Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored >

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored

Reply

Old 12-12-2011, 08:46 AM
  #21421  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
j.d.roost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,087
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Yeah you're losing the sensors off and on.

First thing is to try a 2s supply pack. This eliminates the possibility of the sensors not getting enough voltage under a load. Boosters or a rx pack that can't sustain the load will cause this issue.

Next is the motor since you've tried harness's,etc.

If you have even a single sensor going in and out this will be the result.
Good deal Randy.
Will give that a shot.

BTW. The only reason the motor was free revving was because my phone
could not pick up the rpm "noise" when it was attached to the drive train.
Its was only for that video to show what was going on. (good looking out though).
j.d.roost is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 10:52 AM
  #21422  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Bay area, Ca.
Posts: 1,724
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by j.d.roost View Post
Good deal Randy.
Will give that a shot.

BTW. The only reason the motor was free revving was because my phone
could not pick up the rpm "noise" when it was attached to the drive train.
Its was only for that video to show what was going on. (good looking out though).
As has been discussed a few times before, if you are having strange behavior with your RS while using 1s, the first thing to test is whether or not it works normally with a 2s battery pack. Checking this will identify the majority of 1s complaints and usually point out a bad booster or receiver pack.
If you don't have one, you can be sure someone else does and it only takes a minute or two to test.
YoDog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 07:50 PM
  #21423  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, i usually run 12th scale at my local track but recently took an interest in 2wd stadium truck and buggy, both mod and was wandering if a regular RS can handle a 6.5 in dual mode in these classes if i also add more caps to the esc? thanks!
COLD AS ICE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 07:56 PM
  #21424  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 390
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by COLD AS ICE View Post
Hey guys, i usually run 12th scale at my local track but recently took an interest in 2wd stadium truck and buggy, both mod and was wandering if a regular RS can handle a 6.5 in dual mode in these classes if i also add more caps to the esc? thanks!
i run a b44 with a 6.5 in dual mode with no boost but max timeing and have no probelms with my normal rs.

ed
Edwin Pibal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 08:04 PM
  #21425  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Edwin Pibal View Post
i run a b44 with a 6.5 in dual mode with no boost but max timeing and have no probelms with my normal rs.

ed
sweet, thanks! what motor are you using and how many degrees timing on the endbell? Thanks!
COLD AS ICE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 04:15 AM
  #21426  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (101)
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,345
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by COLD AS ICE View Post
sweet, thanks! what motor are you using and how many degrees timing on the endbell? Thanks!
dual mode doesn't use endbell timing
20 SMOKE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 09:19 AM
  #21427  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (23)
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,777
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Been running the new software for a couple of weeks now.

I have found there are almost no downsides to it.

The dead feel of the throttle at the beginning is gone.

The first time I ran it in my boosted 17.5 car it took some laps to get used to the new throttle feel. Its much smoother with good mid range.

Motor temps stayed good. They may have gone up slightly but not enough for the improvements to far outweigh this possible side effect.

There are also a couple other cool features like being able to save your setup with notes. As well as the end rpm being adjustable to 99k rpm. For modified.

I haven't tried it with modified yet but I can image this will help greatly with throttle feel in mod also.

Tekin got it right this time with the software, the car was much easier to drive and still fast as hell.

Last edited by L.Fairtrace; 12-13-2011 at 10:31 AM.
L.Fairtrace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 10:02 AM
  #21428  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Bay area, Ca.
Posts: 1,724
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
dual mode doesn't use endbell timing
What are you talking about?
Endbell timing is always an option regardless of speed control settings.
It's a mechanical sensor positioning on the motor so the settings on the ESC have no bearing on whether or not you can set this.
YoDog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 10:12 AM
  #21429  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,778
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
What are you talking about?
Endbell timing is always an option regardless of speed control settings.
It's a mechanical sensor positioning on the motor so the settings on the ESC have no bearing on whether or not you can set this.
In dual mode motor timing is negated. We do not use the sensors for timing calculations.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 10:50 AM
  #21430  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Bay area, Ca.
Posts: 1,724
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
In dual mode motor timing is negated. We do not use the sensors for timing calculations.
I stand corrected...
You are right, without the sensor being monitored, no timing shift can take place regardless of endbell settings. I now realize Edwin was referring to "max timing" in the settings for DM.

thanks randy

P.S. when will we see the new firmware released?
YoDog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 10:54 AM
  #21431  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Bay area, Ca.
Posts: 1,724
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by L.Fairtrace View Post
Been running the new software for a couple of weeks now.

I have found there are almost no downsides to it.

The dead feel of the throttle at the beginning is gone.

The first time I ran it in my boosted 17.5 car it took some laps to get used to the new throttle feel. Its much smoother with good mid range.

Motor temps stayed good. They may have gone up slightly but not enough for the improvements to far outweigh this possible side effect.

There are also a couple other cool features like being able to save your setup with notes. As well as the end rpm being adjustable to 99k rpm. For modified.

I haven't tried it with modified yet but I can image this will help greatly with throttle feel in mod also.

Tekin got it right this time with the software, the car was much easier to drive and still fast as hell.
Man, I'd like to try this out in my WGT car tomorrow night.
YoDog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 10:57 AM
  #21432  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 122
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by L.Fairtrace View Post
Been running the new software for a couple of weeks now.

I have found there are almost no downsides to it.

The dead feel of the throttle at the beginning is gone.

The first time I ran it in my boosted 17.5 car it took some laps to get used to the new throttle feel. Its much smoother with good mid range.

Motor temps stayed good. They may have gone up slightly but not enough for the improvements to far outweigh this possible side effect.

There are also a couple other cool features like being able to save your setup with notes. As well as the end rpm being adjustable to 99k rpm. For modified.

I haven't tried it with modified yet but I can image this will help greatly with throttle feel in mod also.

Tekin got it right this time with the software, the car was much easier to drive and still fast as hell.

When will this be available? Have a big race coming up this weekend and would be nice to try it out.

RC
Roadsplat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 11:59 AM
  #21433  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
In dual mode motor timing is negated. We do not use the sensors for timing calculations.
So Randy for "real zero timing" dual mode and TP1 would be a total zero timing possibility from what you are saying?

No one answered my light question about sequence in blinky mode by the way

Regards
olly986 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 02:08 PM
  #21434  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Bay area, Ca.
Posts: 1,724
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by olly986 View Post
So Randy for "real zero timing" dual mode and TP1 would be a total zero timing possibility from what you are saying?

No one answered my light question about sequence in blinky mode by the way

Regards
According to the HotWire user guide, Blinky mode is "sensored only" and does apply the feedback from the motor sensor to induce timing advance but is a static setting rather than dynamic like "boost" and "turbo".
D2 mode only uses the sensor feedback to start the initial movement of the motor and then defaults to non-sensored.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Timing Profile: This slider contains 5 preset Timing Profiles for your ESC. Setting any of the 5 preset profiles will automatically put your ESC into Sensored Only mode. Profiles 1-5 are as such:


TP1: Spec Stock "blink mode" 0*timing boost

TP2: 15* Timing Boost / RPM Range 5443-20,016

TP3: 25* Timing Boost / RPM Range 5443-20,016

TP4: 35* Timing Boost / RPM Range 5443-20,016

TP5: 45* Timing Boost / RPM Range 5443-20,016

*RPM Ranges are divided in half when running in 1S LiPO Mode*

You may notice that when any preset Timing Profile is in use, the Timing tab is inaccessible. This is because these presets are just that and are not allowed to be changed. To create your own unique setup, we have provided C1 and C2:

C1: Custom user profile, Timing Boost, Turbo, Turbo Delay, Turbo Ramp and RPM Ranges can all be custom set and saved to this profile.

C2: Same as C1.
*Factory Setting is C2*

Now, C1 and C2 are great for racers running multiple classes with the same chassis or ESC. With these custom profiles you are allowed to save them BOTH in the ESC for later use, as well as the 5 preset profiles. So say you have 17.5 spec, running TP1 "blinky" mode one heat and the next you run 13.5 Pro Stock with the C1 profile. This essentially allows your RS/RSPro to be 2 ESCs in one by simply switching between profiles while swapping motors!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I didn't see a reference to which LEDs blink during the blinky mode but if you set profile #1 you should be good to go.
YoDog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 02:13 PM
  #21435  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,778
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by olly986 View Post
So Randy for "real zero timing" dual mode and TP1 would be a total zero timing possibility from what you are saying?

No one answered my light question about sequence in blinky mode by the way

Regards
Dual mode 0 timing advance would be a true 0 timing... I even proposed this to ROAR since it effective eliminates the motor and it's adjustable timing from the equation...no bites.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service