
light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 08:30 PM   #21813
Tech Master
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

I would think if 222 is installed, the Hotwire interface should show 222, not 212.
gonzo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 08:40 PM   #21814
Tech Initiate
 
duggyload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 44
Default

Love it
Installed on windows 7 1st time no problems
And the buttons seem to be sorted
Thanks Tekin
duggyload is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 08:42 PM   #21815
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

For those having issues...did you do an uninstall before deleting the 212 files or did you just delete? The 2 are vastly different so if you just deleted you probably missed files in other locations and registry entries. If you still have the old version install files you might try reinstalling that and then either uninstalling it through control panel or just installing the new version over it.

I just installed mine without uninstalling the old version on Win7 basic and had no issues at all.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 08:44 PM   #21816
Tech Master
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
For those having issues...did you do an uninstall before deleting the 212 files or did you just delete? The 2 are vastly different so if you just deleted you probably missed files in other locations and registry entries. If you still have the old version install files you might try reinstalling that and then either uninstalling it through control panel or just installing the new version over it.

I just installed mine without uninstalling the old version on Win7 basic and had no issues at all.
Does it show 222 in the Tekin interface?
gonzo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 09:55 PM   #21817
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HB Moose View Post
Installing on win 7 64. Deleted everything Tekin first. It installs but shows only 212 for versions. One thing I noticed is the hotwire software version shows as 8.7.2 on the help tab on startup.
Did you hit "advanced" and then select 222 and update your esc?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 10:30 PM   #21818
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Where ever I may roam
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tallyrc View Post
i'd need a lot more info than that.. track type, 2s or 1s? traction?
Track type = Asphalt
2s or 1s - 2s
traction - however it is on the day - but probably low to medium traction most of the time
NomadRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 11:49 PM   #21819
Tech Elite
 
JEFFs SC10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlandooooo, Fl
Posts: 3,871
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Default

Got this esc and love it. Ive seen the light.
__________________
XRAY T4 17' //CRC Gen X SE- 17.5 GT//Xray X12-17' GT12//Xray X12-18' 17.5
check out the new 12th scale GT class!
https://www.facebook.com/groups/148391312353349/
JEFFs SC10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 12:28 AM   #21820
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 220
Default

thanks guys, new software looks great. Installed no dramas on 2 win 7 machines 1 32bit and 1 64bit. Can't wait to give it a try but have to wait a couple of weeks
__________________
http://rcgtpancars.blogspot.com/
chris_blakey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 12:42 AM   #21821
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyU View Post
When I was setting up my RS with the 222, there was an "active braking" section. I was moving the bar up and down and it disappeared from the dashboard. What happened?
I noticed the same problem! I was starting to think that I was hallucinating. "Active braking" seems really useful (something I've been wanting for a long time). My Hotwire install showed it at first, but now it's gone! I think it's a bug in the software, because I have a clean install and it showed up initially but disappeared soon after I changed a few parameters.
Potato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 01:13 AM   #21822
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 87
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I guess I am the first to crash the string of good news.

I have been having issue with the car losing speed after about 4 minutes for a while (feels like the car just lost all boost - no punch, no top speed). After updating to the new software, this happens after 3-4 laps.

Turn the car off for a few minutes - it will run fine for 3-4 laps then same thing happens.

Initially I thought that it was my motor (13.5 speed passion MMM) over heating (about 70 degrees after 6 minutes run) but since then I have tried different gearing/less boost - nothing helps - even if the temp was under 60 degrees.

Got a new motor (13.5 turn team powers) thinking that was the problem - installed it and run a safe boost setting - 30 boost/ 10 turbo - same thing happens

So I guess the question will be is my ECS gone?

its 4 months old and only ran in 1 race day. Never ran above 3 LED on the internal temp monitor. everything resoldered to check for bad connections. Also tried different batteries

thanks for the help
__________________
Tamiya - TRF 417V5 - Smokem - Hobbywing V3 - Reedy Sonic 4.5 Mach2
Sanwa M12
iwkyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 01:18 AM   #21823
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo416 View Post
Does it show 222 in the Tekin interface?
Yes mine worked fine right from the get go.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 05:49 AM   #21824
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iwkyb View Post
I guess I am the first to crash the string of good news.

I have been having issue with the car losing speed after about 4 minutes for a while (feels like the car just lost all boost - no punch, no top speed). After updating to the new software, this happens after 3-4 laps.

Turn the car off for a few minutes - it will run fine for 3-4 laps then same thing happens.

Initially I thought that it was my motor (13.5 speed passion MMM) over heating (about 70 degrees after 6 minutes run) but since then I have tried different gearing/less boost - nothing helps - even if the temp was under 60 degrees.

Got a new motor (13.5 turn team powers) thinking that was the problem - installed it and run a safe boost setting - 30 boost/ 10 turbo - same thing happens

So I guess the question will be is my ECS gone?

its 4 months old and only ran in 1 race day. Never ran above 3 LED on the internal temp monitor. everything resoldered to check for bad connections. Also tried different batteries

thanks for the help
A couple of things to check. First I would do the firmware update over again. Then recalibrate the ESC to your radio. Also check your sensor harness and make sure it is not loose are has any broken leads. You can see how to check your sensor board here.
In the software make sure that you have selected sensored only mode.
At the out chance that your radio end points wander a bit, if your radio allows it move your throttle high end point up a couple of percent. The default on my radio is 70% so I can go up quite a bit from the default. I have seen this in a few instances where the radio is not making the ESC see full throttle every time. Just giving your end point a bump might help.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 06:12 AM   #21825
Tech Master
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Did you hit "advanced" and then select 222 and update your esc?
I hit advanced and all it shows is 212.
gonzo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:13 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net