R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2011, 10:27 PM   #21391
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobinmt View Post
My RS has the first two and last two lights flashing and the motor wont go unless I give it a little help by turning the wheels. It ran fine the first two races and then wouldn't run for the third? According to the Tekin website this error code could mean that I have the wrong motor selected but when I checked it with my hot wire it is set for brushless. I've tried a new booster, receiver, sensor wire and a known good motor with no avail? Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated..
Bob

Also if I turn the switch for the speed control on first the lights flash correctly on the speed control. If I turn the booster on first it flashes with the error code I noted above, but either way it wont run!
If you get this issue grab a 2s and power the esc up with it. IF the issue goes away your rx booster or rx pack isn't supplying enough voltage.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:27 PM   #21392
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakyfreakyflo View Post
hello
i recently find a tekin rs and want to start it in my f104. i am new to boost and timing feature so could someone share a good startup setup for pancar. our surface is low/medium grip.
many thanks
What motor?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:44 PM   #21393
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
What motor?
sorry,forgot to mention that. murfdog 21.5. thanks
freakyfreakyflo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 12:00 AM   #21394
Tech Elite
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,191
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Just want to Thank You Tekin! I just installed the Hotwire with no problems. Now Im ready to learn and play. I now need some good set ups for WGT and 12th mod. thanks!
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 02:01 AM   #21395
Tech Champion
 
ROBORAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: JP Raceway
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to ROBORAT
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Answers huh? Well what I am willing to admit is that our current hardware is nearing 4 years old. We at Tekin believe it's time for some new products. That's all I'm willing to share at this time.
Tekin fan here .... if and when the new hardware comes out, if you keep it to the same size/footprint, develop a program box to eliminate the need for a laptop, and keep to the performance standards tekin provides, you'll surely blow the competition away!

... Eagerly awaiting!
__________________
[YOKOMO BD7][REEDY RACING][TEAM ORION]
[Sanwa][LRP][Protoform]

http://www.hobbyhaven.com.my/
ROBORAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 01:23 PM   #21396
Tech Elite
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,503
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

What size wire should I use for Blinky 17.5 TC?
__________________
"There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness. Which side are you on?"

“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” - John Wayne
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 02:20 PM   #21397
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

12 to 14 awg wire should be fine
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 06:56 PM   #21398
Tech Regular
 
VexVegaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn / Staten Island
Posts: 347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
12 to 14 awg wire should be fine
OT: hey Randy, congrats on that KO propo sponsorship. im a sanwa type of guy, but KO makes some of the greatest control systems in the industry.
__________________
Serpent Cobra GT > Serpent 748TQ › Serpent S411 › Serpent SRX2 › Sanwa MT-4 › Novarossi › Hobbywing › Epic D3 › Savox > Sweep Tires > BrooklynHobbies.Com

For RC TShirts and Custom Sponsor Shirts & Hoodies, Please Visit www.veytrex.com
VexVegaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 12:42 AM   #21399
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakyfreakyflo View Post
hello
i recently find a tekin rs and want to start it in my f104. i am new to boost and timing feature so could someone share a good startup setup for pancar. our surface is low/medium grip.
many thanks
does anyone have any tips? thanks
freakyfreakyflo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 04:36 AM   #21400
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakyfreakyflo View Post
does anyone have any tips? thanks
I don't run F1, but what size track are you racing at? (this might help someone else give you a starting point).

Also if you are using foams, obviously gearing will play into the setup too, as they wear down.

The cars are quite light so you might need to use less boost than other classes but again it really depends on track size and the length of the straight and so on....

As for delay. I would possibly try 0.3 as a starting point, ramp 2 and go from there but it is a guess. Watching motor temperatures is also a key point.
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 10:01 PM   #21401
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 30
Default Up in smoke

Mixed up my battery leads and smoked my tekin I heard some one say that all you need to do is replace the Capacitor and your golden. thanks.
Associatedkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 12:10 AM   #21402
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

IT's possible but don't hold your breath. Replace the cap and power it up, if it works consider yourself lucky, you dodged a bullet.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 03:43 AM   #21403
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
I don't run F1, but what size track are you racing at? (this might help someone else give you a starting point).

Also if you are using foams, obviously gearing will play into the setup too, as they wear down.

The cars are quite light so you might need to use less boost than other classes but again it really depends on track size and the length of the straight and so on....

As for delay. I would possibly try 0.3 as a starting point, ramp 2 and go from there but it is a guess. Watching motor temperatures is also a key point.
our track is old car park so low grip with lot of corner and small straight. i use rubber tire with weight at 1100 gram
freakyfreakyflo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 08:31 AM   #21404
Tech Addict
 
jasons56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
This is also not true, at least with Tekin. All of our drivers know up front that they will share their setups with the public after the event is over. Part of being on our team. Believe it or not..your call.
I believe it. We occasionally get some national event winning drivers at our track and sometimes I even get to race against them. When I've stuck to the posted setups I've never felt like these guys had any power advantage on me. The dirty secret, sometimes they DETUNE the cars for less power at the smaller events when the traction is not up to par.

Now blinky class - don't get me started.
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/ZenRacing
jasons56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 06:36 PM   #21405
Tech Fanatic
 
alcyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: kuala lumpur,malaysia
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default specs

my damn hobbywing just blew on me. you buy cheap you buy twice is so true. i am seriously considering a tekin RS pro, but whats puts me off all ESCs nowadays is the information on the website, they dont list everything i want to know. like on the tekin website, there is only 1 page showing the RS and RSpro together, with basic specs. i wished they would have one complete page for the RS, and another for the RS pro, with ALL the info on them, like info about boost and turbo also. What is the weight of the RS pro without wires ?
__________________
http://kawada-alcyon.blogspot.com/
http://superturbooptimamidspecialzx-5.blogspot.com/
kawada sv10 alcyon 3-sanwa mx3x-orca vx v4.1 software-team powers 13.5 motor-turnigy 4200 shorty lipo-savox 1251 servo RIDE RE32
alcyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:54 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net