R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-15-2011, 09:58 AM   #21541
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,990
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_blakey View Post
Bluetooth would inevitably lead to bluetooth hacking! You know someone would try it. I think it is a good idea for logging purposes but not for tuning!
You could hack all the cars in your race and change their settings right before the loop goes live
__________________
Pimp Formally Known as OG
PFKAOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 10:51 AM   #21542
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PFKAOG View Post
You could hack all the cars in your race and change their settings right before the loop goes live
Or you could add some boost after you're on track in a blinky class and remove it before you went through tech again. I think blue tooth capability will just open the door wider for cheating. But no matter what you do, you will always have cheaters. Someone will always look for an advantage regardless of the rules.

I don't see why people have such an issue with taking a laptop to the track. I've got so much info saved on mine I want to take it. I've got all my manuals in PDF.

I'd like to see the Hotwire software be capable of saving setups so I can just load a file from my laptop, or save it to my laptop before I make changes so that I can easily go back to my standard settings.
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 10:55 AM   #21543
Tech Elite
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,503
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Leave it as a "hotwire" interface where something has to be plugged into the ESC. That way if people are cheating, you'll see the hotwire plugged into their car.

Cheaters will find a way to cheat with bluetooth or not.
__________________
"There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness. Which side are you on?"

“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” - John Wayne
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 11:04 AM   #21544
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Odin544 View Post
I'd like to see the Hotwire software be capable of saving setups so I can just load a file from my laptop, or save it to my laptop before I make changes so that I can easily go back to my standard settings.
Or if not the ability to save setups, the ability to read a simple text file that contains various settings, something like:

profile c1
boost 50
turbo 10
start 5000
end 20000
ramp 3
delay 0.3
neutral 10
drag 20

etc. Then you could manually have copies of settings and easily cut/paste into a simple text document. Human readable, able to be posted on web pages, etc.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 11:16 AM   #21545
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Everett
Posts: 1,428
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Not being able to save, import, and export settings has always been a pet peeve of mine with the Hotwire software. That and the interface. Why can't I import someone's settings? Writing down esc settings on a PDF seems so antiquated; you could easily export it to a text file, call it .tek and we would all be uploading and sharing our ESC Setups much easier.

As for cheating and Bluetooth, etc, easiest thing is if there is going to be a non-boost blinky class it should only allow non-updatable speed controls. All "blinky mode" has done is now given people the suspicion that the guy that just out motored them has "hacked" the software.

I've stopped running Tekin in my spec cars for this very reason.
Wes Briscoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 11:19 AM   #21546
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Or if not the ability to save setups, the ability to read a simple text file that contains various settings, something like:

profile c1
boost 50
turbo 10
start 5000
end 20000
ramp 3
delay 0.3
neutral 10
drag 20

etc. Then you could manually have copies of settings and easily cut/paste into a simple text document. Human readable, able to be posted on web pages, etc.

I know everyone will be pleased with the version after it is released
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 11:57 AM   #21547
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default esc

It would be nice if tekin had a way to plug in the hotwire without having to unplug the wire from the receiver. In offroad and some onroad cars its a real pain in the neck tp access the receiver in a box when the ESC is setting in the open. I remember at 1 time Novak had a place to tune the ESC with a micro usb. Any thoughts?
mdhyams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 12:00 PM   #21548
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 209
Default

Pleased to see we are moving back "on topic".

Peter
Pedro 51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 12:06 PM   #21549
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdhyams View Post
It would be nice if tekin had a way to plug in the hotwire without having to unplug the wire from the receiver. In offroad and some onroad cars its a real pain in the neck tp access the receiver in a box when the ESC is setting in the open. I remember at 1 time Novak had a place to tune the ESC with a micro usb. Any thoughts?
Speedo companies have to be careful now how they communicate and program via a cable. A certain speedo company out there does hold the patent for it and is the reason several companies are having issues with speedo releases and importing into the US right now.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 12:28 PM   #21550
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdhyams View Post
It would be nice if tekin had a way to plug in the hotwire without having to unplug the wire from the receiver. In offroad and some onroad cars its a real pain in the neck tp access the receiver in a box when the ESC is setting in the open. I remember at 1 time Novak had a place to tune the ESC with a micro usb. Any thoughts?
get a 3in extension wire,now you don't have to unplug it from the rx
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 12:44 PM   #21551
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
get a 3in extension wire,now you don't have to unplug it from the rx
You still have to unplug it from the extension which puts wear and tear on the plug and increases the likelyhood that a pin will not plug back in good...not to mention it is messy. I too would rather have a port on the ESC (or on the switch like the Viper) to plug the Hotwire into instead of the servo lead.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 12:49 PM   #21552
Tech Master
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Lightbulb

It's amazing how much adding a simple 3" servo entension relieves any trouble from accessing the RX to program the ESC.

Edit:Beaten to the punch!

Worried about wear and tear on the connector? Really? Do you program the ESC that often? For most normal humans, it's installed in the car, played with somewhat early on to get things close, and only fiddled with once in a while after that.

If anything does go bad, you you can open the case and solder in a new wire harness very easily. In fact, it's a common mod to upgrade the harness to larger wires and to open the hole in the case to prevent crimping of the wires that causes wire breakage.

By your logic, one more port is one MORE connector to worry about failing.
__________________
Tom Keith

Tekin & Sweep, thanks for all that you do for you know who!

Associated/T.O.P./Mugen/Fantom/Spektrum/Savox
Buckaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 12:54 PM   #21553
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default +1

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
You still have to unplug it from the extension which puts wear and tear on the plug and increases the likelyhood that a pin will not plug back in good...not to mention it is messy. I too would rather have a port on the ESC (or on the switch like the Viper) to plug the Hotwire into instead of the servo lead.
+1 just easier, nothing to unplug
mdhyams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 01:41 PM   #21554
Tech Master
 
HighLife420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,189
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to HighLife420 Send a message via AIM to HighLife420 Send a message via MSN to HighLife420 Send a message via Yahoo to HighLife420 Send a message via Skype™ to HighLife420
Default

the plastic will easily hold up, its the wire i would be worried about.

With the extention, you can grab it by the plastic and not by the wire, lasts much longer.
__________________
Dominic "Dom" Chin
TLR 22 (Tekin RS Pro, LRP X12 7.5t, Savox 1258TG)
MIP Pro4mance SCTE (Tekin RX8, Tekin Pro4 4600kv, JR Z9100s)
Ko Propo Eurus (EX10) Limited Edition
HighLife420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 01:47 PM   #21555
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
get a 3in extension wire,now you don't have to unplug it from the rx
You can relieve some of the stress on the plug by putting a piece of shrink wrap part way on the plug and the wire.this also gives you a hold on the plug for when you need to unplug it.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:28 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net