R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-18-2011, 02:46 PM   #21571
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 50
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yeah I hear Apple makes a mean product. I for one am a Linux guy and if I could get Hotwire to work in Wine I would. However, it needs .Net 2.0 and Windows installer 3.1. Both of which are total junk and will not run in Wine. Oh well I guess it looks like I will be going with Speed Passion when the new one comes out.
Mr Granone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 01:24 PM   #21572
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 220
Default

Hi guys,

I have recently picked up a Speed Passion 1 Cell 10.5 motor.
I am going to be running it boosted in a 1 Cell WGT car with a tekin RS pro.
Can you guys recommend a rollout and any setting for the Tekin?

Cheers
Chris
__________________
http://rcgtpancars.blogspot.com/
chris_blakey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 05:24 PM   #21573
Tech Master
 
ShadowAu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere you'd never heard of
Posts: 1,531
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Granone View Post
Yeah I hear Apple makes a mean product. I for one am a Linux guy and if I could get Hotwire to work in Wine I would. However, it needs .Net 2.0 and Windows installer 3.1. Both of which are total junk and will not run in Wine. Oh well I guess it looks like I will be going with Speed Passion when the new one comes out.
Yup... Linux is just so well written that some distributions can't even mange to change the system time and date without resorting to half a page of terminal commands...

Don't see what you are trying to gain by coming on here and trying to blame your PERSONAL computing choices and your next product purchase on Tekin
__________________
I am quite content with doing what I do

Don't mistake not being happy for unhappiness - its not the same thing
ShadowAu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 07:55 PM   #21574
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Hey Guys, I blew up one of my RS esc's and was wandering how much it costs to send it back and have it fixed and also could i upgrade it to an RS PRO for an added cost. Thanks!
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 08:07 PM   #21575
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COLD AS ICE View Post
Hey Guys, I blew up one of my RS esc's and was wandering how much it costs to send it back and have it fixed and also could i upgrade it to an RS PRO for an added cost. Thanks!
yes you can upgrade its all on the service form,fill it out and GET A RA# before sending it in,contact randy or the tekin for one.http://www.teamtekin.com/Forms/6-10-...EST%20FORM.pdf
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 08:32 PM   #21576
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
yes you can upgrade its all on the service form,fill it out and GET A RA# before sending it in,contact randy or the tekin for one.http://www.teamtekin.com/Forms/6-10-...EST%20FORM.pdf
thanks! and will it allow me to pay using paypal?
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 10:42 PM   #21577
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Sorry No paypal...
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 04:36 AM   #21578
Tech Addict
 
wollow86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hobart
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wollow86 View Post
I'm ordering a epic d3 to run in 17.5 boosted TC, just wondering if anyone can tell me what my setup will be like compared to my current tekin redline? More or less gear/boost/turbo/delay? Or will my profile for the redline work the same on the d3?
No tips?
__________________
Supporting Aussie hobby shops:
- www.MRJRacing.com.au - - www.feralbatteries.com.au - - www.actionrc.com.au -
wollow86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 05:13 AM   #21579
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,238
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wollow86 View Post
No tips?
when I had my redline I was at 5.5fdr with less bost and turbo. With the D3 I ran more boost and more turbo with a 6.2fdr with almost the same temps as the Redine . 6.0 - 6.5 should be a good range for the D3 17.5
goots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 05:13 AM   #21580
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wollow86 View Post
No tips?
try one of the setups on tekins site
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 05:42 AM   #21581
Tech Addict
 
wollow86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hobart
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
try one of the setups on tekins site
To be honest on the main track I run they haven't been much help. To give you an idea I'm currently running 40 boost and 20 turbo with an FDR of 5.18... Which from what I understand is pretty argessive settings. Depending on air temp the redline comes off the track at about 85c after 6mins.

The info above helps me more that a d3 likes a higher fdr then a redline. Is that to do with a higher internal timing or something in the d3?

The biggest problem I have with my current setup is the second I get off the power (while in turbo) the car feels like I've used an off switch, not a throttle trigger, hoping the new software helps that when it comes out .

Thanks guys.
__________________
Supporting Aussie hobby shops:
- www.MRJRacing.com.au - - www.feralbatteries.com.au - - www.actionrc.com.au -
wollow86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 06:09 AM   #21582
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

@wollow86

I've tried running similar timing setups to what you have with lowish boost and really high turbo and to me it just never felt comfortable or easy to drive, I'd say that the amount of turbo you're running is driving up the motor temp and is the main reason for the switch like feel when you're coming out of full throttle.

Why not try something like this and see what it feels like.

Boost : 52
Turbo : 15
Start : 5k
End : 17k
Delay : 0.1

FDR : 5.68
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 07:06 AM   #21583
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wollow86 View Post
The biggest problem I have with my current setup is the second I get off the power (while in turbo) the car feels like I've used an off switch, not a throttle trigger, hoping the new software helps that when it comes out .

Thanks guys.
That's because turbo is on a time-delay, and when you lift, it disappears completely (unlike timing boost). Try 50 boost and 10 turbo, which is the same amount of timing overall, but it won't feel like a switch when you lift. If it still feels like a switch, stretch out your RPM range for the boost timing (i.e. raise your end RPM).

I doubt the new software would have any affect on that, as it is more of a setup issue than an ESC issue.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 11:49 AM   #21584
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wollow86 View Post
To be honest on the main track I run they haven't been much help. To give you an idea I'm currently running 40 boost and 20 turbo with an FDR of 5.18... Which from what I understand is pretty argessive settings. Depending on air temp the redline comes off the track at about 85c after 6mins.

The info above helps me more that a d3 likes a higher fdr then a redline. Is that to do with a higher internal timing or something in the d3?

The biggest problem I have with my current setup is the second I get off the power (while in turbo) the car feels like I've used an off switch, not a throttle trigger, hoping the new software helps that when it comes out .

Thanks guys.
Your high amount of turbo is causing this. You should not need 20 turbo. Raise boost to 50, lower turbo to 10. The car will be just as fast if not faster and temps will come down.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 01:38 PM   #21585
Tech Addict
 
wollow86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hobart
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys, I'll give that a try. I'll be doing testing early in the new year, I'll let you know how it goes.

One question though. The above suggestion of 52/15 5.6 fdr, gives a total of 67* of boost. I thought that there was a limit of 65 before you went over to the next phase of the motor?
__________________
Supporting Aussie hobby shops:
- www.MRJRacing.com.au - - www.feralbatteries.com.au - - www.actionrc.com.au -
wollow86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:07 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net