R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-20-2011, 01:43 PM   #21586
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wollow86 View Post
Thanks guys, I'll give that a try. I'll be doing testing early in the new year, I'll let you know how it goes.

One question though. The above suggestion of 52/15 5.6 fdr, gives a total of 67* of boost. I thought that there was a limit of 65 before you went over to the next phase of the motor?
Yep, that's why Randy and M-technic told you to put 50 boost and 10 turbo
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 01:48 PM   #21587
Tech Addict
 
wollow86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hobart
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Haha, awesome. It's why I've always stopped at a total of 60 (including motor). Helps to be sure though. I did try 63 once, and the motor sounded funny, so I decided that probably wasn't good and stopped. Lol.
__________________
Supporting Aussie hobby shops:
- www.MRJRacing.com.au - - www.feralbatteries.com.au - - www.actionrc.com.au -
wollow86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 12:09 AM   #21588
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wollow86 View Post
Thanks guys, I'll give that a try. I'll be doing testing early in the new year, I'll let you know how it goes.

One question though. The above suggestion of 52/15 5.6 fdr, gives a total of 67* of boost. I thought that there was a limit of 65 before you went over to the next phase of the motor?
Yip I had a finger error with the turbo value, I meant to type 13. It's a very aggressive setup but I've run it very reliably the whole year without any failures.

You should really feel the car come alive on the infield by upping the boost from 40 to 50 and speed on the straight should be very similar.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 01:42 AM   #21589
Tech Addict
 
wollow86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hobart
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitee View Post
Yip I had a finger error with the turbo value, I meant to type 13. It's a very aggressive setup but I've run it very reliably the whole year without any failures.

You should really feel the car come alive on the infield by upping the boost from 40 to 50 and speed on the straight should be very similar.
Awesome cant wait to test. Just unboxed my d3, excited for racing next year.
__________________
Supporting Aussie hobby shops:
- www.MRJRacing.com.au - - www.feralbatteries.com.au - - www.actionrc.com.au -
wollow86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 04:07 PM   #21590
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 50
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowAu View Post
Yup... Linux is just so well written that some distributions can't even mange to change the system time and date without resorting to half a page of terminal commands...

Don't see what you are trying to gain by coming on here and trying to blame your PERSONAL computing choices and your next product purchase on Tekin
WOW, how this turned into my choice of OS is confusing. Must have been the tangent we took.

My point was I am not going to buy a replacement for my netbook (OS does not matter). That being the case, an alternate update device would be nice. Also before another person says "use the buttons" NO. I would rather spend $1000 to refit all my cars then use those tiny little buttons with some cryptic light display to change my settings.

ON a side note: if you take more then 3 commands to change system time you need to either get a new distro or an education.
Mr Granone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 04:14 PM   #21591
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 50
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wollow86 View Post
Haha, awesome. It's why I've always stopped at a total of 60 (including motor). Helps to be sure though. I did try 63 once, and the motor sounded funny, so I decided that probably wasn't good and stopped. Lol.
Thanks for this info. I turned my turbo and boost down just a bit so combined it was 60. Now the car has come to life in the infield as well. It is still smooth also. Thanks again.
Mr Granone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 04:16 PM   #21592
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,620
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone seen this yet?

http://www.redrc.net/2011/12/speed-p...sc/#more-50147

Should be interesting to see who follows this trend.
MUDVAYNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 09:24 PM   #21593
Tech Master
 
Drillit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oreganastan Pacific Wonderland home to Indoor Farming
Posts: 1,059
Default

Great.........More gimmicks, and I bet still won't run 1cell competitively

Tekin, Keep up the Good Work! Solid Competition products will hold market share, please leave the "gimmick bs" to the 'sport' crowd. When they want to win, they will know where and what to buy.
__________________
Mark Tilley
Got T-Bar ? ......... Oregons No ZigZag rule sucks
Bias the weight to the end you want to hit the wall with first!
Searchin fer answers in the Fog.......that's what I found
Drillit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 09:24 PM   #21594
Tech Master
 
ShadowAu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere you'd never heard of
Posts: 1,531
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

__________________
I am quite content with doing what I do

Don't mistake not being happy for unhappiness - its not the same thing

Last edited by ShadowAu; 12-21-2011 at 09:27 PM. Reason: blah
ShadowAu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 09:53 PM   #21595
Tech Regular
 
I.T.Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: BoogieDown Denver
Posts: 292
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Granone View Post

ON a side note: if you take more then 3 commands to change system time you need to either get a new distro or an education.
Yup, I think an education would be in order or you can always go down to the local mall and get yourself the "Fisher Price" of computers (Mac)...
I.T.Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 10:17 PM   #21596
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drillit View Post
Great.........More gimmicks, and I bet still won't run 1cell competitively.
But I'd bet it will run mod competitively.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drillit View Post
Tekin, Keep up the Good Work! Solid Competition products will hold market share, please leave the "gimmick bs" to the 'sport' crowd. When they want to win, they will know where and what to buy.
Hmm .. typical fanboy response of "if Tekin didn't make it, it's crap". The speedo is not even released yet .. so hold your judgement. Tekin customers have been asking for a different programming method sans laptop for a while .. and if someone else does it, it's a gimmick?
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | KO Propo | Hobbywing HWNA | R1Wurks | BSR Tires
5280 Raceway - www.5280raceway.com
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 19-22nd 2018 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 10:55 PM   #21597
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Byte your avatar shows where you stand I suppose.

Regardless gimmick are features in some peoples eyes.

Our customers requests and opinions don't ever fall on a deaf ear. 2012 will be another great year for Team Tekin.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 11:00 PM   #21598
Tech Addict
 
wollow86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hobart
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUDVAYNE View Post
Has anyone seen this yet?

http://www.redrc.net/2011/12/speed-p...sc/#more-50147

Should be interesting to see who follows this trend.
I'm sure I read somewhere in a rule book that ESC settings cant be changed wirelessly or where the car is on the track. I don't remember what rule set it was (either ROAR or AARCMCC), but I'm sure I remember something about that...
__________________
Supporting Aussie hobby shops:
- www.MRJRacing.com.au - - www.feralbatteries.com.au - - www.actionrc.com.au -
wollow86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 11:09 PM   #21599
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowAu View Post
Linux is just so well written that some distributions can't even mange to change the system time and date without resorting to half a page of terminal commands.
# ntpdate time.nist.gov

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drillit View Post
Great.........More gimmicks, and I bet still won't run 1cell competitively.
I bet its throttle won't feel like a GTB with half the FETs burned up either.

It's called innovation. I'm not surprised it's unfamiliar to this crowd.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 11:13 PM   #21600
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wollow86 View Post
I'm sure I read somewhere in a rule book that ESC settings cant be changed wirelessly or where the car is on the track. I don't remember what rule set it was (either ROAR or AARCMCC), but I'm sure I remember something about that...
I don't think the ESC has a radio in it. The radio is in the connecting device, and exposes it via BT or WiFi. Tekin could probably do this with a new hotwire, but nobody wants gimmicks. The ESC will need to power the device, most likely, since it's not connected to USB.

That said, I'm not sure MORE 2.4Ghz noise is what racetracks need.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:00 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net